We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Downtown to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   654 Nelson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 6K4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
T.G.I. MIDWEEK
Ranked #56 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, it is a good central location walking distance to all of the shops and local sights. However the room we were in was very small but the bed was very comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included in the deal at the restaurant down stairs, the breakfast was quite poor. Over cooked bacon, canned fruit, horrible coffee, good scrambled eggs. We ate at the restaurant at night which has good food quite different from the breakfast.

Room Tip: Our room had no view and was the smallest there is by looking at the evacuation plan of the floor we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    231
    100
    26
    11
See reviews for
87
177
54
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mandurah, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is the second time we have been booked for this hotel and have disembarked from an Alaskan cruise ship and arrived at the hotel around 830am. What is always disappointing is the amount of time you have to wait for a day room to be ready........you can sit in the lobby for hours and watch many book out but still have to wait up to 6 hours to check in. The room cleaners must be the slowest ever.......very annoying

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6046054333, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Comfort Inn Downtown.

I understand your frustration with not being able to check in right away when you got to our property. Unfortunately we are not able to fulfill all early check-in requests. This is due to we were a full house the night before. If this is the case we would have to wait until the guest from the night before checks out. We would also have to wait until the room type you booked becomes available. Guaranteed check-in is 3:00pm, but we are able to hold your luggage and have lots of maps and tours to offer while you wait. There is also complimentary coffee and computers in our lobby for you to relax. If you decide to come back to Vancouver we would love to welcome you back. When you make a request for an early check in ahead of time we really make an effort to accommodate you.

Kind regards,

Rachelle
Guest Services
Comfort Inn Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location, clean and tidy, staff friendly. Beds terrible, mattresses in desperate need of replacement. Room very oddly shaped and awkward. Included breakfast basic but delicious. I recommend to people without back issues because the beds were that bad.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuerth, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Nice and stylish boutique hotel located directly in downtown Vancouver.

The hotel is perfectly located for all Vancouver-trips as bars, restaurants, parks, tour-busses, ... are close by. Also the complimentary parking lot is quite helpful in this city.

Plus: breakfast in the irish pub next to the hotel: good variety and freshness of hot and cold breakfast with friendly service

Minus: very small rooms, no fridge, ice- and vending machines at floors 2/4 are rather loud, also beds from other rooms

Room Tip: avoid 2nd and 4th floor due to loud ice machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night during a trip to Vancouver. It was in a very convenient location within walking distance to many stores, restaurants and amenities on a busy downtown street. The hotel was very accommodating as we arrived in the city early and were able to check in at 12 noon. Not only that, they also upgraded us from a standard room with one queen bed to a superior suite with 2 queen beds and a sofabed. The room was very big and we wish we had more people with us since we had so much space. It would be a perfect size for a small family. The room was clean and had modern decor. The room was perfectly air conditioned, as the weather was hot and sunny. The beds were very comfortable. We had large windows and lots of light as we were on the top floor. Surprisingly it was very quiet during the night time even though the hotel is located on a busy area next to bars contrary to some reviews we read beforehand. The room had a microwave which came in handy. I wish there was a mini fridge though. The only other thing the hotel could improve is the TV was not working due to a weak signal throughout the late night and early morning. All in all we enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Comfort Inn Downtown two nights before leaving on a cruise.
I initially was concerned about the location after reading previous reviews.
I had anticipated some street noise from the Bands associated with the Irish Pub, and from the Downtown area.
But I was pleasantly surprised that none of that occurred..I had no problems sleeping.
I was given a King suite that was very
Spacious. It had a wall mounted flatscreen TV, a desk, two sitting chairs and also had a whirlpool bathtub. Overall the room was extremely comfortable and very clean. It was located on the third floor corner and had several large
windows that overlooked the street. The view was not senic but it was typical of a Downtown setting. I really enjoyed the whirlpool tub and it really made my stay rise to a luxurious experience.
One of the features of the Hotel is the adjacent Irish Pub. It kinda concerned me initially...but it turned out to be a bonus. The Hotel guests get a 25% discount on dinner including beverage.
The Pub is great... very classic and the menu is varied. A great selection of draft beer and not just a bar. In the morning the Hotel's breakfast was served in the Pub. It is a buffet style that had hot food like scrambled eggs,
Bacon, sausage, pancakes and much more. It was very well presented and very yummy.
But I would verify when you book your room on whether the breakfast is free.
I think that they are changing the policy and charging for breakfast now.
As for the staff ... they were very informative and helpful ...when I needed directions or help with my luggage it was never a bother.
As for travel convenience ... I think that it was above average. The cab fare from YVR was a little over $32.00 plus tip and really a straight shot down the road. I was leaving for a cruise and had a $12.00 plus tip fare to Canada Place Pier. The Hotel has no shuttle and for some that might be a negative. But there is Sky Train station a few blocks away, really a short walk.
The Hotel offers a lot of value for the price. I recommend it and would stay there again!



  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

A clean and comfortable hotel with pleasant and polite staff. I would stay there again when, not if I return to Vancouver.

The room itself was small. Very small really but it was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was also small in size but the shower was very powerful.

Our room was tucked away around the back of the hotel so there was no view to speak of (unless you count the bunk-beds of the adjacent building!). However, I think this was advantageous when it came to noise control because a lot of the rooms face over Granville Street which is a very busy, very noisy street so I think that actually it was probably the better place to be.

All staff were helpful, and when we mentioned to reception that we were heading to the Aquarium one day we got a little voucher for a $ off (every little helps ;-)). Reception staff were helpful with bus information also.

I would recommend paying extra for the breakfast in the pub. Staff in there were very friendly and efficient and there was a good variety of fresh food available. You could get a good breakfast to set you up for the day for a reasonable price. It was not busy when we were there so there was always room and everything was very well organised.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a good location for downtown however Granville Street can be a little depressing so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown

Address: 654 Nelson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 6K4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#53 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Downtown is an 82 room boutique-style hotel built in 1908 and situated in the heart of Vancouver's Entertainment district. This 100% smoke free and eco friendly heritage building blends the contemporary designs and the standard Comfort Inn warmth seamlessly amongst the vibrant colors and decor. There is a diverse selection of restaurants and lounges surrounding the hotel within this enlivened neighborhood. As an added benefit our guests receive complimentary VIP access to the on-site Doolin's Irish Pub, The Cellar Night Club and The Roxy Cabaret. Only minutes from countless city attractions such as: BC Place Stadium, Granville Island, the Vancouver Convention & Exhibition Centre, the University of British Columbia, Grouse Mountain Stanley Park and Vancouver International Airport. The hotel’s central location is the perfect place whether you are spending a night or visiting for a week. A stay at the Comfort Inn Downtown includes the following added benefits:- Complimentary newspapers- Complimentary day passes to Steve Nash Fitness Club- VIP access (advance line/no cover before 10pm) to The Cellar and The Roxy Cabaret A cut above, the Comfort Inn Downtown is currently undergoing full scale property renovations. Scheduled for completion with its revitalized exterior and stylish makeover of the guestrooms, lobby and meeting space March of 2012; the 82 guestrooms convey a charm with a modern décor combined with the utmost in personalized service. Sophisticated and trendy, your experience at the Comfort Inn Downtown will leave you with a feeling of rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Hotel Vancouver
Comfort Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.