We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, but Location has Pros and Cons” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Downtown to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   654 Nelson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 6K4, Canada (Granville Street)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Praia, Cape Verde
Level Contributor
105 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, but Location has Pros and Cons”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is a clean hotel with spacious rooms and comfortable beds. We had free parking and a complimentary hot breakfast at the neighbouring pub. It is located off Granville Street in Vancouver's downtown and as we parked an intoxicated man was berating the policemen who were arresting him. Vancouver's downtown has many troubled people and I occasionally checked to see if my car was broken in to. Our room was next to the elevator shaft and stairs and on December 23rd the elevator was broken. From about 5:00 am onwards we were treated to the sounds of people banging their suitcases down the stairs. We told the front desk but they were overwhelmed with complaints from people trying to take their luggage down from the top floors, so our complaint was treated with indifference. I would recommend this hotel if you have the option to stay away from the elevator. Also, I would not want to park overnight at this location again.

Room Tip: Go away from elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chetsuabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This affordable little gem in the heart of Vancouver has what you need. Our room was clean and quiet. A buffet breakfast was included as was WiFi. The staff are helpful and friendly. Parking is in an open adjacent lot, but there were no problems during our stay. We would recommend this hotel for a short stay.

Room Tip: This hotel only has 6 floors, so upper rooms are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Victoria_BCTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The Comfort Inn went out of their way to meet changing travel plans. Rather than the single queen we had booked, we needed two beds and we were upgraded to a suite for the same price. We had a king bed, sleeper sofa, fireplace, robes, breakfast and free parking at a bargain rate. All personnel were courteous and helpful. It was within easy walking distance of sites. Felt we were in a 5-star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GinnyE231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I got a pretty good deal off their website that included parking and gift cards to the pub next door (Doolin's). It's a Comfort Inn though. The rooms were tiny and not super clean. The elevator was also pretty loud and we could hear it while we slept. The bar next door was convenient. The location was also nice. Oh, and the heater did not turn off! We tried to turn on the AC because the room was so hot and stuffy, but the temperature would not go below 75!

Room Tip: The rooms with the queen size beds are very tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PLJ10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinth, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This hotel offered a good value for a good location right in the downtown area entertainment district. Shops, restaurants and venues were in easy walking distance. The pluses for this hotel are that it is relatively new, clean and comfortable. The downside is that the rooms are noisy from other guests In the hall, and that stupid noisy ice maker. Also it sounded like there were a herd of buffaloes in the room above mine.

Room Tip: Lower floors may get noise from the adjacent Irish bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mgarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

It's uncomfortable leaving a negative review, but I need to be honest. There are no 'guests' at this hotel only nuisances. I'm quiet and friendly so I am confused as to why they treated me with unprovoked aggravation. It wasn't just me they treated poorly, I saw the same thing happen to every other person I saw. Both front desk and house keeping staff were jerks. There were two guys at the front desk however who are an exception, they were friendly and helpful.
The room is clean and warm, but there's no chance of sleeping. The hotel is located on a party street and the walls are paper thin which means you can hear clearly what the guests around you are discussing/doing...
Free breakfast is a joke. I tried everything and eventually stuck to the packaged yoghurt and some juice. Sure, it's convenient to have free breakfast but the taste is terrible. I'm not fussy with food, I grew up in a big family so I usually eat anything I'm given, but this was just uneatable.
Free wifi has a really weak signal. If you manage to get it, stay absolutely still or you'll lost the connection.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJWanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

Pemberton, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Let me start by saying this hotel is not all bad. The rooms, though small, are clean and somewhat modern, they have a bedside table on either side of the bed which is a full queen, 40” flatscreen TV’s, safe, free wireless and local calls and a free breakfast (mediocre, but free none the less).

Don’t kid yourself, this is a party hotel. It’s an inexpensive hotel located smack dab in the middle of Vancouver’s entertainment district, you know it’s going to attract the more rowdy clientele. And we saw and heard that clientele on a number of occasions. On Saturday evening we returned to the hotel at 10pm and were greeted by a group of 7-8 inebriated young adults. Not only were they being loud and obnoxious in the lobby of the hotel but they were also drinking (alcohol) in the lobby.

At 2:30am we were awoken to someone trying to get into our room, he tried his key card a few times and it didn’t work so he proceeded to pound on the door (he eventually went away). We couldn’t get to sleep because at 2:30am everyone was getting back from the bar and slamming doors and having conversations in the hallway.

At around 3:30am the people staying above us sounded like they were wrestling, bowling, and doing renovations until around 5am. At one point we honestly thought they were going to come through the ceiling. We later learned the people above us were part of a bachelor party and they (the guys making the noise) paid for our room.

There were a few other hokey things about this hotel. Parking was located in the adjacent lot, it is an extremely small lot and both times we parked there were no spots. The front desk staff told us to park somewhere in the lot, leave our keys with them and they would move our car to a spot when it became available. That seemed to work, but when we went to retrieve our keys the front desk staff open a drawer with an assortment of different car keys and asked us which keys were ours… the Nissan, the Honda? They had no labels and no way of telling who’s keys were who’s. They just handed us the set we asked for they even gave us options.

The other hokey thing was the elevator. It had keycard access which was a pain in the butt, but right next to the elevator is an open staircase accessing all the rooms. Why have keycard access n the elevator if there is an open stairwell? There wasn’t even a door on the stairwell.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sport127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites
Granville Street
Moda Hotel
Moda Hotel
#59 of 96 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 stars 665 reviews
West End
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sands
#51 of 96 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 stars 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
#72 of 96 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 stars 1,293 reviews
Granville Street
Executive Hotel Vintage Park
Executive Hotel Vintage Park
#61 of 96 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 stars 577 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown

Address: 654 Nelson Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 6K4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Downtown is an 82 room boutique-style hotel built in 1908 and situated in the heart of Vancouver's Entertainment district. This 100% smoke free and eco friendly heritage building blends the contemporary designs and the standard Comfort Inn warmth seamlessly amongst the vibrant colors and decor. There is a diverse selection of restaurants and lounges surrounding the hotel within this enlivened neighborhood. As an added benefit our guests receive complimentary VIP access to the on-site Doolin's Irish Pub, The Cellar Night Club and The Roxy Cabaret. Only minutes from countless city attractions such as: BC Place Stadium, Granville Island, the Vancouver Convention & Exhibition Centre, the University of British Columbia, Grouse Mountain Stanley Park and Vancouver International Airport. The hotel’s central location is the perfect place whether you are spending a night or visiting for a week. A stay at the Comfort Inn Downtown includes the following added benefits:- Complimentary newspapers- Complimentary day passes to Steve Nash Fitness Club- VIP access (advance line/no cover before 10pm) to The Cellar and The Roxy Cabaret A cut above, the Comfort Inn Downtown is currently undergoing full scale property renovations. Scheduled for completion with its revitalized exterior and stylish makeover of the guestrooms, lobby and meeting space March of 2012; the 82 guestrooms convey a charm with a modern décor combined with the utmost in personalized service. Sophisticated and trendy, your experience at the Comfort Inn Downtown will leave you with a feeling of rejuvenation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Hotel Vancouver
Comfort Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing