We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Hotel Vancouver

Save Saved
You added Fairmont Hotel Vancouver to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2W6, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 97 hotels in Vancouver
West Hollywood, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2006

If you like old-world luxury, the Fairmont Vancouver downtown is definitely for you. My Fairmont room was very clean and pristine.. smelled so fresh + new. I had no problems with housekeeping or the front desk.

The hotel is perfectly located near public transportation (bus + subway) and the shopping center of Robson St. There is also a Louis Vuitton store at your lobby!

Wished I ate at the restaurant or ordered food service to see if it was up to par with the excellence of the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    630
    373
    139
    59
    33
See reviews for
228
372
75
386
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2005

Did not stay at the hotel. Went for the ABSOLUTE spa experience. It was horrible.
For a hotel of this caliber, the spa was inattentive and the amenities were seriously lacking.

1. No locker rooms to change. This is a small facility.
2. No robe and slippers were given. Had to actually ask for these. The robes are paper thin. One person from our party never even got a robe after she asked for one.
3. The service was inexperienced--after our massages, the staff just assumed we were ready to leave. They either do not realize or anticipate that most spa goers like to shower after a massage so you don't feel greasy from the lotions. We had to actually ask if they would let us use their showers. And the separate rooms with the steam/shower combos that they had were small so you have to change in those rooms; also difficult to change into your clothes if you're sweating from the steam.

The only positive note was that the massage therapists were good.

Stayed December 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2005

I recently stayed at the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver for 3 nights and found the service to be outstanding. I am a Fairmont President club member and on check in I was upgraded to a junior suite and sent chocolates with a welcome card.

There was a bedroom separated by french doors from the living room. It was extremely spacious. The furnishings in the room were beautiful. Very classic upscale decor. I had read a couple of other reviews that said the rooms were musty, but that was not the case. My only complaint if I had one was that the bathroom was tiny. The location of the hotel is great.

The Presidents Club front desk staff were extremely helpful for any request and the concierge was very helpful in obtaining tickets for me for that evenings opera.

I ate in the dining room and the serving staff were very good.

I will definitely stay at the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver on any further trips to Vancouver.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2005

So glad our travel agent suggested the Gold Floor when we planned our trip. The room was huge and we walked in to a plate of cookies and a plate of 6 different fruits that were dipped in chocolate. The entire concierge staff was wonderful- extremely courteous and helpful. They planned a few outings for us as well as recommend excellent restaurants for dinner.
The "continental" breakfast was more than ample and the afternoon hors'doeuvers were fabulous and different every day. Staff was constantly refilling platters of food not to mention asking us if we needed or wanted anything.
The weather in Vancouver was very rainy and cold(though it didn't stop us from exploring the city) but we enjoyed our few days at the Fairmont so much that we forgot about the weather once we returned to the 9th floor!
Would definitely stay there again and especially on the Gold Floor.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2005

Excellent location - walking distance to restaurants and shopping. Staff very friendly-especially Mavis- the yellow lab mascot. The room was spacious and clean. The lounge is nice but the drinks are pricey, lowest price for a glass of wine is $10 plus 17% tax. Would highly recommend this Hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, Berkshire, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2005

Another luxury hotel which lived up to it's name. We enjoyed staying here so much we did not want to leave! Staff were very helpful and we were told that we did not need to tip anyone which makes life simpler. We just had a standard room but it was very spacious and had a grest view over the city. Only negative was the changing rooms for the swimming pool which need some modernising.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2005

The Hotel Vancouver enjoys an excellent location in downtown Vancouver, within easy walking distance to great shopping and restaurants.

The rooms are nothing specially and certainly not up to the standard of most Fairmonts, but the staff make it up - everyone, from the front desk to the maids, is exceptionally friendly and helpful.

I also like the pool (2nd floor with a nice rooftop view of the city) and the rest of the health club. Again, not amazing, but very adequate.

The bar and casual restaurants are also very good.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairmont Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hotel Vancouver

Address: 900 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2W6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#22 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#28 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#29 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Hotel Vancouver 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Hotel Vancouver is centrally located, close to Robson street shopping and many cultural offerings. The lobby features designer shops, including the flagship Louis Vuitton boutique, Gucci, Omega, and St. John. The hotel has a state-of-the-art health club, indoor pool and Absolute Spa, a Vancouver day spa. Vancouver's landmark hotel, the castle in the heart of the city is rich in history, vibrant and cosmopolitan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Fairmont Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Vancouver
Vancouver Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.