We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five stars for a great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Hotel Vancouver

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Hotel Vancouver to your Saves list
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2W6, Canada (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 10% on Room & Dining
Ranked #32 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Kincardine, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Five stars for a great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The service at this hotel in the Fairmont Gold guest room, was excellent. The staff were very attentive and the room was extremely comfortable and quiet. The extras such as tea in the afternoon and "goodies" in the evening were a nice touch. The addition of the "greeter" Mavis (a lovely golden Labrador) was a real treat. We would recommend staying here.especially since it's so close to everything. We stayed four nights and wished it could have been more. Gail W

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    887
    507
    189
    77
    51
See reviews for
326
529
95
541
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. The location is great, we walked to all the attractions. Went up the Vancouver Tower. Great city views and lots of information. Walked to Stanley Park in 20 mins. The hotel is very clean and the staff were great. The room was large, great bed and quiet. The food was good but a little expensive. Try the chicken wings in the piano bar, delicious. One thing we disliked that was nothing to do with the hotel was how busy the surrounding area was on a Friday night. Walked down to chinatown, i would not go there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I recently stayed at this property as part of a large conference group. The entire conference was held on site from accommodations to meals to a gala ball. Although the hotel itself is older, the room was spacious and well appointed with all amenities. The hotel location was excellent and close to major attractions. The staff was courteous and very helpful to all of my requests.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVan, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear murtle264,
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay. I am delighted that you we had the opportunity to host you and your conference at our iconic hotel for your special occasion.
Your kind words will be shared with my team and we look forward to welcoming you back to our “Castle in the heart of the city” in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Sunny Joseph
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed at the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver for a night with my cousins as a weekend trip from Seattle. We had our car valeted—which was really easy. As I approached the front desk, I checked in with ease. The lady even recognized me—which was odd because I have never stayed at this particular Fairmont ever. Apparently she recognized me from when I stayed at the Fairmont Pacific Rim a couple weeks prior. I had no idea front desk clerk works between all of the Fairmont properties

I go to my room, wow—it's small. Compared to the Pacific Rim, these hotels at the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver are probably half the size! Decoration, I wouldn't say is outdated, but classic and ornate. I even got a welcome note and chocolate covered strawberries—nice! I still wished that the room size was bigger. We stayed in the Fairmont Room, which I believe is their standard room. I LOVE the beds that they have at the Fairmont properties—so comfortable and plus, I would argue that it's the best I've ever slept in!

Since I'm a President's Club member, I got free wifi—so if you're not already a member, join! It's free.

The bathroom—it was clean. The weird part I noticed is that the flusher that's part of the toilet looked like the flusher in a public toilet. You know, the one with the metal lever. I didn't like that.

Since it was a short stay, I wasn't able to check out the pool or had close experiences with the service—so I can't speak to that. But overall, it's a solid hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

A boutique hotel within the hotel, the Gold Floor is always charming and relaxed. The rooms are lovely and there are several different sizes and layouts from which to choose. From the time you arrive at your seperate check in you feel welcome. Step past the desk into the lounge and you are embraced by a delicious calm that belies the (excellent) city centre location. Here you are surrounded by soft music, warm and comfortable decor and the hospitality that is Fairmont Gold. There are always goodies to eat and drink available in the lounge (try the maple tea). There are canapés served every evening which are delicious and varied enough to find something you enjoy. Breakfast in the morning is also not to be missed. All in all, a lovely retreat, with the best part being the excellent service. Our little one loves to stay and always feels like a princess the entire time, right down to the tiny toddler robe and little surprises, like bath letters that spell out her name.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Our family stayed here for 2 nights and were very happy with our stay. The room was clean and comfortable as you would expect from the Fairmont. The location was also great, nearby to Robson Street for all the restaurants and shops, and not far from Gastown or other neighbourhoods.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVan, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Gypsy25,
I thank you for your lovely comments from your recent stay. I am delighted that your experience was so enjoyable and rest assured your kind words will be shared with our colleagues here at the hotel. I am delighted to have such a great team here at “Vancouver’s Castle in the City”.
It is my sincere wish that we have the chance to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future should your travels bring you back to our wonderful city.

Kind regards,

Sunny Joseph
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Good sized room for the price. The hotel is older and the decor for the most part of the time. But that is what one should expect of this hotel as this is how it is presented. It is clean and the staff were all very friendly. No one walked by without a smile or hello. Overall a nice hotel and 4-4.5 star rating would be appropriate.

Room Tip: A presidents club card helps with upgrades to larger room. Long walk to some rooms so if that is an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hotel Vancouver

Address: 900 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#29 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Hotel Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 556
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Hotel Vancouver is centrally located, close to Robson street shopping and many cultural offerings. The lobby features designer shops, including the flagship Louis Vuitton boutique, Gucci, Omega, and St. John. The hotel has a state-of-the-art health club, indoor pool and Absolute Spa. Vancouver's landmark hotel, the castle in the heart of the city is rich in history, vibrant and cosmopolitan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Vancouver
Vancouver Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.