We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Hotel Vancouver

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Hotel Vancouver to your Saves list
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2W6, Canada (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 10% on Room & Dining
Ranked #32 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Eugene, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Old World Excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Great hotel at the centre of the city, Beautiful Victorian style buildings, Great paintings adorn the high ceilings. So much history still well maintained with such lovely staff. The bar in the lobby is just so convenient to settle down with the elevators comfort to scroll to bed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    887
    506
    189
    77
    50
See reviews for
326
528
95
540
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Fairmont has been busy updating some of its warn properties. The Palisser in Calgary and the Queen E in Montreal are notable examples. The poor old Hotel Vancouver is finally catching up, but it's slow.

Carpets are a bit thin, even in the pricey Gold rooms. The clocks have these new-fangled CD players in them and are impossible to figure out if you actually want the alarm bit to work. There are very, very few accessible power outlets, and the two built in to the desk don't work (found out the hard way with a dead phone and a dead PC one morning. Bathrooms are impossibly small.

The health club is updated, bright and airy with recent equipment that mostly works. The lobby is grand and comes with the traditional dogs, which make this hotel a favourite. Elevators are haunted or just horribly programmed.

The Gold Lounge hasn't changed in years but the food has improved and the breakfasts and reception foods are quite nice. The staff is excellent.

If you're a Fairmont fan but not willing to put up with the Downton Abbey-era fit and finish, the Waterfront and Pan Pacific properties are probably better for you. I'll stick with this one. It's kind of charming in a frumpy way.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, get a Gold Room; steerage in this hotel is often ugly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVan, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Elizabeth W,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am delighted that you continue to choose to stay at our iconic hotel. As you have mentioned, we are in the process of giving our grand dame a facelift and updating over the coming year.
I look forward to welcoming you back to our “Castle in the heart of the city” in the near future, where you can experience these changes.

Kind regards,

Andre Zotoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Perfect location. Close to Skytrain, businesses, shops, waterfront. Hotel offers ALL amenities, even a pillow concierge!! Spa, jogging routes, pool. Try the "gold" upgrade, a delight and well worth the money. Service is outstanding!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I only have good things to say about the Fairmont in Vancouver. It is an exceptional hotel with impeccable service and a great location. The hotel might be a little dated in parts compared to others, but the typical northern American décor works perfectly. Breakfast is great and concierge would really go the extra mile for you. I actually fell ill for two days during my stay and the staff took care of all the excursions planned and rearranged everything. We were so happy! Would gladly stay again…

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I spent 6 nights at this wonderful hotel for a conference. We were very impressed with the gracious and attentive service, the interesting architecture, the comfortable rooms and the very nice meeting facilities. Two negatives - one, the hotel food and beverages were very expensive, not unusual for this kind of property, but it seems that their plan is to gouge you once and drive you off-site for your remaining meals - well, success! Second, there are really no places to sit that do not involve spending money - two or three lobby (actually the hallway near the lobby) chairs. All the seating is in the lounge. This was true for the meeting areas as well, no public seating, or only one or two chairs at most.
That said, we would definitely return to this wonderfully located and historic property - one of the original 8 Canadian Railroad Hotels of the 19th Century.

Room Tip: As far as we could tell, all rooms have a good view, etc. You might want to be away from the elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We often stay at this wonderful old hotel in Vancouver, we treat ourselves to a stay on the Fairmont Gold Floor for that added luxury and indulgence. The staff are incredibly friendly and provide a warm home away from home atmosphere. Always eager to help with any request no matter how small. Something I really appreciate is being remembered each return trip, from being greeted by name to the small box of chocolate or cookies with a card in our room. A delightful and delicious continental breakfast is available in a lovely lounge area which also serves complimentary appetisers in the early evening. The location is fabulous being in the centre of the city. We have eaten at the hotel restaurants, and unusually for hotels the restaurants are very good and the afternoon tea, which is still a treat, absolutely lovely. If you like hotels with character, charm and rooms that are designed with an old world feel, you will love this hotel...

Room Tip: The Fairmont Gold Floor does not have any bad rooms, its' a quiet floor which provides private c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVan, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear guests,
I thank you for your wonderful comments from your recent stay and your continued patronage. I am delighted that your experience was so enjoyable and rest assured your kind words will be shared with our colleagues here at the hotel. I am delighted to have such a great team here at “Vancouver’s Castle in the City”.
It is my sincere wish that we have the chance to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Andre Zotoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, ON
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is one of those classic hotels, the kind you rarely find anymore. Our room was great. We had two queens, a small dressing room, two closets and a very comfortable atmosphere. The high ceilings make for very lovely surroundings. Wifi should be included in the room price but that is a minor thing. The parking next door is very expensive at about $45/day so you could probably find cheaper parking elsewhere but parking in downtown Vancouver is generally expensive. Love the central location and the ambience of the place. A true classic Canadian hotel with some great history.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the front of the hotel for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hotel Vancouver

Address: 900 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#29 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Hotel Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 556
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Hotel Vancouver is centrally located, close to Robson street shopping and many cultural offerings. The lobby features designer shops, including the flagship Louis Vuitton boutique, Gucci, Omega, and St. John. The hotel has a state-of-the-art health club, indoor pool and Absolute Spa. Vancouver's landmark hotel, the castle in the heart of the city is rich in history, vibrant and cosmopolitan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Agoda, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Vancouver
Vancouver Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.