We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An OK place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Hotel Vancouver

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Hotel Vancouver to your Saves list
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   900 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2W6, Canada (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20% on Room & Dining
Ranked #35 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An OK place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed here in early Dec 2012 while on a business trip. The hotel has a beautiful lobby and some really cool architecture. This grand old lady however, looks very very tired.

After waiting for several minutes while the lone receptionist attended a phone call, I was shown to my room. The room that I was allocated upon checking in smelled like it hadn't been used in several years. I asked for a new room, which ended up being on the second floor and thankfully it did not smell.

The drawback of a hotel of this size is that the rooms can be miles away from the elevators which can be an inconvenience when you are toting bags around.

The location of the hotel was good. The staff was OK and the overall hotel can seriously use a major overhaul. Later, I found out that the Fairmont Pacific Rim, which is just down the street is a big improvement over this one.

I probably wouldn't stay at this place again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVan, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am delighted that you chose to stay at our iconic property on your recent visit to the Pacific Northwest. I take your comments on board as we do with all feedback, through which we are better able to serve you in the future. As we move forward in 2013, we will be giving our grand dame a facelift and renovating the product that we offer to our guests.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our “Castle in the heart of the city” in the near future.

Kind regards,

Andre Zotoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    460
    174
    68
    46
See reviews for
288
472
91
465
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My sister and I arrived at the hotel Christmas Eve for a 2-night stay while in Vancouver to visit family and friends. From the moment we arrived and viewed the grandeur of this beautiful hotel in its breathtaking festive splendour, we experienced a delightful holiday atmosphere. Our room was lovely; the front desk, lounge, dining room, and housekeeping staff were all friendly, fun, and attentive; making our stay very enjoyable. A highlight for us was the hotel's exquisite Christmas dinner and luckily we reserved in advance as this is a very popular event. The hotel was bustling and the holiday spirit truly abounded. A magical experience and we are thinking it could be a new holiday tradition!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVan, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear guest,
I thank you for your wonderful comments from your recent stay. I am delighted that your experience was so enjoyable and rest assured your kind words will be shared with our colleagues here at the hotel. I am delighted to have such a great team here at “Vancouver’s Castle in the City”.
It is my sincere wish that we have the chance to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Andre Zotoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had a nice stay over the holidays as the hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas. The location is central to shopping but a few blocks walk to get to the seawall. Know what to expect as it is a grand old hotel that shows its age in some ways. For example, the bathrooms are small with little counter space and the rooms are a bit dated.

Service at the front desk was mixed as it seemed to really depend on who you got but the service from the concierge and doormen/valet was excellent. The concierge has a very friendly dog that was a highlight for the kids. We called one evening for fresh towels and they were delivered to our room right away. The service in the small Fairmont store was also quite good. Room service has a kids menu with decent prices on the kids meals.

Two areas of disappointment were the fitness area and the pool. The fitness machines had built in tv's but none of them were working. It was nice to have an indoor pool but it showed it's age and there were no towels available when we first got there. Even though an indoor pool, the water was very cold; much colder than some of the outdoor pools at other Fairmont hotels. Also note that the pool area is not wheelchair accessible as you must go up and down a few stairs to reach it.

The suite was nice except that the two sets of french doors between the bedroom and living room just had sheers on their windows. This meant that the bedroom lights/tv still lit up the living room area where the kids were sleeping on the sofa bed.

I prefer the Fairmont Waterfront (more modern, on the water) when on business but do enjoy the Hotel Vancouver during the holidays.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is only our second stay at a Fairmont property... and we were so impressed with our first stay (Fairmont Empress Hotel in Victoria) that it is hard to not judge this stay as ever so slightly tarnished.

With that said, YES I recommend this hotel and YES I think the staff is great. We again stayed on the Fairmont Gold floor and we find the extra attention delightful and well worth the extra price paid. We would start the morning with a light breakfast in the Fairmont Gold private lounge, eat a hearty lunch as we wandered around Vancouver, and then nibbled some hors d'oeuvres in the private lounge once again in early evening.

What made this a GREAT experience and not an absolutely WONDERFUL experience?
- Fairmont Gold Lounge was looking a bit "worn"... especially the sofas
- Very few hotels can compete with Victoria's Empress when it comes to a grand old hotel... although this one has some great exterior architecture as well
- The restaurant just didn't seem to match the overall ambience -- we never tried it but it just didn't seem particularly interesting/inviting
- Staff was very friendly and helpful... but there seemed to be just a slight "big city" edge that we didn't notice in Victoria.

Again, its perhaps unfair to compare the two different experiences with two totally different properties... and we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehachapi, California, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Step back in time. Lovely High Tea, live harpist in 900 Lounge, Golden labs that can be checked out for a stroll, spacious albeit slightly worn carpet in rooms, all followed up with excellent service by the staff. We stayed four nights after Christmas. The Holiday decorations are stunning. We loved having drinks at the end of the day in the 900 Lounge. The room was very quiet and comfortable. I would have given 5 stars, but property is on the edge of shabby chic. Our room could have used a fresh coat of paint and new carpet. The beds, linens and amenities are 5 star. Got to love a hotel where you can check a dog out for a stroll !

Room Tip: Know in advance this a great downtown location. However, there is no shuttle to the airport. The cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVan, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear guest,
I would firstly like to thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with me. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that you were able to experience our hotel during such a wonderful festive season. As we move forward, we will be giving our grand dame a facelift and renovating the product that we offer to our guests. Should your travels bring you back to Vancouver, I hope we will have the opportunity to look after you again and you can experience these changes for yourself.

Kind regards,

Andre Zotoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

After staying at The Fairmont Empress in Victoria on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day we decided to try Fairmont Hotel Vancouver on Boxing Day and on the 27th. We had two rooms on the 11th floor. The view was amazing as well as the location. The Pacific Coach Lines drops off there at the front entrnace. As son as you walk inside, you"re impressed with the beautiful Christmas decorations. Red and white are the colors and a beautifully made structure made to look like the front of a gingerbread house. It's al decorated in candies. Talk about a childs dream... We had two rooms and both were comfortable and each had a gift of a box of choclates and a bottle of evian water. Like The Empress, had the Kerig coffee machines, electic pot to make tea and a fully stocked fridge with high priced drinks and goodies to choose from. The rooms are comfortable, toiletries are top of the line, the bed makes drifting off easey. Unlike The Empress, the rooms were warm. Many places to grab a bite to eat outside the hotel as well as inside the hotel. Staff was professional, courteous, and friendly. Would definately come back to this hotel to stay.

Room Tip: Choose a Gold Level Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We arrived at the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver for a couple of days rest prior to heading home to Australia, this was following our 3 week trip to Whistler which included a Delicious Christmas Dinner at the Fairmont Chateau.
On arrival we were quickly shown to our room, however there was a discrepancy with the Suite we had booked to the Suite we were shown to. Bringing this to the attention of the delightful staff member on duty we were quickly upgraded without hesitation to a considerably larger suite than the one we originally booked, much to the delight of our children who relished the extra space.
We travel extensively as a family and my husband travels a lot with business, this is our 3rd visit to the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver and each visit to this hotel has been a lovely experience, however this time they have outdone themselves. Our encounters with each member of the staff from the Reception and Concierge to House Keeping & the Restaurant Staff have been met with smiles and genuine care. Everything is handled with consistency and the staff are always obliging and happy to help, a rare experience these days.
We will definitely be recommending the Fairmont and staying with the group well into the future.

Thank you so much for making our last days in Canada so relaxing and pleasurable, it has been greatly appreciated.

See you next time..

The Chadwicks :)

Room Tip: The rooms are of older grander style, so if you're looking for a modern hotel she is not for you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hotel Vancouver

Address: 900 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#22 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#32 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#34 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Hotel Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 556
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Hotel Vancouver is centrally located, close to Robson street shopping and many cultural offerings. The lobby features designer shops, including the flagship Louis Vuitton boutique, Gucci, Omega, and St. John. The hotel has a state-of-the-art health club, indoor pool and Absolute Spa. Vancouver's landmark hotel, the castle in the heart of the city is rich in history, vibrant and cosmopolitan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Vancouver
Vancouver Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.