We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and homey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oakwood Canadian Bistro

The Oakwood Canadian Bistro
2741 West 4th Avenue, Vancouver, British Columbia v6p1k9, Canada
6045581965
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Oakwood Canadian Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 2,846 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $7 - $35
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: MacDonald
Transit: Bus stops within a block
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful and homey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

My husband and I had dinner here a few weeks ago on a whim and it was excellent. Great service, a yummy local beer list, and the food!! I had the warm kale salad - roasted beets, Najib Special-style cauliflower, kale, lemon-parmesan dressing - just perfect and my husband had the short rib poutine and loved it.
It's also a very beautiful restaurant, warm wood, soft lighting - we'll definitely be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    49
    16
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“top 10 in Vancouver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

5 out of 5!, only reserved for top 5% of its kind. We came for dinner.
Service was attentive but not overly and the food was delicious, The price was very reasonable.
For some, the servings might be a little on the small side but this is not a problem for our group.
Among our orders were the cream of artichoke soup, kale salad, tagliatelle pasta, halibut cheeks and cornish hen. All recommended. Contrary to some review comments, the veggies that came with the kale salad and some other dishes were not deep fried but roasted which is much more preferable and healthier.
Car parking is available free by the roadside. The music was a little too loud for my liking, and the lighting could be brighter to make reading the menu easier. Small issues, really.
Make your reservation several days ahead to be sure of it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Good burger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We ate here today. The food was very good, but check the menu before you head here for lunch on a Saturday -- it's very limited and definitely not for everyone. Service just ok.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The brunch here was very good. As I'm trying to throw in as much contribution to Trip Advisor as I can due to the site being invaluable in finding good restaurants on my recent trip to Lima, this review is of a meal I've had almost a year ago. I don't remember what I ordered, might have been the corned beef hash dish. It was great and I probably could've licked off the plate.
If you care at all about the space itself, the interior of the restaurant is well designed. For a fine dining establishment, it felt very rustic ... so I didn't feel like I was in a hoyty toyty bowtie restaurant. If no one was there I would felt comfortable to lick the plate clean.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Incredible salad but deep fried ingredients”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We liked the atmosphere even though it was noisy; it was fun and lively.
The food was good but generally quite unhealthy.
I had the warm kale salad was it was VERY tasty but it had so many deep fried veggies in it, it was unhealthy.
Service was good, food was great tasting but be careful many items are deep fried.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oakwood Canadian Bistro also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to The Oakwood Canadian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oakwood Canadian Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.