We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oakwood Canadian Bistro

The Oakwood Canadian Bistro
2741 West 4th Avenue, Vancouver, British Columbia v6p1k9, Canada (Kitsilano)
+1 604-558-1965
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 3,313 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $35
Cuisines: Bar, Canadian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Kitsilano
Cross street: MacDonald
Transit: Bus stops within a block
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The food here is outstanding! We loved the concept of sharing plates, the more you get to try the better! We had the poutine, beef tartar and the duck cannelloni! Everything was delicious! We can't wait to go back!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Natacha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best comfort food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Just a great place to hang out and peck at deliciously comfy concoctions, with a fireplace to boot. The dishes try to be low-brow but are some of the most creative renditions of old-time classics.
Not to miss.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Innovative, unique food in a great atmosphere. Must try the duck cannelloni and trio of masons for dessert. Worth a repeat visit. Highly recommended. Not super family friendly but they tried to accommodate as best as they could with a simple pasta dish for our four year old and some paper and a pen.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TorontoTOtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Imaginative tasty food in a relaxed setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

What a great little neighbourhood restaurant. Very relaxed atmosphere, friendly laid-back staff but very serious cuisine. Loved the sharing ethos with dishes arriving when ready, works really well for a couple but maybe not for a large group. And I agree with other reviewers that the tables really are packed together, although I didn't find it particularly intrusive. I'm nit-picking - the food was delicious and very imaginatively presented. Desserts (served in mason jars) a slight let-down, although the rhubarb crumble was as good as I've tasted. Not the cheapest, but given the quality of the food, reasonable. Would I go back? - definitely.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank tenpercent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Food, service and ambiance all worked so well together. Awesome bourbon sour and the best brisket I have ever had, anywhere. Octopus was really unique - in a really good way.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oakwood Canadian Bistro also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to The Oakwood Canadian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing