We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oakwood Canadian Bistro

The Oakwood Canadian Bistro
2741 West 4th Avenue, Vancouver, British Columbia v6p1k9, Canada
6045581965
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Oakwood Canadian Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 2,804 restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $7 - $35
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: MacDonald
Transit: Bus stops within a block
Prince George, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The food here is outstanding! We loved the concept of sharing plates, the more you get to try the better! We had the poutine, beef tartar and the duck cannelloni! Everything was delicious! We can't wait to go back!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    142
    39
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best comfort food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just a great place to hang out and peck at deliciously comfy concoctions, with a fireplace to boot. The dishes try to be low-brow but are some of the most creative renditions of old-time classics.
Not to miss.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Innovative, unique food in a great atmosphere. Must try the duck cannelloni and trio of masons for dessert. Worth a repeat visit. Highly recommended. Not super family friendly but they tried to accommodate as best as they could with a simple pasta dish for our four year old and some paper and a pen.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Imaginative tasty food in a relaxed setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

What a great little neighbourhood restaurant. Very relaxed atmosphere, friendly laid-back staff but very serious cuisine. Loved the sharing ethos with dishes arriving when ready, works really well for a couple but maybe not for a large group. And I agree with other reviewers that the tables really are packed together, although I didn't find it particularly intrusive. I'm nit-picking - the food was delicious and very imaginatively presented. Desserts (served in mason jars) a slight let-down, although the rhubarb crumble was as good as I've tasted. Not the cheapest, but given the quality of the food, reasonable. Would I go back? - definitely.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Food, service and ambiance all worked so well together. Awesome bourbon sour and the best brisket I have ever had, anywhere. Octopus was really unique - in a really good way.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oakwood Canadian Bistro also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to The Oakwood Canadian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oakwood Canadian Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.