We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oakwood Canadian Bistro

The Oakwood Canadian Bistro
2741 West 4th Avenue, Vancouver, British Columbia v6p1k9, Canada
6045581965
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Oakwood Canadian Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 2,804 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $7 - $35
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: MacDonald
Transit: Bus stops within a block
Laguna Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Food, service and ambiance all worked so well together. Awesome bourbon sour and the best brisket I have ever had, anywhere. Octopus was really unique - in a really good way.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    143
    39
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food and ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

The Oakwood Canadian Bistro fits the definition of a neighborhood gastro pub. The restaurant is decorated industrial style and the atmosphere is very relaxing. Tables are on top of each other so not the best place for intimate conversation.
The food is meant to be shared and it's brought to the table as the dishes are ready, rather than in unison.
Menu is modern Canadian and the food is craftfuly made.
I started with the pepper brioche and maple butter... Simply delicious. The brioche was freshly made and cooked to perfection. The maple butter was heavenly!! Mix of sweet and savory with hints of bacon.
The beet salad with vanilla goat cheese and pistachios was very nice too. Colorful dish with a nice assortment of contrasting flavors.
The poutine with beef brisket was nice. Not the best I've had but nicely executed.
The chimichurri steak and bone marrow was the one dish that, in my opinion, needs to be better balanced. The plate consists of sliced steak (wich in my case was slightly over cooked), a serving on bone marrow and chips. All over a thin layer of chimichurri. The bone marrow was nice but needed something to balance its richness.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delish Brunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I had the Dungeness crab benny and my husband had the maple confit pork belly...both were absolutely delish! We would go back again for brunch! I saw the dinner menu, but the brunch menu looked more appealing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“OMG! Amazing Canadian Comfort Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Ate here while in town for 2 days prior to a cruise. Great good & the waiter was awesome. Recommended a great beer to my husband, talked about the area (his mom lives on Granville island), made food recommendations. Very good service!

Food was AMAZING! All dishes are to share and come at different times. Started with pork rinds, followed by poutine (unusual with brisket on top) which was so awesome we ordered seconds. Followed by a great burger. We were so full we didn't get to try the duck dish or dessert. Looking for something local? This is it! Long, healthy walk from Canada place. Took a cab back as we had played tourist all day. Ride back was under 15 CAD. They will call for you. Highly recommend!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Everything on the brunch menu looks good, but I most of my brunch orders are for French Toast. Oakwood Canadian Bistro serves up their variant of French toast with a later of mascarpone between two layers of thick bread dipped in egg batter spiked with lemon zest and topped with an ample serving of blueberry confit. The maple confit pork belly and scrambled eggs looked good enough to sample; so did the dungeness crab benedict. More reason to return. We arrived just before the Saturday brunch crowd, were not rushed as the booths and tables filled up, enjoyed endless coffee refills with friendly attention.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oakwood Canadian Bistro also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to The Oakwood Canadian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oakwood Canadian Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.