We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty, great value, big portions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Western Lake Chinese Seafood

Western Lake Chinese Seafood
4989 Victoria Drive, Vancouver, British Columbia V5P, Canada
(604) 321-6862
Improve this listing
Ranked #458 of 2,802 restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
vancouver
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tasty, great value, big portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Even with reservations, you often have to wait. We've been here a few times with the family. It's the best chinese seafood restaurant ok Victoria drive. The portions are very big, we ordered a shrimp fried rice and there was tonnes of shrimp and very flavorful. The crab and lobster was cooked to perfection and the garlic gai lan was bursting with flavor with the perfect crunchiness! Will definitely be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    4
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“For dim sum, I recommend showing up at the opening. Parking is an issue.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The dim sum here fares decently in comparison to other Chinese Restaurants. Keep in mind, that there are some traditional dim sum items that the restaurant does serve, but may not be on the menu (perhaps due to space limitations and formatting issues on the menu page). An example was that of the chicken feet dish. We asked our server and he ordered it up for us.

The service is a little slow as the restaurant has a relative low server / bus person to table ratio. We noticed some patrons had to refresh their own teapots and get new utensils as this was quicker option than to wait for the restaurant staff to attend to them.

However a major plus positive is that the flow of food from the kitchen to the diners' tables was exceptionally fast. One of the fastest in terms of dim sum I have ever experienced.

In terms of getting a table, I would recommend arriving at or near the opening of service at 9 am. Once you miss that time frame, there is a substantial wait time.

For parking, there is a very tiny parking lot at the rear of the restaurant. The other option is street parking, but one must be aware of neighbourhood parking restrictions in the area. But if one wanted to be bit sneaky and if you are having dim sum on a Sunday morning, one could get away with parking in the neighbourhood? Why? The City's parking enforcement staff, as it is a unionized employee group, does not work on Sunday. Just saying.

Otherwise be prepared to park about one long neighbourhood block away from the restaurant. That is the closest one will get in terms of parking.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Crowded, Always Busy, Reservation a Must”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Have had both dim sum and dinners here. Mostly dinners as we are able to make reservations. For dim sum, there is usually a long wait. Their "har gow" (shrimp duminplings) are the largest dumplings around. Lots of shrimp in them. A must try. For dinner, the Maggi Sauce Prawns are yummy. The crab claws are good sizes and very reasonably priced. The steamed rock cod was perfect! This restaurant offers good value for the food. My pet peeve is that there is always a long queue to get in for dim sum (1 to 1.5 hours during the weekend is normal). A few of the staff are very friendly and helpful. The tables are crowded together. There is a tiny parking lot with free parking either on Victoria Drive or along East 34th Ave but that is enroaching onto residential parking. Modern decor and noisy atmosphere from all the conversations.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delicious family dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We been to this restaurant twice now. Both times the food and service has been excellent. We are not your typical asian family, we have both Italian blood line in our family, so the food has to cater to the western palate and the chinese palate. On this recent family dinner we ordered 9 dishes to feed a family of 11, of which 5 are growing teenage boys.

We started with a soup with crab meat and fish stomach, it was our boys favorite soup. The next dish was lettuce wraps with minced meats. The iceberg lettuce was crispy, fresh and clean. The following dishes were next, Fried salt and pepper prawns, which was excellent, you get about a pound of good size prawns. Pork chops with their special sauce, this one was my favorite. It was a nice lean pork chop pieces with a tasty sweet and sour glaze. We had 2 hot pot dishes of ginger beef, this was my nephew's favorite dish, the meat was tender and excellent ginger and meaty sauce. For our vegetable dish we order stir fried shrimp over a bed of steamed broccoli. We had two noodle dishes, the beef and vegetable Hong Kong style fried noodles and a shredded chicken and bean sprout chow mein. For our rice dish we ordered the beef and iceberg lettuce fried rice. To finish off our meal, they also served a red bean porridge for dessert. During the summer, they offered a mango pudding/jello which the boys liked also.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“You Dim Sum you Lose Some”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We go to West Lake quite often with my husbands family and every time we go they RAVE over the food... for the dishes I do eat I've always been extremely satisfied (aside from the Dim Sum the peking duck is one of the most impressive dishes I have ever had) but a lot of it is a bit too off the beaten path for me to consume. That being said, it's always SLAMMED PACK and I have never heard anyone say anything but wonderful things about the food. :) If you aren't experimental with your foods however, I'd go somewhere a bit less expensive with dishes you're most likely a bit more comfortable and familiar with.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Western Lake Chinese Seafood also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia

Been to Western Lake Chinese Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Western Lake Chinese Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.