We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Way to Learn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vancouver Photo Walks

Vancouver Photo Walks
221 Union St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6B2E2 , Canada
604-318-1277
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 197 Activities in Vancouver
Type: Walking tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Photowalks are a great way to see our beautiful city, learn and practice the basics of photography, and get out of the automatic setting on your camera! In two hours, we cover exposure, ISO, shutter speed, aperture, composition and basic portraiture. Let's be honest though, it's also a ton of FUN! Lead by a professional photographer, participants are given tools, and an opportunity to explore a popular area (Science World, Convention Centre, English Bay, Coal Harbour, Gastown, Kitsilano or Granville Island) with their cameras, and are given small learning objectives. Introductory classes are offered during the day, and low-light classes in the evening.
New Westminster
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fun Way to Learn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Even if you have had your camera for years, you will learn something new. Suzanne is a great teacher, she easily adapts to the needs of individuals in the group and ensures you get what you need. Highly Recommended.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
feelingphotosuz, Owner at Vancouver Photo Walks, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you so much for the review and recommendation! I'm delighted that you learned things about your camera and felt that the class was adapted for individual needs, both basic and beyond. Thanks again and happy shooting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Fabulously Fun and Educational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The photo walk was educational and good fun. Suzanne is a great teacher, clarified many aspects of photography and my camera for me while expertly handling the varying levels of experience of the 'walkers' in my group. Can't wait to try another location and learn more! Thank you! -Karen S

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
feelingphotosuz, Owner at Vancouver Photo Walks, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hi there,
Thanks for the review. It's great to remind people that photowalks are helpful at a variety of photographic skill levels, not just beginners! Thanks, and I hope to see you again!
Suzanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Vancouver Photowalks Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Highly Recommended! We had a great afternoon shooting the sights around Victory Park. Susanne had a lot of tips that helped me get more familiar with my camera.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
feelingphotosuz, Owner at Vancouver Photo Walks, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hi!
Thank you for posting your fabulous pictures! You joined us for our summer special "Hidden History Photowalk" with Forbidden Vancouver! Awesome. We focus on composition and contrast on these walks, since we're also learning about the history of Vancouver. I'm so happy you learned some useful tips about photography, and I'd love to see you again soon.
Suzanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Cheerfully guides you beyond the auto setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Suzanne meets you where you are and encourages you each step of the way, cheerfully and positively. She got me over the hump of being intimidated by my camera. I'm less insecure about what I'm doing and more hopeful and confident I can take good shots beyond the auto setting. I'm still straddling the fence between auto and manual but she helped me throw my leg over and hopefully I'll hop over the other side soon. Like a good friend would be, she's patient, kind and just boils it down for you. She's adaptable and entertained any question I had and we still finished on time. Watch the video, as it gives you an idea of your time together. Wish I lived here so I could take more of her classes!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
feelingphotosuz, Owner at Vancouver Photo Walks, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for the review! Photography is definitely a journey rather than a destination, and my goal with Vancouver Photowalks is to help people get closer to where they want to be. I'm delighted that you are now closer to manual than before...and if your goal is use your camera in full manual, come back before you leave! :)
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Really Great Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I am a beginner in photography and Suzanne was super patient and helpful. It was also a great tour around the downtown area and got to see a few tourist highlights in the area. If you want tips on how to take better pictures, use the functions on your camera, and improve composition, this class is fantastic. Suzanne is very knowledgable about DSLR cameras and a great teacher. Would highly recommend this to locals or visitors!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suzrushton, Owner at Vancouver Photo Walks, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
I'm so happy you not only had a great time but also learned things about photography and your camera! I'm all about efficiency and love combining experiences, entertainment and education. Thanks for your stellar review, I certainly hope to see you again sometime. Happy shooting!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vancouver Photo Walks also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Vancouver Photo Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vancouver Photo Walks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.