We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre to your Saves list
Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   180 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 4P4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Ok hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights and had a corner room on the 9th which gave good views. The room was spacious and clean, location was good although we found Moxies uninspiring, another downside was the $60 it cost to park the car which didn't move throughout our stay although the reservation didn't have the original room we booked so upgraded and got a refund on the room price so all in all not bad

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    241
    209
    87
    76
See reviews for
117
250
47
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Good location near Canada Place, easy walk to waterfront and other places of interest at that end of town. Room was OK, tried breakfast at Moxie's (hotel restaurant) but the service was terrible, we left and found a coffee shop nearby.
Front desk service varied from excellent to uninterested.

Room Tip: North Tower is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

My family was in town and stayed here. There was a mouse in the room! Nasty. When it was first mentioned all they got was an apology. Brought up again at check out and a discount was offered in the restaurant. Finally, what was offered was paid parking and no tax on the bill. I will never stay there or recommend it to out of town guests.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Rosedale on Robson did not honor my reservation made 3 months prior and instead bumped me to this dump.

Let me start by saying the front desk service is horrible. There were 3 people in front of me and I stood in line for 30 minutes to get checked in. The manager just stood there while two others handled the reservations (though there were 3 check-in spots). By the time I got to the desk there were probably 10 people behind me with shocked/angry looks on their faces. Please note, this was not just a one time thing. When I walked by the desk for the 2 days Is stayed here, there was always a line and always people looking at their watches.

Once I got to the room it was tiny. The bathroom was super small that you couldn't get in the shower with the door open. And the toilet was the smallest toilet I have ever seen. If you are bigger than 5'6" and 100lbs, you are screwed.

The sheets and room were clean, but that is the ONLY saving grace. The AC barely worked and wouldn't be set below 20C (68F). Of course, it never go this cold in the room anyway.

You think you are getting free wifi? Well, it is free, but I wouldn't call it wifi. You can open maybe 2 pages and then it shuts down for 3 minutes unless you turn your wifi off and then on again. But when you do this, you only get 2 pages again. It wouldn't have been too bad if I didn't have an american phone system (you get foreign data roaming in Canada unless you have a local sim card). It took forever to find places to visit/eat/etc since it took forever to use the internet.

The bste par abou theis hotel was checking out. Honestly, unless they are paying you to stay here, you should find other accomodations. (But seriously, if you are paying over $50 per night, you are getting robbed).

Room Tip: Again, the free wifi is a joke. And if you HAVE to stay here, the lower floors are probably better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandvan, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

on behalf of the staff and management, please accept my sincere apology for your disappointment as it is also ours.

Yes, there are times when there is a line up, consider that sometimes most guest arrive to check in around the same time period, this is true especially during concert or event dates. Be assured, the staff extend the same service level to all the guest.

Being a "green hotel", we install motion controlled thermostats as part of an energy saving policy, however, when the room is empty, the system does turn off. Unfortunately during this hot summer months, this was a challenge. We are looking into other alternatives to balance the "green " initiative and customer satisfaction.

The internet has been greatly improved, with a specific optic line for the hotel, to burst from 50 to 100 based on usages. The support company, Liveport is also available to re-config any laptop systems to ensure potential usage, a complimentary service which has proven very effective to many customers with system config challenges.

In terms of room sizes, we have several room types with several size configurations, all based on a fair and reasonable rate of course.

Again, my apologies for your disappointment. It is with sincere hopes we will have another opportunity to welcome you back so we may regain your overall confidence in staying with the Sandman Van City Centre Hotel.

Michael Lopez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Had an enjoyable two night stay in this hotel in July. It was our first hotel we stayed in during a two week stay in Canada. I have to say the breakfast was really nice and location wise it was excellent. Was seriously unimpressed with having to pay car park charges and the bed was so soft and uncomfortable we both woke up with bad back ache. Which I as a rule don't suffer from. All in all you get what you pay for and this place isn't the lap of luxury, but not too bad either. Free wifi, which was very quick and easy to install and use.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Spent 2 nights at the Sandman before moving on to Vancouver Island. It is conveniently located downtown close to the stadium and Robson St. Basically it met expectations without being special. Service at reception was good and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The adjoining Moxies Grill serves as a hotel restaurant. Had one lunch there which was pretty good. Not a lot more to say really, it did what it said on the tin.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We were fly driving across British Columba but thought it would be good to stay here to get our bearings for first 2nights and final 2 nights. The rest of time we just rocked up to places across British Columbia, the hotel was great and restaurant was amazing.
Staff were friendly and gave honest tips about paces to it places to avoid Safe and not so safe places in the city, bellhops are great fr this, not as robot like and more likely to one up.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Address: 180 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 4P4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Downtown Vancouver, Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre is walking distance to shopping, a multitude of restaurants and lounges, and sporting and entertainment venues, making it the perfect choice for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel Vancouver
Sandman Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.