We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healthy. Yummy. Packed.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shizen Ya on Hornby

Shizen Ya on Hornby
985 Hornby St., Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada (Downtown)
604-568-0013
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 2,866 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $38
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Québec
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Healthy. Yummy. Packed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Such a great spot for sushi or teriyaki (with brown rice). A super healthy option in this quiet neighbourhood. Paked on a monday night at 8 pm (consider take out).

Also had ginger ale which tasted home made.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    26
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
224 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Cozy 7 table place, inventive healthy and relatively inexpensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Was sort of shocked that they only had seven tables, walked into the last open table. The options really had a healthy spin to them, and the use of brown rice and quinoa was interesting and positive. The spicy tuna roll was tops. If you are looking for flare and presentation/experience this place prob isn't for you. It has a really cozy home feel to it where you get some wholesome food at pretty good prices. I was a fan and would return. Seems like a great place to get takeout as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
344 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“A little overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I tried this restaurant based on the positive reviews on Tripadvisor and Yelp. I was a bit disappointed as the place is overrated. The sushi is good, well prepared and fresh and the use of brown rice is certainly a novelty. And I think this last item is what has people glowing about the place (as well as it's use of quinoa and its vegan options). Yes, it is good to try a brown rice sushi, but this isn't exquisite sushi. The taste of the brown rice overpowers everything else - at least that was my experience with the three rolls I tried. There is many other great places in Vancouver to have good sushi.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
104 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful delicious and unusual sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

What happens when you cross hippie cuisine with sushi, I think. They use brown rice as well as quinoa. Lots of local and organic produce including some great local organic beer. The fish is fresh and delicious. The portions are generous but the prices are quite reasonable. Teeny-tiny dining room so call for reservations. Friendly efficient service. We really enjoyed our meal here!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good sushi, brown rice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

It was my first time tasting brown rice sushi. I can't remember the name of the roll I ordered, but it had albacore, crab, avocado and salmon. It was tasty and rolled nicely. I also ordered a side of tuna and salmon sashimi. Wow those were very generous in size! All came to $20. Overall, the place is cute, clean and the food is tasty.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shizen Ya on Hornby also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Shizen Ya on Hornby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shizen Ya on Hornby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.