We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healthy. Yummy. Packed.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shizen Ya on Hornby

Shizen Ya on Hornby
985 Hornby St., Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada (Granville Street)
604-568-0013
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 2,938 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $36
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Granville Street
Québec
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Healthy. Yummy. Packed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Such a great spot for sushi or teriyaki (with brown rice). A super healthy option in this quiet neighbourhood. Paked on a monday night at 8 pm (consider take out).

Also had ginger ale which tasted home made.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank chagallvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
241 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Cozy 7 table place, inventive healthy and relatively inexpensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Was sort of shocked that they only had seven tables, walked into the last open table. The options really had a healthy spin to them, and the use of brown rice and quinoa was interesting and positive. The spicy tuna roll was tops. If you are looking for flare and presentation/experience this place prob isn't for you. It has a really cozy home feel to it where you get some wholesome food at pretty good prices. I was a fan and would return. Seems like a great place to get takeout as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Cursive9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
371 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“A little overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I tried this restaurant based on the positive reviews on Tripadvisor and Yelp. I was a bit disappointed as the place is overrated. The sushi is good, well prepared and fresh and the use of brown rice is certainly a novelty. And I think this last item is what has people glowing about the place (as well as it's use of quinoa and its vegan options). Yes, it is good to try a brown rice sushi, but this isn't exquisite sushi. The taste of the brown rice overpowers everything else - at least that was my experience with the three rolls I tried. There is many other great places in Vancouver to have good sushi.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ottawajester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
125 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful delicious and unusual sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

What happens when you cross hippie cuisine with sushi, I think. They use brown rice as well as quinoa. Lots of local and organic produce including some great local organic beer. The fish is fresh and delicious. The portions are generous but the prices are quite reasonable. Teeny-tiny dining room so call for reservations. Friendly efficient service. We really enjoyed our meal here!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank sharonincolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good sushi, brown rice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

It was my first time tasting brown rice sushi. I can't remember the name of the roll I ordered, but it had albacore, crab, avocado and salmon. It was tasty and rolled nicely. I also ordered a side of tuna and salmon sashimi. Wow those were very generous in size! All came to $20. Overall, the place is cute, clean and the food is tasty.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank lyonnequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shizen Ya on Hornby also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Shizen Ya on Hornby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing