We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4.5 stars for the food, 1 star for the front desk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawksworth Restaurant

Hawksworth Restaurant
801 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 1P7, Canada (Downtown)
+1 604-673-7000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hawksworth Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #72 of 2,789 restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $29 - $47
Cuisines: Pacific Rim, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Howe Street
Transit: Bus Stops are located on Howe Street and on Georgia. We are also located one block west of the City Centre Canada line station.
Description: A celebration of Vancouver’s cultural diversity and natural environment Hawksworth Restaurant showcases ingredient led, contemporary cuisine that demonstrates the highly skilled technique and relentless drive for perfection that has become Chef David Hawksworth’s trademark.Glamorous and elegant, yet relaxed and welcoming with warm and attentive service, Hawksworth Restaurant is located in the heart of the city at Georgia and Howe Streets within the legendary Rosewood Hotel Georgia.Open for breakfast, brunch, lunch and dinner, with in bar dining menus and its own private room, Hawksworth can deliver an array of dining experiences from power breakfasts to after-work drinks, to formal gala events.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“4.5 stars for the food, 1 star for the front desk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Creative, fresh, delicious food, beautifully presented. Best pork belly I've had anywhere, and major props are due for the wreath-like plating of the yellowfish tuna with "fried rice", steamed radishes, other vegetables). Our only complaint about the meal was that we had a waiter and we had a sommelier, but the two didn't communicate such that we ended up with a dish far too sweet for the aged California pinot we brought to enjoy with dinner (because the waiter visited our table well ahead of the sommelier, and the waiter wasn't wine-savvy).

Our second problem was the front desk. We turned two jackets and a cap over to them on arrival, but when we left were only presented with the two jackets. When my husband asked for his hat they claimed there wasn't one, and a subsequent search of the closet yielded nothing. The hostess was resolute that we'd not given her a hat to begin with. So we asked for a manager who gave us her card and took our number, perfunctorily insisting that they'd call if they found it but her tone was lightly hostile and it was clear she didn't believe the hat existed either. She didn't even ask for a description of it! It was obvious they believed that we were trying to set them up for a freebie. NOT how we like to end our evenings.

The next morning we learned that they found the hat. And they apologized for losing it, but not for treating us like a pair of grifters. So yes the food was terrific, but the memory of our evening there is not a pleasant one. Their fault.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    227
    94
    68
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Probably the best food in Vancouver (at a price!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Have taken clients here for lunch many times, most recently earlier this week for dinner. Service is great and the food is simply fantastic. Probably the one of the best places in Vancouver as it is consistently good. However, it is also probably one of the most expensive too! Menu is great with lots of options and the presentation is wonderful.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Very Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Had en excellent dinner, and service was attentive even though the restaurant was full. The chef is clearly setting his sights on a Michelin Star, and with time it may well come. The only negatives would be that the table we had was right in front of the doors to the washrooms, and the double doors that lead to the hallway where the washrooms are were left open the entire evening. This really lets down the standards that are being set in the kitchen. On the design front they also need to turn the POS screen in the dining room away from the diners. The food really is excellent, and this place deserves a try, but they need to get their act together on these design points - as these are things that can really put off diners who are spending so much on a meal.
TIP: ASK FOR A TABLE THAT ISN'T NEXT TO THE WASHROOMS.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Complete phony rip-off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Do NOT go to this restaurant if you want a decent meal! The portions are absurdly small and not that good. And expensive as hell. Don't waste your time and money.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Believe the Hype”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I dont understand some of the reviews of Hawksworth on trip advisor. This isn't a casual restaurant with food that is meant to satisfy people with a poor sense of taste or interest for different food. you don't come here to get burgers and fries, and you shouldn't write a review basing it on price, because no where does it say that it is cheap. What you are paying for is an elegant dining experience showcasing top quality ingredients. The Menu is fairly small, but everything i tried was amazing. It is true that a lot of the dishes contain bacon or pig in some form, but the kitchen is more than accommodating when requests are made to substitute something. I have eaten there twice now, the food being amazing each time. the presentation of the items is amongst the best i have seen, very modern and architect like. there are two sections to the restaurant, one the bar side with short tables and lounge chairs, and the dining area, with booths and tables. There is a big contrast between comfort and noise levels. I highly suggest sitting in the dining area if you are looking for a more intimate experience or if you are with a family, but if you are a couple of guys getting some drinks, the bar area is nice. overall, i had two great experiences and would definitely return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawksworth Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Hawksworth Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawksworth Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.