We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing breakfast calzone and coffee!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Giovane Cafe & Wine Bar

Giovane Cafe & Wine Bar
1038 Canada Place, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 0B9, Canada (Coal Harbour)
+1 604-695-5501
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #116 of 2,775 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $33
Cuisines: Bakeries, Bistro, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Neighborhood: Coal Harbour
Description: Italian-inspired giovane café + winebar celebrates la dolce vita from morning until night. By day, guests sip exquisite coffee while tucking into bellissimo breakfasts, signature sugar buns and house-baked pastries, along with authentic paninis and pizzas. At night, the bustling café transforms into an all-Italian winebar, where diners linger over premium pasta, salumi and formaggio plates. the market, giovane’s newly added gourmet food destination, offers a carefully curated offering of luxurious prepared meals, high-end food products and exclusive gifts.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfast calzone and coffee!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Great place for breakfast with sweet & savoury options. Breakfast calzone was fresh and very tasty. Coffee with well above the bar. They sell their own beans. Will go back for cakes as they all like works of art but too full from brekkie at the mo!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    28
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turner Valley, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great Experience -Wine Bar and menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We had a long day in Vancouver and didn't really want a heavy meal. We sat down as the Wine Bar was not playing load music. George was our server and he knew his menu, and the wine to go with it. We put our dinner in his hands. He recommended the wine and the mushroom sauce, chesses and the fresh meat with bread. The dessert was the finishing touches. We were thrilled with our evening of different foods that normally we would have not tried. Thanks again George for you great services and recommendations. We will be going again before we leave on this trip.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good for Quick Lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Fast service, healthy fare. Reasonable prices. Would like to see more tables rather than low, but fashionable, low ones that are more suited to the wine bar aspect than a luncheon plate. Yes, I would go there again.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We had a light lunch and several stops for coffee at Giovane Café in the Fairmont Pacific Rim. The food and coffee were great. Friendly staff and fun atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Bad service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We wanted to eat at the lobby bar (we were staying at the hotel) but we were told they were full and were sent over to Giovane which would have been fine but I have a pine nut allergy and when I asked if they could make me a Panini fresh to avoid cross contamination, I was told No. I asked them to confirm that the pesto had pine nuts, they confirmed it as a yes.
So I told them that we were hungry after just arriving at the hotel and asked what can I order to eat then that would be safe ... get this answer; I was told they couldn't accommodate me with anything! My hubby and son ordered their meals which they told me was so so. HMMM. Not a good start. I had to order from the lobby lounge in eat in the café. It took forever for the girl at the cash register to ring it in as she didn't know how. My bill was 54.00 for one sushi roll, one bowl of bland miso soup, two Panini's and one pop. Another 15.00 for 3 coffee's. The chef came by later telling me, he could make sure I get a lunch the next day and that my allergy could be accommodated with advanced notice, he was really nice but this was too late for today.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontPacificRim, Director of Food & Beverage at Giovane Cafe & Wine Bar, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review; we sincerely appreciate it. We are disappointed that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please note we have followed up with our team to ensure we are maintaining consistency with our high level of service and the ordering process. I would invite you to contact me directly at mark.steenge@fairmont.com to discuss your experience in further detail. I certainly hope for the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Mark Steenge
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovane Cafe & Wine Bar also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Giovane Cafe & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giovane Cafe & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.