We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Gelateria & Gelato

Bella Gelateria & Gelato
1001 West Cordova Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 0B7, Canada
604.569.1010
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 3,035 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

BE AWARE---LONG LINES!!

I would definitely try to stop by and grab some delicious, homemade gelato. They let you taste 3 different flavors for free and there are so many options. This place was located right outside our hotel, so we passed it all the time. So we waited until there was a small line to get our taste. Well worth it if you enjoy gelato.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    37
    15
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Creamy, delicious, smooth and yum...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The ice cream is gorgeous! All sorts of great flavours (more like coconut and green tea as opposed to cookie dough etc.) We had salted caramel and banana bread.

Staff weren't that great, they didn't seem very happy at all. The que is often out the door, but it shows how popular it is! It's definitely worth the wait (which wasn't actually that long at all). Much more expensive than the ice cream we had in other areas of BC, for 2 cones with 2 scoops it was 17 CAD. But well worth a try because it is delicious!

If I went again I would probably get a tub rather than a cone - the cones were pretty small so the ice cream melted off them quite quickly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

As other reviewers say, it's worth the wait and the cost. Fabulous gelato (espresso and chocolate!). Yum.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Was told by a local Vancouverite about the amazing gelato at Bella Gelateria & Gelato. My 3 girlfriends and myself were happily excited to try this amazing gelato. We were shocked and dismayed at the service and attitude delivered the hostess. Before we could even try a few different flavours of gelato we were told we needed to decide if we wanted 1 or 2 scoops, and pay for it first. My issue with this is that perhaps I ordered and paid for one scoop but really like 2 flavours and decided I now wanted 2 scoops. But I've only paid for one. Okay really that's just an annoyance. We were shocked and appalled at the attitude and rudeness of the staff. We turned around deflated and left without evening getting to try this amazing or so called amazing gelato. :(

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best gelato!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Must go! Worth the lineups! Love the mango and hazelnut flavour. You can taste the difference - they use better ingredients and produce in small batches. No wonder they won first prize in Italy! Now it is hard for me to eat gelato anywhere else as Bella raises the bar way too high!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Gelateria & Gelato also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Bella Gelateria & Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Gelateria & Gelato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.