We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For spicy chinese food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chili Pepper House

Chili Pepper House
3003 Kingsway, Vancouver, British Columbia V5R 5J6, Canada
(604) 431-8633
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #542 of 2,763 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
leeds
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“For spicy chinese food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Have had take outs from here and they've always been very good - it's indian chinese so more spicy. I enjoyed the mix and extra kick of garlic/chilli on the dishes.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Chinese Indian Food? OK, I'll Try That”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This is a one of a kind dining experience. With items like Chicken with Curry sauce, Masala Fried Rice, and House Style Paneer, in a decidedly Chinese restaurant, it's a must try.

The restaurant itself isn't much to look at. Located in a tiny strip mall on the corner of Kingsway and Rupert. The dining room is small, so if you have a big party, plan ahead. The upside is that it's a family owned joint with personable staff. My husband I started dining here shortly after moving to East Van. We don't go out much for Asian food due to my gluten sensitivity, but after hearing that they can make certain dishes GF, we decided to give it a try. Now it's our local place, and we absolutely love it.

Dishes do tend to be on the spicy side, so make sure you order appropriately if you don't like too much kick in your food. Due to the religious background of the owners, they don't serve pork, but have a great chicken, beef, veggie, and seafood selection. And if you're into french fries, you have to try their Crispy Fried Sliced Potatoes (Bahjia) in the appetizer section. They aren't GF, but they are my husband's guilty pleasure.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobble Hill, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“My favourite Chinese!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I love this place. Been in twice and got takeout once. Such good food (get the manchurian veggie balls!!), big big portions and really well priced!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Food was good...location is so so..just a hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

A great place for authentic chinese food.
Enjoyed their soups and chili chicken (a bit spicy for me...but I know for next time I visit).
Chicken corn soup was delicious and well made. Was tempted to have some for take out as lunch for the next day.
Will come here again but take a look at the menu next time before my friend suggest things that may be a bit spicy for me.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Soooo Good!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Before going here, I had never heard of Indian Style Chinese food. The taste was amazing---a fusion of Indian food which I love and Chinese food which I love. The portions were large and served family style. The waitress was polite, pleasant, and knowledgable. She gave great suggestions as to what to choose from the menu. There needs to be more restaurants like this in other locations!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chili Pepper House also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Chili Pepper House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chili Pepper House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.