We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most excellent sandwich” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meat & Bread

Meat & Bread
370 Cambie Street Vancouver, British Columbia | Hastings, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 3,035 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Naracoorte
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Most excellent sandwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Went here purely based on the reviews and we were not disappointed. Well thought out place, serving great sandwiches. Just loved the porchetta sandwich, it was delicious. If only I could whisk myself there now for another!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    118
    18
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Douglaston, New York
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Delicious sandwiches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Long lines, but they were quick. Everything was delicious and inexpensive. Share long communal table

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“If you're in the market for a tasty sammich, here it is!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Pros: made fresh before your eyes, friendly staff, good location. The porchetta was 3/5 in terms of taste. Meat was good, but after a few bites I wanted something more than just pork fat...since there's nothing really else on the sandwhich, heh. Daily special was Turkey and it was a 5/5. Incredible taste! I could have eaten three of them!!

Cons: $9 is a decent price for the sandwich, if not a *bit* too high. They are kind-of small, though filling. But the true test is YES, I would eat there again if I went back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Suffolk
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good, but am I'm missing something?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

A fast food joint that serves about 4 types of sandwich and it's rated this highly? We passed by on chance and thought we'd give it a go. The joints of pork looked great but I fancied the beef sandwich, Watching the guys make them on a mini production line is good fun but for me the final end product was a little bit dissapointing. It is only a sandwich but the beef i found to be a bit bland and the bread though reasonable was not delicious. The pork was much better tasting but the sort of thing I'd eat once a year. Again this falls between 3 and 4 stars for me. Price was ok and the place was buzzing, packed and clean. We opted for takeaway due to space but I think you'd enjoy it a little more eating in.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great spot for a cheap and delicious bite to eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Just got back from Vancouver and this was probably one of the best and cheapest places we ate! (Vancouver is an expensive city) I had the signature porchetta but my hubby had the special which happened to be a Korean style beef bulkogi sandwich, he's Korean and found this sandwich to be superior to mine! They were both amazing to me. We also had the maple and bacon ice cream sandwich which was also delicious! Highly recommend this to all Vancouver visitors and locals as well. :) yum!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meat & Bread also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Meat & Bread? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meat & Bread, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.