We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bulgarian find on Denman.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acacia Fillo Bar

Acacia Fillo Bar
1103 Denman Street, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada (Downtown)
604-633-3884
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #140 of 2,935 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: Downtown
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A Bulgarian find on Denman.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

First Bulgarian restaurant we have ever tried. Filo pockets stuffed with chicken and lamb were our choices, accompanied by a small side salad and roasted yams and potatoes, nicely spiced. A small restaurant less than 6 tables and a couple of tables outside. Good value and an interesting, different culinary experience. Oh yes, they are licensed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    15
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Loved the Burek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

This was a great find. We walked past and looked into the restaurant and it looked warm and inviting. We went in, unsure of what to order and the waiter recommended we try the Burek. It was really tasty. It was a delicious "meat pie" for lack of better words that was filling and had great flavours. It came with a salad and other sauces, very, very good indeed. I would recommend this to anyone!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Fillo's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

The fillo's with Salmon + wild mushrooms and Roasted Lamb were great. These were served with grilled yams and a super fresh green salad.

Will go back to try others in the menu.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“had bulgarian food?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Well, I hadn't, but it sounded good and there were a lot of great reviews. We checked it out. Delicious, sweet servers and the spinach-feta filo dough specialty of the house lasted through hours of snowshoeing, so filling to boot!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Vancouver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

I first ate here 6 months ago during my first visit to Vancouver. On my second visit to this great city this place was my first stop. They have one of the best breakfasts I have ever eaten in the world! The poached eggs on English muffins served with yams and maple bacon are delicious. Great home cooking of exceptionional standard, fantastic service and a cute environment.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acacia Fillo Bar also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Acacia Fillo Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acacia Fillo Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.