We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good if not better than we remembered!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Suite @ Kitsilano Cottage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added A Suite @ Kitsilano Cottage to your Saves list
A Suite @ Kitsilano Cottage
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   3449 West 7th Avenue, Vancouver, British Columbia V6R1W2, Canada (Kitsilano)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 62 Vancouver B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“As good if not better than we remembered!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We are always cautious about returning somewhere we loved and we hadn't stayed here for 10 years so we were delighted to find it as good as we remembered if not better! The suite is spacious, fantastically well equipped, extremely clean and in a great part of town. Ideal place for a family to stay. We enjoyed the generous baskets of baked goods and fruit. As a host Christopher had gone the extra mile with little touches such as fresh flowers, magazines and CDs to ensure we felt welcome and at home. In addition Kitsilano is a very peaceful location and there was no problem with parking. Nice cafes and restaurants a short stroll away. Hope to return again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ko Jum, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed in early September, 2 adults and 2 teenagers and found the 2 bedroomed suite to be completely perfect. The location is ideal, walking distance to the beach, great resturants but so peaceful. The suite itself is beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and fully equipped. The welcome basket of breads, muffins, cookies was devine and we had enough to use for breakfast for our whole 3 day stay. There was also great coffee and a bottle of wonderful red wine that was greatly appreciated! Christopher the owner, was so welcoming and helpful. There is a brillant folder in the house covering your every need. All in all I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: The suite is perfect for 2 or up to 4 people and is priced by how many guests there are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had a lovely stay here on a family trip with our daughters. Christopher is a great host, greeting us with a bottle of organic wine and baskets of terrific pastries and organic fruit. The suite itself is comfortable and the street is quiet for being so close to many of the wonderful things Vancouver has to offer. There's also a nice little patio to coffee on in the morning or relax with a glass of wine in the evening. The kitchen is well-equipped (With a whole bean coffee grinder! And an espresso machine!), the suite is very pretty and well-appointed, the beds are very comfortable and there is a washer and dryer in the suite as well.

It was the perfect place for us to stay, and our only regret is that we were not staying a little longer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We were moving from Crescent Beach to Vancouver, an hour away, and needed a home between homes for the month of October. We found the perfect place for such a long stay and easily settled in to A Suite @ Kitsilano Cottage thanks to Christopher's attention to detail and willingness to provide all the comforts of home.

We loved that when we arrived, the suite was immaculate, a bowl full of fresh fruit and treats from the local bakery were on the kitchen counter. Wine, a selection of teas and coffee were also very much appreciated. We could have easily stayed longer thanks to the coziness of the suite, a fully stocked kitchen, comfortable beds, convenience of having a washer and dryer, and having enough space to entertain and even invite our family for Thanksgiving dinner. We immediately grew to love the close proximity to everything, and so many wonderful restaurants. We really enjoyed the neighbourhood and especially loved that we could walk to the beach as well. We greatly appreciated Christopher's hospitality and will definitely recommend the suite to our out of town guests and friends here at home.

Thank you!!!
Bill, Sarah & Morgan
...and the boys too

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

November 2011
A perfect home away from home!

I have stayed in many Kitsilano retreats in the past 10 years + this was definitely the best! The Suite is so well equipped + Christopher leaves no detail un-catered for; the visitor feels positively spoiled.

I will certainly be back soon.

Many Thanks
NS
Manitoba

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

I had to be in Vancouver for surgery and was looking for a place for a friend and I to stay in comfort and privacy - both from the outside world and from each other. Christopher's suite was the ideal answer for us. From our first meeting we found Christopher to be the perfect host.

We were not in Vancouver under ideal conditions, but finding this oasis of quiet comfort was a real blessing. The rooms were beautiful, spotless, comfortable and exactly what we needed.

The bountiful basket of fruits and treats was more than adequate to keep us happily nibbling for days. How thoughtful to include butter and cream for the coffee! Imagine roses on the table, wine on the counter, Italian soda in the fridge - impossible to find service like that anywhere else.

We have both been raving to our friends and families about the great place we found - so convenient to the shops and restaurants of Broadway and West 4th, but so quiet and secluded and cozy.

Thank you so much, Christopher. We had a lovely stay.

Linda

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

We stayed at Kitsilano Cottage after a cruise to Alaska. My husband and I were travelling with 2 non related friends and as we wished to stay together the suite offered a great solution for us.

I had prompt and reliable communication with Christopher the owner, prior to and after our stay. We disembaraked from our cruise ship very early and he graciously accommodated our huge amount of luggage upstairs while the suite was being cleaned.

The suite is at ground level at the front of the house and has a lovely, small patio with a small table and chairs. While not a bed and breakfast as such, we were greeted with a massive plate of muffins and pastries, a huge bowl of organic fruit as well as milk, bread, butter and water that lasted our entire stay. There was also a bottle of very nice organic wine that we shared on our first night.

The property itself is beautiful and decorated to a very high standard. When you enter the open plan suite, the kitchen is to the left and the living room and dining area are on the right. The full kitchen has a large fridge/freezer that dispenses ice and filtered water. A telephone is provided, so making reservations etc is easy and free!

There is a stove, microwave, dishwasher, espresso maker, regular coffee maker, kettle, toaster and blender. There are enough pots, pans, crockery and cutlery for a large family. The dining area has a table and chairs and the living room has a sofa that folds out into a bed. There is also an armchair and a flat screen television, stereo and dvd player. There is 'cable' with many channels to chose from on the television and an honour system for buying pay per view. If I am being extremely picky, the only thing that seems out of place in this well appointed suite is the sofabed. The sofa itself if quite soft and it does not really fit in with the rest of the art deco-ish decor. In fairness, our friend who slept on the sofabed did not complain. and really, this is the ONLY thing that I would change.

The bathroom is the first room on the left and in the alcove there is a stacking washer and dryer. Chrisopher provides tablets for the dishwasher and soap for the washing machine. The bathroom has a tub with shower and there is great water pressure which makes using the massaging showerhead worthwhile. There are plenty of clean ,fluffy towels and soap, shampoo etc.

The first bedroom is on the right side down the hall. It is tastefully decorated and equipped with a comfortable queen size bed. The other bedroom is at the end of the hall and has a massive king size bed - the room is big enough for the bed, but my husband kept hitting his knee as he walked around it - I took to tucking the cover inside the wooden frame so he could see the corner of the bed frame and thus avoid it. I absolutely loved this king bed and had a wonderful sleep, but I would think it may be a bit on the soft side for some people. The queen size bed is firmer and my friend reported sleeping soundly on it.

The apartment is very well located in an area of Vancouver that has a lot of fantastic restaurants and shops. There is also a beach nearby. It is a short drive or bus ride to the downtown area. There is a lot of information provided about local attractions, restaurants etc.

There is little to nothing to find fault with here - Christopher is an excellent host. The apartment is spotlessly clean and equipped with all the comforts of home and more. Pride of ownership is evident and Christopher has thought of everything to make your stay comfortable and trouble free. I have worked in the travel business and I am very picky about choosing or recommending accommodation.. I give the suite my highest recommendation.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Suite @ Kitsilano Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Suite @ Kitsilano Cottage

Address: 3449 West 7th Avenue, Vancouver, British Columbia V6R1W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Kitsilano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A Suite @ Kitsilano Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An upscale, furnished, garden level 2bdrm suite, in a heritage Arts & Crafts bungalow, in Kitsilano District. It has king and queen size beds & double sofabed. There is a private entry & patio, private phone line, TV with VCR and cable, Broadband, CD player, bathroom with tub/shower, full kitchen facilities, in suite laundry facilities and bicycles & tennis raquets. For the first morning we provide a self-catered continental breakfast. Available daily, weekly or monthly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your A Suite @ Kitsilano Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Suite @ Kitsilano Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.