We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You want good Chinese food, this is it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dynasty Seafood Restaurant

Dynasty Seafood Restaurant
777 West Broadway, #108, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada (Fairview)
(604) 876-8388
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #491 of 2,894 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Fairview
Monmouth
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“You want good Chinese food, this is it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

With so many Chinese in and around Vancouver, there had to be some great places to check out Chinese cuisine and this turned out to be one of them!
One good sign evident as soon as we entered the large dining room was it was full of Chinese and Japanese diners - in fact we only saw one other Caucasian guy in there and he had a Chinese partner! The tables were well dressed with white linen and, though there were lots of covers and the place was humming, it did not feel too crowded. The food was delicious and fully met our expectations. The service very attentive. This was a top end restaurant yet excellent value for money. Yummy!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    22
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“A Classy Place to do Dim Sum in Vancouver”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Dynasty is kind of a upscale Chinese restaurant in Vancouver with a beautiful view of the city skyline. The food is good but quite pricy. A group of highschool friends and I each paid $20 for a dim sum lunch. The place is very clean, service is good with two hours of free underground parking.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very-very impressed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

We were looking for a place to spend our last evening in Vancouver. We were heading home, our daughter was staying there, at UBC... Well, we came to the "Dynasty Seafood Restaurant" for a dinner. We were their first customers, restaurant just opened. Very clean, spacious, well kept place.
My husband carefully selected not-too-spicy beef (with ginger-pineapple and tenderloin in black bean souse- very well prepared and authentic), I added fish to his order (fried, comes on the bed of eggplants). Everything was unbelievably tasty! Fish was super-fresh , very moist, very light. Meat was amazing as well. Add rice and 2 pots of green tea- and here is our amazing dinner for three. No leftovers, perfectly enough.
Our waiter, Henry (I have a photo of my bill, where I can see his name), was very attentive and caring. He made sure our dinner went well. Loved the place, definitely will go again, when in Vancouver- I would like to try their dim-sum as well.
We paid ~50$ for this dinner for 3. In Montreal you just cannot find Chinese restaurant of that quality for such a price.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Dim Sum sunday - as good as expected, not spectacular as hoped”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

The restaurant was as full as we'd expected - always a good sign - and we did have to wait 25-30 minutes without a reservation, quite understandable.
They must have been too busy to pour our tea...hmmm, not used to that.
The dim sum was average. Having said that, we're definitely spoilt living in Vancouver with access some of the best Chinese food outside of China, Taiwan and Hong Kong. So I would have to concede that the food was just fine. It just wasn't spectacular.
Service was good, but not outstanding, and they started setting up for dinner right around our table.
It cost us $20 per person inclusive of HST, exclusive of tip. They get 3 out of 5 for value because we could have eaten just as well elsewhere for less and with better service.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Creative and Pleasant Cantonese Cusine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

The dim sum lunch is about as good or as average as many may have experienced. The dinner however is well worth the recognition. We had our family dinner there and the appet platter is served in individual order portion. Meaning no one get extra or less and it works well for a large group. So often there are uneven portion leftovers in a chinese dish and it is difficult and awkward as to who will get the extras. So this is a good and "user friendly" setups.The daily soup there is exceptional and I mean it is made from a very nice soup base and if you love soup then this is the place. The most significant and a very creative dish is the "stir fried" budda vegi dish. There was no meat but the mixture of the chinese roots, tofu and fugus was an absolute delight, very tasty and extremely healthy. No one in the city in my opinion can match the pleasant flavour of this dish. And this is a MUST ti try. Credit to the management that the services are crisp, efficient and orderly and it is rare to observe in a chinese restaurant.
My advise is go in the week days possible because weekends are like mad house there but then again, this is part of the fun eating chinese food in a "circus" like atmosphere. Unless you have a deep purse and otherwise stay away from seafood such as shark fin , abalone or geoduck because you will be soaked when the bill arrives.
Free Parking downstairs are nice and also fun to watch our asian friends try to squeeze their SUV into a tiny slot and I call this a nice workout before dinner

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dynasty Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Dynasty Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dynasty Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.