We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location; don't expect anything but a basic 3 star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Vancouver Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Vancouver Downtown to your Saves list
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1221 Granville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1M6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
321 reviews 321 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
“Fantastic location; don't expect anything but a basic 3 star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

In an unbeatable location (in the middle of the West End, Downtown, Yaletown and Vancouver Island) surrounded by the best of what Vancouver has to offer, this BASIC 3 star hotel offers superb value for money to the budget traveler willing to turn a blind eye to some of the common areas.
Our room was fanatastic - almost a mini-suite. Good shower and comfortable beds. The room was laid out so as to offer a separate living area. In good condition, although the furnishings are quite dated and in need of replacement, overall the room was fine. Oddly they seem to have spent money recently on updating their in-room TVs; our room had TWO (!) massive 40" flat screeens! A better investment would surely have been replacing the hall carpet and a paint job.
Heating, while effective, is one of those old fashioned in-window reverse A/C units which makes a lot of noise and is difficult to regulate.
Front desk staff were always helpful and polite while housekeeping were attentive and considerate of our schedule.
What is inescapable and absolutely inexcusable however is the dreadful smell of dampness which permeates throughout the first floor corridor.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side will suffer from nightclub noise on Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays partic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    256
    222
    92
    83
See reviews for
181
248
123
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lloydminster
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We got a really good deal on this hotel through Hotwire so it was ok for the money spent, but in general I wouldn't recommend this hotel for other than budget seekers. It was in a rather seedy location, the room was tiny, parking is lousy...basically no frills. Our floor squeaked badly and we could hear everything happening in the room above us. There are some OK restaurants in the area, and some coffee shops, right along with the questionable pubs and homeless people. There is an Enterprise car rental place across the street.

Our kids spent $10 more per night and got a WAY nicer hotel in a MUCH better area by Stanley Park.

Room Tip: Get the top floor away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

From the airport you can take the Canada Line train and then walk 10 minutes to the hotel... total trip to/from airport is a little over 30 mins. Great location with lots of restaurants around, a 7-11 convenience store across the street and Shoppers Drug Mart a block away. Good hotel, and I had a comfortable sleep. Beware there is a nightclub next door and this is a nightlife area, so Fridays and Saturdays WILL have noise from the street.

Nice room and bed, spacious bathroom, and free wi-fi.

Some people seem to think this area of downtown Vancouver is seedy. In reality it's not dangerous at all. The major streets looked very safe to me, and I even saw clean-cut kids (16 or 17 year olds) wandering around the shops on a Saturday night.

I would stay again, except perhaps on Friday/Saturday if I particularly wanted quiet.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise, ask for a room on a higher floor facing away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

As a single, young traveller, this hotel was perfect for me. For approx $55 a night, I got a comfortable bed, a hot shower and a room to store my things while I was out and about seeing the city. The hotel is a little dated, the 4th floor smelt like moth balls and the TV in the room was of pretty poor quality - a lot of digital "noise" coming through. It seemed that they hooked up an HDTV directly to a cable port without a digi box, but it was watchable.

The nightclub next door created a lot of bass/booming noise in my room at night, I did have to sleep with ear plugs in both nights, but with those in I did have a comfortable sleep. The location is fantastic, Granville is a busy street with a lot of restuarant options in walking distance and public transit right outside the door. Walk across Granville bridge to get some close and specacular views of the harbour and neighbouring mountains.

For the value and great location, I would stay again, but this is definitely not a hotel for someone looking for the quality of a Westin or Hilton.

Room Tip: Ask to be roomed as far from the east side of the hotel as possible, as this wall is shared with a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsons, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The staff was exceptional at this hotel. Every single person was helpful and genuinely friendly. This is an older property but our bed was new and comfy, our bathroom new and spacious. Our room was on the small side but fine for our needs. You're right in the heart of Granville Street so it can be noisy however the bar downstairs is cool. On Sundays there's open mike and we lucked into hearing a great session guitarist—cost nothing. Fun bartender and the food is good. Included with our room was a full American breakfast with decent decaf (the waitress made a pot just for me). We'll stay there again for sure. A good value if you want to be in the middle of it all.

Room Tip: Single bed rooms are quite small. Rooms with two beds about average. Interior rooms are quieter but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajiv S, Front Office Manager at Ramada Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear happy traveler,
I am delighted to hear about your recent stay with us. With all the excitement going on, on Granville Street, we strive to make sure we make the best of every little thing we can. Our fundamentals are simple and honest; we are here to provide the very best customer service we can provide every single person who walks into our establishment regardless of who they are, where they are from, why they are here, even if they are not staying with us.
It brings joy to see you the mutual appreciation of all our hard work.
We do wish to see you again in the near future.
Best regards,
Rajiv Jackson Singh
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Horrid hotel, cheap nasty dirty rooms, cheap decor, dated, no room service, AC unit was not powerful enough, car park charges were extortionate, only good thing was its location.

Staff were friendly but I felt sorry for anyone who has to work in this place.

The breakfast is a horrid pub next door, food selection was rubbish!

AVOID, AVOID, AVOID

Room Tip: Please DO NOT stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajiv S, Front Office Manager at Ramada Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear unfulfilled guest,
Let me start off by apologizing for what sounds like a shockingly uncharacteristic stay with us back in July 2012. I am genuine when I say every review is taken seriously by everyone at our establishment, including the front desk team and the management.
The front desk staff has been trained to make sure they do everything necessary to make your stay a pleasant one. Were your concerns expressed to anyone on the team? Everyone on the team is empowered to whatever necessary to assist you in making the best of you stay. I wish you were to contact me directly while on site, or even in the months since your original stay. I still ask you do contact me at Rajiv@RamadaVancouver.com to further discuss your stay with us.
Parking at the hotel is $15 plus taxes per night. In regards to your assertion of our parking fee, please bear in mind our parking fee is at cost for the hotel. We do not profit from parking. It is provided as a service for guests. Vancouver has fairly expensive and very limited parking in downtown. We also have the highest parking tax in all of North America, 35.52% taxes just on parking.
I hope to hear from you soon,
Rajiv Jackson Singh
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We arrived for a one night stay after a long delayed flight from Sydney so we were looking forward to a good nights sleep. We were on the 6th floor and had no problem from the bar next door but the penthouse above where some pretty questionable noises were coming out of.... the room was small but convenient for what we needed and where we were located. We checked out the next morning.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajiv S, Front Office Manager at Ramada Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Let me firstly start by thanking you for taking the time to complete this review.
I do send my apologies our other guests made the outcome of your stay inadequate.
If the front desk was informed, I am sure they would have settled your issues right away.
On your next visit to Vancouver, please contact us and let us make up for your last stay.
Rajiv Jackson Singh
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Vancouver Downtown

Address: 1221 Granville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Vancouver Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quests spoke and we listened. Ramada Inn & Suites is proud to offer rooms with updated decor, bathrooms and bedding. Our new Wifi network will greatly expand our coverage and more upscale additions in the coming months. Enjoy comfort, quality and convenience. Close to shopping, restaurants, attractions and nightlife. Entertainment District location close to city transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn And Suites - Downtown Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Ramada Inn Vancouver
Ramada Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Vancouver Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.