We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Updated older hotel but watch the Clubs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Vancouver Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Vancouver Downtown to your Saves list
Ramada Vancouver Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1221 Granville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1M6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #74 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
British Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Updated older hotel but watch the Clubs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed for a one night in a double bed room after reading the single bed rooms are pretty tight. Our room was nicely updated and the size was acceptable. The room was on the 5th floor and faced Granville Street.

The room was nicely updated and in very clean condition. The hotel itself is old and the renovations help it out. The fact remains it is still an older hotel and the halls and rooms will be tight.

As we were going to a BC Lions game at BC place, the location worked very well. Walking distance to BC Place and Robson St (also on a main bus route) and just blocks away from Yale Town where there is some good restaurants to go to in moderate price ranges.

Just a heads up if in room facing Granville, between 1 am and 3 am the Night Clubs let out so expect some hooting and hollering below. As we stayed on a Saturday night things were ramped up a bit.

As for the location, this part of Granville is making steps in the right directions but there is still a bit of “edge” to it with panhandlers and adult stores in area. Ok for couples but if you have kids, try a hotel more in the city centre.

We found the hotel staff to be quite friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    280
    241
    110
    104
See reviews for
196
275
140
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights last week. Room was quite small, but for the price I paid I'm definitely not complaining. Staff were friendly.

The only downside was on the Thursday night there was loud music all night long and I wasn't able to sleep until after it died down at 2:00 a.m. Not the best when you're traveling on business and have important meetings at 7:30 a.m. I probably won't stay again just based on the noise but for those looking to save some money this is a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pemberton, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

I booked this last minute, and confirmed online for a queen bed. When I arrived they gave me two double beds, as they said they didn't have any queens. I showed my reservation and asked why they would let me book a queen if they didn't have it... They just said too bad. Not even an apology.
The hotel is older and you can see it in the hallways. A few things need cleaning, updating, and there are a few weird smells. Once you're in the room though it's fine. The rooms are tight quarters, but as you would expect in a hotel right downtown on Granville. This is a great location for nightlife and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, Aquitaine, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

After a tiring trip from seattle with 2 kids ,Our visit to vancouver was made excellent through the super duper friendly front office supervisor Michaela! Seeing us with kids, she gave u free upgrade and even receive coupons for the vancouver aquarium! the hotel is well stuated, walking distance to Pacific centre, a shopping mall and accessible to everywhere with the bus station just in front....thank u ramada!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Easy check-in process, no hassle and even received a free upgrade. Room was rather spacious, and met our needs. Not to mention, one staff member is extremely easy on the eyes, you'll know when you see her.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pullman, wa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

As two college kids traveling on a budget we have to say, the best experience possible! The rooms are not huge, but we weren't there to stay in the room. The beds are comfortable, the TV is new and nice, and the furniture is plentiful...new decor, down comforters and plenty of pillows and towels.

The location is the best, right in the entertainment district, on Sunday streets were closed down once the clubs opened. Really cute English pub right next door if you're not into the club scene, fallafel and coffee on the same block too.

We booked through Priceline and got an amazing deal, and they were going to charge us $15 extra for a double instead of a queen, but the Romanian gal at the front desk (Roxanna?) was very amicable and gave us the upgrade for free! The older gentleman at the desk was very kind to give us tips for getting around town and seeing the sights. Parking is $20, but the lot seemed safe and staffed by a guy at night. You can also get day parking for $10 in public lots.

The location, price, comfort, and level of nice service made this stay awesome.

Room Tip: Try the fallafel place two blocks down from the hotel, better than the one one block down. And nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I went with my wife and a couple of friends from Brazil and chose Ramada Inn at Grandville St. Tough its location is in very south downtown, Vancouver's public transportation is great and there is a bus stop in front of the hotel that can take you anywhere in the city for 2,50 canadian dolars. Besides its 5 blocks from the subway, very easy to get there.
The great surprise was the front desk staff. We took the 11PM flight off Vancouver and checked out the hotel at noon. Naturally, we wouldn't be able to have a late checkout so late, but Mr. Gill and the girls from the front desk made every possible effort to help us after our day walk at the city, keeping our suitcases, offering fresh towels and responding with a nice smile everytime we had a demand.
I trully advise to stay at this place. The rooms are pretty standard, but the service is excelent.

Room Tip: I would choose a room with windows to the rear of the hotel, because the front is a little bit loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Vancouver Downtown

Address: 1221 Granville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Vancouver Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quests spoke and we listened. The Ramada Vancouver Downtown, formally the Ramada Inn & Suites, is proud to offer rooms with updated decor, bathrooms and bedding. Our new WiFi network has been greatly expand for more coverage and higher speeds. Enjoy comfort, quality and convenience. Close to shopping, restaurants, attractions and nightlife. Located in the heart of Vancouver's famous Granville Entertainment District and close to city transportation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Ramada Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn And Suites - Downtown Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Ramada Inn Vancouver
Ramada Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Vancouver Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.