We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, basic no frills hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Vancouver Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Vancouver Downtown to your Saves list
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   921 W. Pender Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 1M2, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
SOUTH COAST
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Location, basic no frills hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

Stayed here for one nite prior to boarding cruise. Nice girls in reception but I think the porter was having a bad day, quiet rude, both to reception and clients. Next day different guy and much improved attitude. The room we got was quite big however it only had a double bed, which is too small for my husband and I. The lobby was small and on the morning of departure there were quite a few people and lots of bags all waiting for the courtesy bus to the cruise terminal. There is a small restaurant down stairs, food was ok and owners very nice. A positive is that it is very central location to shopping district. If you are on a tighter budget this hotel would be ok.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnDwntwn, General Manager at Days Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, June 25, 2010
June 10th 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your stay recent stays with us, and we are very disappointed that the service provided by the porter was rude, and as we take these complaints very seriously. As we have had a few complaints about the porter that I assume you are referring to, we have since let him go.

Rest assured your concerns have been addressed and it is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the less than satisfactory stay with us.

Thank you for taking the time to write the review about our hotel, and we do hope serve you again in the near future.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    247
    148
    54
    24
See reviews for
95
163
70
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

We found the hotel on-line and read all the reviews. I paid $144 total. It is several blocks from the end of the Sky Train, but we managed to schlup our luggage that far. Check in and out was perfect. Nice hotel, very clean, new feel. No view - didn't care. Our two bed room was actually two connected double rooms - nice. Great location near Sky Train and not far from the ferry terminal, art museum, etc. Provided a free shuttle to the cruise terminal. Nice deal.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnDwntwn, General Manager at Days Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, May 25, 2010
May 24th 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us, and we are very happy that after reading the review that you decided to stay with us. We really appreciate you found our hotel to be very clean and in a very good location, and I am very glad that you used our shuttle to go to the Cruise Ship Terminal.

Thank you for taking the time to write the review about our hotel, and we do hope serve you again in the near future.

Thank you,

Ish Awan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

The room was ok, staff was ok, the elevator was terrible, you need to use your room key and it never works, so you constantly have to get the staff to get it to work.
BUT the worst was the after taxes they don't tell you about, the room was $139/night and the taxes were over $80/night, 21% parking tax?? After paying $22/night for parking?? 10% room tax?? after paying gst?? We will never stay there again. Definitely not worth the money. Would have been better to go to a luxury hotel where the taxes are part of the nightly rate.
They have wifi, but so slow, took forever to even check email.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnDwntwn, General Manager at Days Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, May 9, 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent stay with us, and bringing your concerns regarding the elevator key card not working, as you had problem using it.

I am very sorry when the reservation was made the agent did not mention the 16.5% taxes on the room rate. All hotels in Vancouver have to charge these taxes, and there is no way around not paying the taxes. I am very sorry that you feel the taxes are too high, and though we do agree with you we are bound by law to collect these taxes.

Once again, my sincere apologizes on the misunderstanding on the hotel room taxes. It is our attention that you will give us another opportunity to serve again in the near future.


Thank you,

Ish Awan

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

We arrived early in the day and the hotel staff were quite helpful in holding our bags for us until our room became ready later in the day, which allowed us to explore the city without worrying about our things.
The room was perfect, with two seperate sleeping areas and a shared bathroom. My only complaint was that it was a little cold! It was clean and comfortable though which was all we wanted though, as most of the time we were out sightseeing.
There was plently of food and shopping options within walking distance (a few blocks away maybe) and a bar next door. It had a cover charge during the day for a sport match and that night was the same for the music. We did go here as it was a Saturday night but left after one drink as the music was, in my opinion, awful!!
Great hotel overall, I'd go back!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnDwntwn, General Manager at Days Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, May 6, 2010
Dear Guest from Ireland,

Thank you very much for taking time out to commend our staff and hotel room! Additionally I would like to sincerely thank you for choosing our hotel to stay in while in Vancouver! We hope that you had a wonderful experience in the city and will come back again for a visit!

Warm regards,
Ish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

I have stayed at many up scale hotels in vancouver, but had a tighter budget this trip. I was very surprised at how inexpensive this hotel was. It has an awesome location, close to almost everything the downtown core has to offer. And for the price it was surprisingly nice. With tax we paid $105 canadian. We have 2 small kids and the stardard room had the beds in 2 seperate living areas with a wall between, which was really great, as normally we have to pay for a suite to get this. There is no view and the hallway smells a bit, but otherwise it was clean and seems recently renovated. The beds were quite comfortable. If you want to stay in downtown vancouver and don't want to fork out hundreds of dollars, definetly stay here. I will be back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conciergeVancouver, Manager at Days Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, April 11, 2010
Thank you very much for your time in creating a review for our hotel! It is much appreciated. We are glad that your family enjoyed your stay while staying in the city. We try our our best to make sure all our guests are satisfied and we are so glad that you will be back. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

Wow... we were pleasantly surprised. The staff was extremely helpful & accomadting . The restaraunt was good & beds were second to none. Rooms were small but well appointed. Cozy and comfortable . The shower was wonderful. Best of all, location, location, location !!!
You can walk everywhere from here & if you don't want to, take the complementary shuttle. No need to worry they have it covered here. If you like history this is the place. I would stay here again any day :}

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnDwntwn, Ish Awan, General Manager at Days Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, April 12, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Days Inn Vancouver Downtown! We are extremely happy that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks again and we hope to serve you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

I have a hard time sleeping in hotels and motels and i was very pleasantly surprised about this hotel. After reading some of the negative reviews I was a little hesitant to stay there for 3 nights (the length of my trip). When we got there it was at 1am, the front desk was a little rude. After we checked in, we went to the elevator (very small) got off the 7th floor which reeked. The bed was comfortable, the room was very clean and the smell eventually went away. The only thing is be careful when you turn on the hot water! It get really hot. It's very centrally located where everything is just a short walk away. You can take the Canada line from the airport to Waterfront, get out and walk like 3 blocks and you're at the hotel. Very easy to find. I really did enjoy this hotel and hope you will share the same positive experience as i had.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnDwntwn, Ish Awan, General Manager at Days Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, April 12, 2010
Dear Miche03,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are very pleased that you found our hotel to be quite pleasant.

I must apologize for the reception that you received when you checked in; it is our intention to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations.

The reviews are very helpful tools for us to improve our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comment and issues will be addressed.

Thank you again for your kind words about our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Vancouver Downtown

Address: 921 W. Pender Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 1M2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Vancouver Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable comfort steps away from Vancouver's stunning Waterfront, the Olympic Torch, Vancouver Convention Centre, Cruise Ship Terminal, American Consulate, Gastown, Railtown, Chinatown, shopping and restaurants. Canada Line (train that connects the airport to downtown)is 3 blocks away. Stanley Park, one of the top urban parks in the world is not far. Free WiFi in all the property and a spacious Business Center on the second floor. Non Smoking Hotel. Keurig coffee/tea in rooms as well as umbrellas, irons and ironing boards. The Chelsea Restaurant opens for breakfast from 7:00 am to 10:30 am and The Butcher & Bullock Pub, from the Donnelly Group, opens from 11 am to 2 am. Come enjoy warm hospitality in a clean, cozy room and explore everything our spectacular City has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Days Inn Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookIt.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Days Inn Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown Hotel Vancouver
Vancouver Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Vancouver Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.