We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B in a Wonderful Neighborhood=Super Value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Windsor Guest House to your Saves list
Windsor Guest House
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   325 West 11th Avenue, Vancouver, British Columbia V5Y 1T3, Canada (Mt. Pleasant)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 63 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Shelby, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great B&B in a Wonderful Neighborhood=Super Value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

Our group (10) recently spent two nights at the Windsor House prior to an Alaska cruise. Our stay was excellent, in every respect! We booked five rooms on all three floors. All of us were more than satisfied with our accommodations. Windsor House, in a very quiet neighborhood, has a warm and cozy “feel”. A few more details:

Location: The B&B is in the Cambia neighborhood, overlooking Vancouver. Several good restaurants (and one great one -Les Faux Bourgeois) are easy walking distance. Central Vancouver is a short taxi ride.(taxis are readily available).

Breakfast: Delicious made to order eggs and pancakes to die for, plus cereal, and so on. We all looked forward to breakfast there.

Our Innkeeper: Leslie was so gracious and helpful, from the reservation process to taking photos of our group when we departed. Her tips on restaurants, transportation, and sights were invaluable. We all enjoyed and appreciated her Vancouver insights. Thank you again, Leslie!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    29
    10
    8
    2
See reviews for
17
31
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
135 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

Saw this one from tripadvisor and booked it.
The place is nice and close to downtown (u can either walk to it or take the subway)
A pretty good deal considering the cost in vancouver

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

I stayed two nights with Windsor Guest House in the Edward Room (shared bath). The room was clean and comfortable, though it did mildly smell of paint (the room was recently painted, and the adjacent room was being painted during my stay).

The B&B is located a short 5 minute walk from Broadway-City Hall station and is very convenient. The Edward Room was very quiet and faced a street with hardly any traffic. Although the room was shared bathroom, the room that the bath was shared with was vacant, so I had it all to myself. The bathroom was clean, though the faucet was a little leaky.

Breakfast consisted of one stove item (eggs, pancakes, or french toast). The blueberry pancakes were very fluffy and delicious. There were other items available too (fruit, cereal, toast, baked goods), and breakfast always filled me up completely.

The host, Leslie, was very friendly and accommodating. Despite the minor flaws (slight paint smell due to recent paint job), this place offers superb value-for-money and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bachelorbroad, Manager at Windsor Guest House, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
Many thanks for this input on our lodging. We are very sorry that our ongoing painting inconvenienced this guest.
These heritage buildings need constant maintenance in order to give our guests a fresh clean appearance,
But I will do my best to make sure we do not rent any rooms that have been refurbished, until they pass the "sniff test"and are declared fume free.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

My daughter and I stayed here while a family member was in hospital. When we arrived late one night Leslie took one look at us and showed us our room and made a welcome tea. We stayed 2 nights and the nice, quiet, clean room with excellent breakfast was just what we needed. Nicely decorated without the insulin-enducing decor that has ruined so many B&Bs. Fellow guests included a kiwi snowboarder, a mother and sun from south africa a couple from England. Nice mix of people and gentle and kind host.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

We stayed here for a weekend after (US) Thanksgiving. It's about C$15 taxi from the train station, and the skytrain (subway, really) is only 3 blocks away. Everything went smoothly, had no problems with cleanliness at all (which is unusual for a shared bathroom), breakfast was excellent with the eggs/french toast/pancakes offer others mentioned, though if you have to leave way early like we did there is some fruit/juice/coffee/muffins out. Was able to pay by credit card. The room was small, but it was also one of the cheapest (Diana), and at C$55 +tax, one of the most affordable in the city, even given the extra time spent going into the city centre.

This is NOT a backpacker hostel. This is NOT a place to come to if you like anonymous rooms and impersonal treatment. This IS in a nice quiet neighbourhood, and is warm, welcoming, and engaging. It's not often you discuss politics over breakfast, and they're more than willing to give advice about how to get around.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Windsor Guest House for 5 nights. We selected the Library Room and it was perfect for us. Located on the first floor, it has a comfortable queen sized bed and a private, but detached bathroom, that is large and very clean.

The breakfast offering was "all you can eat and more" with varied and delicious options. Basics: Cereal, Milk, Juice, Fresh fruit, muffins, croissants or toast and GOOD Fresh Hot Coffee! Hot meal selections: by request of Omelette [optional fillings], Pancakes [with or without blueberries], French Toast or eggs your favorite way. I loved the Blueberry Pancakes and Omelettes; but the French Toast was the best.

The Windsor has 3 floors with many rooms and we saw numerous people come and go while we were there. Everyone was cheerful and fun to meet. And even thought there were young and old guests, it was always quiet at night.
There is internet in the living room and a big front porch with couch and chairs where we had happy hour most evenings.
.
The house is in an old, established neighborhood of large houses with lovely big trees and well kept yards and gardens.
Vancouver has marvelous public transportation and The Windsor is ideally located to take advantage of it.
Although we drove from Texas and had a car, we preferred to park our car at the Windsor and walk down the hill to hop on a bus or the sky train and go anywhere we wanted in Vancouver.
Two blocks down the hill is Broadway with many eating options. We liked the Three Kings Pub & Cafe. It has gourmet "Pub-grub" from Fresh Halibut Fish and Chips to Top Grade Steak with grilled Asparagus and of course, amazing brews on tap.
Leslie who is in residence at the Windsor, is a fountain of knowledge about Canada and Vancouver.
We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 8 days in mid Sept. It was close to all the bus lines, sky train and express shuttle. Very convenient. Great neighborhood for walking. A lot of old late 1800's and early 1900 homes. Variety of good restaurants, laundry mat, whole foods market etc. within close walking distance. The B & B host was knowledgable and welcoming. Nice size room. Great front porch. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windsor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Guest House

Address: 325 West 11th Avenue, Vancouver, British Columbia V5Y 1T3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Mt. Pleasant
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Windsor Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Windsor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Guest House Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.