We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but quite dated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1110 Howe Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z1R2, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #59 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Yorkshire, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cheap but quite dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

OK for a cheap overnight & pretty central, but is now looking dated & things like the in room films quite expensive.
Was allowed to check in early, but the room pretty stuffy & small so was glad it was only for one night.
Clean, but the decor, carpets, bath rooms etcs seem a little shabby but probably ok for the £60 I got it through hot wire.
Next time though will probably shell out more & get some where better.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    245
    146
    49
    31
See reviews for
111
163
58
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bel Air, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

This is one of the better Holiday Inn's I've stayed in. The hotel is modern and clean. The staff is courteous. The pool and exercise room are above average, the sauna is a neat amenity. The hotel's restaurant and room service is decent. Location is great, its only a few blocks from the SkyTrain which if you are traveling in by the airport you may want to just try the Vancouver mass transit, its very efficient. It made getting to and from the airport very easy. I also rented a car and found that the commutes were longer and the hotel does charge for parking. One negative aspect was the wireless internet was a little spotty at times.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, GA- outside of Atlanta
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

i did not comment above on value, nor service because we never used housekeeping. and we cashed in priority club points, so I don't know about the value.

however we were pleased because they upgraded us to the executive suite. and platinum status also saved us some money at the restaurant downstairs, and offered us free parking!

The room was spacious and offered amenities. I'm not sure- maybe we were supposed to ask for the key to the minibar?? we didn't get one. I busted the tab to open it, but then a key was needed. we really didn't want to go through the trouble of asking for one downstairs, as we just were contemplating having a snack.

they offered many choices of pillow, but we didn't try many out. unfortunately my husband took off the signs that told us which were firm/soft.... so it was "anyone's guess". the bed was decently comfortable, but we probably should have worked on the pillows. not the best sleep ever.
(some mornings we woke up achy).

i think this would have been a great hotel, if we had utilized some of the services offered. but we were happy with it. the location was perfect.
and we would definitely come back!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

I agree with the previous comments in the reviews about wearing ear plugs. At 8:00 a.m. we could hear the entire conversation that our neighbour was having over the phone. At night, this same neighbour was singing by himself, which was crystal clear in our room. We haven't experienced such thin walls from a hotel in the $120/ night price category and would expect this from a cheesy motel for $50.

Our major complaint was when a family jumped in the pool wearing shorts, t-shirts, underwear, along with a baby in a diaper. My husband and I were looking forward to an evening swim when this sight appeared before our eyes we changed our mind. When speaking to the hotel staff about this situation it was stated that, "who are we to say that they can't wear their clothes in the pool?" and I was questioned as to whether or not I really saw a diaper and not a pull up. Needless to say, I felt that my issue was unheard and she also said that, "they do not supervise the pool area and someone would go down to take a look at the diaper issue". Well, if you don't supervise the pool area, who does?

Over and over it was stated in the hotel guide and all over holiday inn material that if for some reason you were not satisfied with your stay they would make it better. I was sorry I complained because this hotel employee treated me rudely and did not see this problem as an issue.

I'm sorry, but I am not swimming with others who are in their sweaty clothes, most likely stained old underwear, and a diaper with who knows what in it. If you are going to stay here, as stated, this hotel does not supervise the pool area so feel free to do what you want in this area. Hop in fully clothed, bring your glass bottles down, and hey don't bother getting out of the pool to go the bathroom.

My advice - For $120 a night try a different hotel.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for a month while working on the Olympics. It never felt like home, but nor was I desperate to get out of the place.

The good: the food in the restaurant is OK, not huge portions but OK. There's a small giftshop and a friendly bar. The hotel's location is good, just out of the main drag and up a couple of blocks from the bustling Yaletown. The bed was comfy.

The average: no minibar in many rooms, ageing decor, strange layout. Friends reported that the "suites" were "studios", with the advantage of a kitchenette but a bed that folded out from the wall and took all the remaining space.

The bad: the hotel doesn't cope with too many guests - often barely any hot water at night, restaurant struggled when only 4 tables were full, free wifi is slow when there are too many users and there's no faster, more reliable, paid option in the room. Indeed the wi-fi failed a number of times in one week during my stay but all the desk staff want to do is put you through to off-site tech support (thanks, but it's not my problem, it's yours!). Had to get the manager to sort it out instead. Don't even think of using Skype either. On check-in my phone didn't work, a lightglobe had blown and I had a faulty desk chair - all of which were rectified that day.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

As I was traveling solo - for a change - I decided to take a chance on a 3 star rated hotel, as it offered a location that suited my needs. I had a 2 night stay (Monday & Tuesday).

This is not a newer hotel, but it has been fairly well maintained. The lobby is nice and has a restaurant/bar attached. Only 7 floors.

Pros: Downtown - close to everything
Excellent service from staff (really!)
Good food
Clean
Great bed
Less expensive rates
Lots of hot water
Nice swimming pool (but small)
Decent workout equipment and sauna
Covered smokers patio area (2nd floor)

Cons: Below average soundproofing (traffic noise)
Small rooms
Really small bathroom
Dated furnishings (chairs, lamps, etc.)
Poor TV signal/old TV
No hot tub
Small, slow elevators
Poor business center

In truth, I had a nice stay. Had my wife been with me, she'd have been upset at the bathroom size and audible street noise. Earplugs are recommended.

The room, while small, was neat, clean and well- attended. The area, while conveniently located, is a little run-down. I went out evenings - walking - without any problem whatsoever.

As I have enrolled in several hotel chain "club" plans, including the Holiday Inn's, I was able to take advantage of a free available room upgrade. Since these plans are - usually - free, it makes good sense, especially in combination with discounted online rates.

Based on the service, price and bed, I would recommend this hotel for budget travellers with some tolerance for minor imperfections.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pugwash, Canada
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2009

People who really make you feel at home. Most hotels try, but this one actually does. From the front desk (Maggie, Wei, Diana and more) to the restaurant (Jesse, Roy, Candy and more) it feels like a second home. The hotel is in a great location for all downtown activities. Forget the car and walk to your destination. Reasonably priced and deliver each and every time..

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown

Address: 1110 Howe Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z1R2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#51 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown Perfectly situated in the heart of downtown, our 100% smoke free Vancouver hotel is near Yaletown businesses & restaurants, Robson St. shopping and Granville St.entertainment. Corporate guests love our Vancouver hotel s convenient access to nearby businesses and convention centres, as well as our business amenities. Guests can work in the business centre, take advantage of the free high-speed Internet access and book a meeting room that can accommodate up to 250 people. Leisure guests are right in the middle of all the hot spots in downtown Vancouver. Our hotel's location offers the opportunity for strolling along Yaletown s Waterfront Seawall or taking a ferry across False Creek to Granville Island. You can catch a concert at BC Place or a Canucks game at GM Place. Broadway shows at the Elizabeth Theatre are terrific for a night out and the Centre for Performing Arts is a great choice, too. From wining and dining at UnWine d Dining Lounge to shopping at downtown boutiques, our Vancouver hotel is close to it all. You won t find the comfort and convenience of our accommodations at other Vancouver hotels. From a 24-hour fitness centre and indoor, heated pool to delicious dining options and comfortable amenities, we have it all. At the Holiday Inn Hotel Vancouver Downtown, our friendly, multi-lingual staff, known for outstanding hospitality, looks forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Vancouver Downtown
Holiday Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.