We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean... and super helpful staff...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1110 Howe Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z1R2, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flexibility & Breakfast!
Ranked #57 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
526 reviews 526 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
“Great location, clean... and super helpful staff...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

This is a great/handy location... walkable to downtown restaurants and bars and plenty of places to get a good massage locally if you need one (there is a place right across the street that we used that was particularly good (West Coast Forest Spa).

The staff were supremely helpful... the bed was comfy and (for a city) the rooms were not too noisy.

Overall, very happy and would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hello floridabrits,

I enjoyed reading about your great experience with us! It sounds like between our team, and our location you were able to enjoy Vancouver the way it is meant to feel!
I hope we can welcome you back when you come return up North to us next time.

Be well,

Kris Szylowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    224
    136
    47
    28
See reviews for
103
149
54
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
B.C.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for the second time last weekend and again found it to be a very comfortable, clean, and economical hotel that doesn't feel like a budget or no frills place. Our room was cozy and clean, with great beds. We were on the fourth floor, directly across from the elevator (which I DON'T recommend!) so it got a bit loud later in the evening, but nothing too serious. Just avoid if you want a quieter room.
The location is great, just a few blocks from the Art Gallery, Robson St. And all the great shops, restaurants and theatres that Vancouver has to offer. We were in town for a show and were walking distance from the Theatre.
My only disappointment with the hotel was the pool. I booked with them specifically because they had a pool and my 9 year old granddaughter loves to swim. When we checked in we were told the pool was closed for maintenance. They did have another pool available to us, but it was a fifteen minute walk away on a very cold day, so we didn't bother. I appreciate that they did the best they could, and pools need maintenance, but it was a disappointment. On our previous visit a few years ago, we had lots of fun swimming in the pool, so I know it's a good one. Small, but good. All in all, I would recommend this hotel as a good option for families, singles, couples, or anyone who wants an economical place to enjoy Vancouver.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hello dsnewtime,

Thank you for sharing your great story with us! I am glad to hear that our location was able to touch on all the venues you wanted to visit!

If you would be so kind as to apologize to your daughter on behalf of myself and the whole Holiday Inn Family. I know first hand the value of a pool for children to play in and I am sorry that the pool was not available. Rest assured, annual maintenance is done for the foreseeable future, so I hope we can make it up to her next time!

Thank you again,

Kris Szylowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I stayed at this hotel a couple years ago and wanted to stay here again because it's a great location and to our surprise they have made some great changes to the hotel since then. All very modern looking now with the same great comforts you expect. I love the bed and pillows, so comfy. The front desk staff were very helpful and had some great recommendations for dinner, try out the fish shack if you can (yum), and the concierge was so helpful with finding some things to see while we were there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanner T, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Good day S K,

Welcome back and thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts from your recent visit. It is great to know that the renovations made an impression and that you enjoyed yourself. I will be pleased to pass along to the staff your kind words about their service.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Vancouver

Best regards,

Tanner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I booked a night at this hotel through Hotwire.com and stayed a night. It was okay. A month later I got a charge of $241.14 on my Visa from the hotel. I told them I paid for the room. The accountant said they charged for room damage. I left the hotel in good condition and no damage was done. I was never notified of any problem. Someone just decided to charge my card without authorization. Severely, unethical business practices. Better Business Bureau contacted and other avenues being considered.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanner T, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Good day,

At your convenience please contact our General Manager, Kris Szylowski at kris@hivancouverdowntown.com. He has tried contacting you to discuss the nature of the charges. When you inquired on Friday regarding the charges we advised we would look into the specifics of them and get back to you. Kris will be happy to discuss this matter with you.

Sincerely,

Tanner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights at this Hotel in Downtown Vancouver, really good base for walking around downtown. Both Canada Place and Granville Island is only a gentle 20 minute walk away.
Breakfast was excellent and the staff could not be faulted. We only had one evening meal and this also was excellent and good value. Swimming Pool needed to be warmer.
Only one bad comment was the noise outside of the room, guest coming and going did not have any respect for sleeping guests at all as two nights we were woken up at 3.00 am with people talking and slamming bedroom doors, the Hotel should have a policy like Premier Inns.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn on Howe for one night on Christmas Day between excursions out of the city. The hotel was kind quiet and we picked up a very good deal on lastminute.com via their "Secret hotels" where you book a hotel at a good discount without really knowing what property you're booking (although sometimes it's possible to find out...)

Because of the holiday the hotel was running a minimal service some there wasn't quite a full service being offered, however this didn't bother us as we just wanted a place to sleep.

We had a twin king bed room, which was spacious despite having two passive beds in the room. It had a long desk running the length of the twin king beds, 42" flatpanel TV (with sockets where you can plug in your own equipment, plenty of storage, luggage rack, and a mini lobby in front of the entrance to the ensuite bathroom where there was a coffee maker, and other facilities. The Wifi in the hotel worked well, and was quick, although we had to ask for the password - reception didn't offer it at checkin.

We didn't use any of the other hotel facilities, we could have used the pool, but the friends we were catching up with us had other plans for us, and we basically just used it as a place to dump our bags and sleep. However we had a very comfortable and peaceful nights sleep.

As a typical business class hotel there isn't much to say. It was modern and well maintained, and didn't disappoint.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimbey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

The hotel was nice and clean. We stayed in a king suite for 2 nights. Underground parking was fully secure and well lit. The pool was a little small but quite deep at 9 feet. No hot tub. We had the breakfast buffet at the lobby lounge and it was delicious and cheap ( $13 each). Walking distance to Grandville Island, Robson Street and most other downtown attractions. 3 blocks from the Sky-train.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown

Address: 1110 Howe Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z1R2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#46 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown Perfectly situated in the heart of downtown, our 100% smoke free Vancouver hotel is near Yaletown businesses & restaurants, Robson St. shopping and Granville St.entertainment. Corporate guests love our Vancouver hotel s convenient access to nearby businesses and convention centres, as well as our business amenities. Guests can work in the business centre, take advantage of the free high-speed Internet access and book a meeting room that can accommodate up to 250 people. Leisure guests are right in the middle of all the hot spots in downtown Vancouver. Our hotel's location offers the opportunity for strolling along Yaletown s Waterfront Seawall or taking a ferry across False Creek to Granville Island. You can catch a concert at BC Place or a Canucks game at GM Place. Broadway shows at the Elizabeth Theatre are terrific for a night out and the Centre for Performing Arts is a great choice, too. From wining and dining at UnWine d Dining Lounge to shopping at downtown boutiques, our Vancouver hotel is close to it all. You won t find the comfort and convenience of our accommodations at other Vancouver hotels. From a 24-hour fitness centre and indoor, heated pool to delicious dining options and comfortable amenities, we have it all. At the Holiday Inn Hotel Vancouver Downtown, our friendly, multi-lingual staff, known for outstanding hospitality, looks forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Vancouver Downtown
Holiday Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.