We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1110 Howe Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z1R2, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flexibility & Breakfast!
Ranked #57 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“OKAY”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

I stayed at this Hotel for two nights - 10th and 11th August 2011.

The hotel, although downtown is not in a very salubrious area and not centrally downtown. It was extremely expensive (peak period) and I would have rather put in the extra and stayed in a better hotel in a better area.

For almost $300 per night for one person, the room did not have a kettle (it has a small coffee machine) and no bar fridge.

The room was clean and spacious, but needs updating, especially the bathroom. However, it was perfectly acceptable with comfortable bed and reasonably quiet, although many reviewers found the hotel to be noisy.

Staff were good to not great.

Dinner menu very average and buffet breakfast also very average.

I would not stay there again as I felt it was not value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne1110, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Thank you for your comments. As your stay coincided with the largest citywide convention in Vancouver this year, room availability was in peak demand. I'm surprised your room did not have a kettle as all our rooms are stocked with one. Half our rooms are equipped with fridges (premium room types) and we also have fridges available for guests on a first come basis. I will make sure the hotel team reviews the remainer of your comments to ensure the highest level of quality is consistently met. Sincerely, Suzanne Allemeier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    225
    137
    47
    28
See reviews for
104
150
54
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galiano Island, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

I had a suite , which was lovely. It was spotlessly clean, comfortable and pleasantly decorated. Room service was prompt and courteous, and the food was excellent. Staff at check-in and check-out were efficient and cheerful. I would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne1110, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Thank you so much. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

I stayed at this hotel on business. The room was clean and well appointed. The rate was excellent value and the in-room dining was excellent. I would stay at this hotel again when I am back in Vancouver on business. All the associates I encountered were wonderful!

Room Tip: All I needed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne1110, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments with us. I am so pleased you enjoyed your time in the hotel. Sincerely, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We were extemely disappointed with this hotel, The rooms were old and outdated, the elevators were extemely small and on top of the $200 per night, we also had to pay $20 to park in their parking lot. We were travelling with 2 young kids and we were unable to use the pool because there was only about a 3 foot x3 foot area that was 3 feet deep and the rest of the pool dropped off to 9 feet deep, which is way to deep to be swimming with a 4 and 1 year old. There was no hot tub either at this hotel. The worst part of the stay was that since we were travelling with a 1 year old we needed a microwave in our room, All other hotels we have stayed at will bring a microwave to our room free of charge. This joke of a hotel wanted to charge us $20 to have microwave in our room for a night. I will never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne1110, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
I'm so sorry to hear about your experience. We are very focussed on family stays at Holiday Inn and offer Kids Eat Free and Stay Free, as well as free cribs. The shallow part of the pool is very small, so we offer life jackets for children at no charge as well as stock the pool with lots of flotation toys. Parking is $15.95 plus tax for overnight and unlimited in-and-out privileges. This is cheaper than paying a meter for parking in Vancouver. I have checked our records for charges and found that we have none listed at all for a microwave. I'd be happy to adjust the charge if you could copy me on your bill or provide details on your stay. Please contact me at suzanne@hivancouverdowntown.com. Thank you. Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We arrived at 2 pm and we not allowed to check in untill 4pm (there is no check in times posted on their website) We had to find something to do until that time, not to mention parking in Vancouver is hard, even more so since our car could not fit in their parking garage so we had to park in an open lot across the street. when we got to our room our air conditioner did not work and seeing it was summer and very warm outside and we were walking around for a few hours until we checked in, we could not cool down very well. It took them 2 hours to find us another room with a working air conditioner. The rooms were clean, and finally it was a relief to go to bed on the first night. The next day after a long day of touring the city - Tuesday mind you, We had dinner and headed to bed around 7pm and when we got to our room we could not go to bed. There was some sort of party in the bar below us till 2am in the morning. If it were the weekend I would not have been so bad as there would have been more for us to do in the evening, but a Tuesday and the next day we had to drop a friend off at the airport. They should have a least let us know ahead of time or not put us in that particular room. Most places have a say in what can go on in the building especially a hotel holding the majority of the space that is being used, as they would want their customers coming back. It was horrible for us and we were exhausted from our 3 day vacation not rested/relaxed. Be careful when booking this hotel for your stay and ask a lot of questions.

Room Tip: ask for a room higher than the 2nd floor and not on the far side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne1110, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
I'm very sorry to hear your stay was not as you had expected. For future reference, all of this hotel's information about check in and check out times and parking facilities are located at the Holiday Inn Website. We do have facilities for standard overheight vehicles, and I do apologize if they were full with other guests, as the hotel was sold out for the events occuring in the city. The nightclub next to the hotel was unusually busy during your stay due to the holiday long weekend, a large convention, Pride events, and the Fireworks Competition. If you would like to contact me personally, I'd be happy to address your concerns in a more direct manner. Our intention is to ensure all our customers receive excellent service and a great night's sleep. Sincerely, Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

This was booked through a travel agent as part of a tour of Canada/Rockies. After reading numerous and varied comments it would appear that there are different standards of rooms for different travellers. Ours was a dinghy 6th floor room with discoloured, threadbare/holey 'net' curtains. Furnishings were old and grubby. Overall and old and tired room. Expected to have a safe in the room as we were only there for 3 nights and did not want to carry all our valuables about therefore we enquired about a safety deposit box and were advised that none were available but we could store our stuff in the managers safe. We did this for one night but not exactly convenient. This hotel would not be my choice if I ever visit Vancouver again which is highly unlikely.

Room Tip: Dont book here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne1110, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Dear GlasgowBrowns,
I am very concerned regarding your experience at our hotel and would greatly appreciate it if you could contact me directly so that I can identify your rooms and stay dates to better address and correct your concerns.
Thank you,
Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager
Holiday Inn & Suites Vancouver Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

After a cruise in May, we wanted to stay in Vancouver for the weekend to explore the city for the first time. The room we had was large and very comfortable. The staff was very friendly, and holding our luggage on our last day was no problem (as well as very secure). The gentleman running the gift shop (which seriously contains any item a person could possibly want) was very friendly and helpful. The Holiday Inn on Howe proved to be a wonderful location for a exploring the city.

*The hop-on/hop-off trolley stops right in front of the hotel (recommended by the gentleman running the gift shop), which was a really fun way to see the sights. We ended up going around on both routes, and made a point to go through Stanely Park twice. The first day it was a bit rainy so we went back the second day and were able to hop off and enjoy the beauty of the parks
*The very convenient Bus #6 runs down Davie Street, which is full of restaurants and shops. We took it to visit the wonderful Rain City Grill (an exceptional dining experience).
*One of the best brunches I've ever had was found right behind the hotel at the Twisted Fork Bistro. Yes, the neighborhood gets a little, um, interesting as you go around the block behind the hotel, but we felt very safe. Expect a wait at the Twisted Fork - totally worth it.

If we visited Vancouver again, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne1110, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Thank you for writing such a helpful and detailed review of our location and amenities! You would make a wonderful concierge! Suzanne Allemeier, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown

Address: 1110 Howe Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z1R2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#46 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown Perfectly situated in the heart of downtown, our 100% smoke free Vancouver hotel is near Yaletown businesses & restaurants, Robson St. shopping and Granville St.entertainment. Corporate guests love our Vancouver hotel s convenient access to nearby businesses and convention centres, as well as our business amenities. Guests can work in the business centre, take advantage of the free high-speed Internet access and book a meeting room that can accommodate up to 250 people. Leisure guests are right in the middle of all the hot spots in downtown Vancouver. Our hotel's location offers the opportunity for strolling along Yaletown s Waterfront Seawall or taking a ferry across False Creek to Granville Island. You can catch a concert at BC Place or a Canucks game at GM Place. Broadway shows at the Elizabeth Theatre are terrific for a night out and the Centre for Performing Arts is a great choice, too. From wining and dining at UnWine d Dining Lounge to shopping at downtown boutiques, our Vancouver hotel is close to it all. You won t find the comfort and convenience of our accommodations at other Vancouver hotels. From a 24-hour fitness centre and indoor, heated pool to delicious dining options and comfortable amenities, we have it all. At the Holiday Inn Hotel Vancouver Downtown, our friendly, multi-lingual staff, known for outstanding hospitality, looks forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Vancouver Downtown
Holiday Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vancouver Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.