We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay if you must stay in the city” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Robson St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2A8, Canada (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members up to 10% off
Ranked #19 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Youngstown, OHIo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Okay if you must stay in the city”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2005

Stayed for one night, Aug. 21st. Found it to be average Hampton Inn. Elevators slow and inadequate. Room on the fourth floor was nothing special for approx. 175 american. Comfortable 10 minute walk to trendy wharehouse district for dinner, but quite a few homeless on the surrounding streets on the walk home after dark. It's location on the lower end of Robson is okay if attending events at the Center across the street, but not convenient to walk to other areas in town. The next day we crossed the Lion's Gate Bridge to visit Capilano Bridge & Grouse Mountain. Found charming neighborhood with wonderful chain hotels at greater value than in town. Would stay in this neighborhood when returning. Would not stay in town.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    378
    63
    7
    3
See reviews for
284
337
42
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2005

One bedroom suite very comfortable. Upper floor had little traffic noise. Location quite good – easy walk to Canada Place, and Yaletown with all its restaurants very close. Hotel service good – everyone willing and helpful. Breakfast a bit of a melee at times, but good quality – and free. Recommendations from hotel staff on local restaurants never included the in-house restaurant. Gave lots of other good recommendations though. Best was Moxies, (less than three minutes walk at diagonal opposite corner of the same block), which had great food, service and was good value.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2005

noisy room. bad view. stale air. service was ok at best. the cleaning lady kindly reminded me at 10:50 am when i was walking out the door that i needed to check out at 11am.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, WA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2005

We have stayed in Vancouver many times and this hotel undoubtedly has the most helpful, knowledgeable and accomodating staff that we have ever encountered. They rank up there with a concierge at the best of hotels. Plus the free downtown shuttle service and the great location, not more than a 15 minute walk from most Vancouver attractions, makes this a very convenient place to stay.

We stayed in a very quiet and roomy suite which was well laid out and particularly pleasant for families traveling with kids, as there were two televisions and the living room was separated from the bedroom by french doors. The only drawbacks for us were that there is no pool (indoor or outdoor) and that there are not sufficient elevators to serve the entire building; only two elevators for a 16 story building. But its location at the end of Robson Street makes it a very quiet place to stay and a little oasis in the midst of an incredibly vibrant, bustling and busy downtown.

Breakfast is pretty good but a bit boring and the menu did not change for the five days we were there.

We would easily stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2005

My family and I just returned from a 5 night stay at this fine hotel. We found the front desk personnel to be very accomodating throughout our stay. In fact, at one point, one of them overheard us talking about forgetting a toothbrush and they immediately came to our rescue with a toothbrush in hand! Our room was very clean and the Maid service kept it that way. The complimentary breakfast buffet has a wide variety of bread, bagels, english muffins, cinnamon rolls, cereals, fruit, yogurt, eggs and sausage. The quality is good. Here's a tip: If you don't get to the buffet before the crowd, and you find yourself with no where to sit, just ask the hostess for a tray and take your food to your room. We did, and it worked great.

The Hampton Inn is conveniently located in the downtown area, near a variety of shops and restaurants. We found the BEST place to enjoy a great meal and superb service is downstairs at Zachary's. This also happens to be where room service is ordered. I highly recommend the Salmon & Halibut Linguini, it was soooooooo good! The 16th floor has a ping pong table, foosball, gym equipment, treadmills, bike, TV's, jacuzzi, sauna, locker room and showers. We enjoyed all these great amenities (daily) during our stay.

Here are a few places that make it to the Must See, Must Do category:
BC Feeries Cruise to Vancouver Island- Victoria and Buschard Gardens
Stanley Park- Vancouver Aquarium, hike, bike or walk the park's many trails or beaches
The Museum of Anthropology, overlooks the ocean and mountains with impressive selection of Aboriginal art and exhibits
Kayaking off of Vancouver Island's west coast

The only downside to our stay here was that there are a few unsavory individuals that roam the streets and parking lot directly across from the hotel. Keep in mind though, that this is an unfortunate fact in many areas.

The atttached photo captures the magnificent view from the spa area on the 16th floor- enjoy!!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver

Address: 111 Robson St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#16 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton is conveniently located on Robson Street near Yaletown, Rogers Arena and the newly renovated BC Place. Complimentary amenities include breakfast, wifi, bottled water, downtown shuttle service and loaner bicycles. Whether it's a hotel room with a microwave and refrigerator or a one bedroom suite with full kitchen, we offer a variety of comfortable beds for your stay in Vancouver. A member of the Hilton Family of Hotels, the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton offers both the corporate and the leisure traveler award-winning accommodation at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Downtown Vancouver
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Hampton Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.