We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Frindly Hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Robson St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2A8, Canada (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members up to 10% off
Ranked #19 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
319 helpful votes 319 helpful votes
“Family Frindly Hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The Hampton Inn is part of the Hilton Brand. It is located in Downtown Vancouver within easy and safe walking distance of Vancouver's main attractions.
It is convenient to shops, restaurants and convenience stores.
This hotel seems to be popular with tour groups so can be at times, a bit crowded in the comfortable breakfast dining area. Breakfast tends towards continental style with a good selection.
Staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    378
    63
    7
    3
See reviews for
284
337
42
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

A very clean and comfortable hotel in downtown Vancouver, BC. Reasonably priced. Very close to all downtown attractions. Breakfast food was very good. Nice lounge with the hotel with light meals and appetizers.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

A nice Hampton in a great location with a very friendly staff. My corner room had a nice view of BC Place. The hotel is location just a couple of blocks from a skytrain station and within walking distance of most of the major attractions downtown. My only suggestions for improvement to the staff are updating the exercise equipment and allowing access to the gym floor via stairs. I once waited about 10 minutes for an elevator to show up to that floor.

Room Tip: Corner room with a view of the stadium; side away from the currect construction going on in the imme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

For a quick, short-stay business trip in downtown Vancouver, this was a great choice. The hotel was a Good price, had fantastic service, and was in a centralized location. I could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, Channel Islands
Top Contributor
437 reviews 437 reviews
211 hotel reviews
Reviews in 171 cities Reviews in 171 cities
544 helpful votes 544 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Firstly, the positives. The location is great, you can easily walk almost anywhere such as Gastown, Chinatown, the Seawall, Cruise terminal etc. It is also very near to two Hop On Hop Off bus stops. We booked a one bedroom King Suite and it was ideal. It was spacious, had all the facilities we needed, a very comfortable bed and was spotlessly clean. The hotel staff were, without exception, helpful and polite. It wasn't cheap but reasonably priced for Vancouver, the hotels at this time of year have hoards of cruise ship travellers and the prices reflect this.
What were the irritations. One was breakfast where at peak times the room was totally inadequate for the number of hotel guests. This resulted in queues for tables, people stood around eating and generally an ambiance that wasn't conducive to a good start to the day. The staff, in fairness, worked tirelessly in topping up the food and trying to get people tables but the space simply wasn't large enough. It is termed as a free breakfast but in fact it isn't as it is factored into the hotel prices so a better or overspill facility would help considerably.
The second irritation was a constant drone or vibration as though it was coming from an external air conditioning unit or generator. We don't like having the air conditioning on in the room during the night and this constant, 24 hours droning almost drove me to distraction after five nights.
The first night we were allocated room 803 and I asked to be moved because of the vibration and we then went to a higher floor to room 1403 where the same problem existed. I didn't have the heart to complain a second time, and as I was told all the one bedroom suites were in the same area it didn't seem as though a resolution would be forthcoming - I must say that the staff handled my initial room complaint extremely well so no criticism there.
If returning to Vancouver, due to the constant droning in the room I wouldn't return to the Hampton Inn and Suites despite all the positives. No-one else seems to have noticed or mentioned it however so perhaps it is just me!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliya B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Bob1949,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor, the world’s largest travel site, enabling travellers to plan and execute the perfect trip! We appreciate your feedback, and use all comments we receive as a tool for improvement, especially from such a well-seasoned traveller like yourself. I am so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and were able to experience our hotel to the fullest, from our award winning service to our complimentary hot breakfast.

Based on your feedback I conducted a thorough inspection of both rooms 1403 and 803 and have determined that the noise coming from your room was the humidifier, which can be turned off using the knob right outside the bathroom door. I can understand how this can be of a disturbance, especially while sleeping and I apologize we did not catch this during your stay. I have reminded our housekeeping team to keep the humidifier off for the convenience of future guests.

I do hope that you will return to our hotel with this new information as I can guarantee you a much more enjoyable sleep.

Warm regards,

Aliya Bhatia
General Manager
604-605-1455
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I can only endorse all the previous positive comments.
Great central location at the lower end of Robson street - about a 5 minute walk to Stadium/Chinatown subway station and 10 minutes to Vancouver Central subway station and Granville Street.
Very clean and comfortable with excellent king size bed and a full sized bath.
Breakfast typical Hampton - quite adequate.
Shuttle to cruise terminal - but book early as very popular. We ended up walking - about 22 minutes, just about all down hill.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton, Illinois
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed two nights prior to cruise. Attentive staff. Easy to walk to some really good restaurant's. Clean rooms, a broader breakfast selection than most Hamptons.

Free shuttle will take you about anywhere in the area, and to the cruise terminal (10 minutes away)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver

Address: 111 Robson St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#16 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton is conveniently located on Robson Street near Yaletown, Rogers Arena and the newly renovated BC Place. Complimentary amenities include breakfast, wifi, bottled water, downtown shuttle service and loaner bicycles. Whether it's a hotel room with a microwave and refrigerator or a one bedroom suite with full kitchen, we offer a variety of comfortable beds for your stay in Vancouver. A member of the Hilton Family of Hotels, the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton offers both the corporate and the leisure traveler award-winning accommodation at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Downtown Vancouver
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Hampton Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.