We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Robson St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2A8, Canada (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members up to 10% off
Ranked #19 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tennessee Ridge, Tennessee
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Very nice week long stay for business. Staff friendly, helpful, but not intrusive.

Thought the location was good for strolling around this side of downtown. Easy walk 2 blocks to/from Stadium/Chinatown Skytrain station (while I probably wouldn't have wanted to walk this in the dark with a ton of bags, felt fairly safe in the day/dusk walking with luggage - one of the blocks is fairly busy while the other is "quiet"/not as populated). Free shuttle available for downtown drop off only (you find your own ride back). While this was handy one day, you may need to call right at 7am to see when it will be available. I found it easier to just walk over to the train station. Can buy FareSaver passes (at least for now, there is a transition to a new system "coming soon") at various stores (ie, 7-11, some newstands, etc) for reduced fare train rides. there is a 7-11 just one block from the Hampton (NOT the same direction as the train station though), but I found it easier to buy at the airport 7-11 before arriving at the hotel).
Grocery store IGA, I think, a few blocks away up Robson. Another easy walk, maybe 4-5 blocks or so. Fridge and microwave in my room (I think in all).

Across street from stadium. Nice view facing stadium to see different colors lights lighting stadium at night. I would think any room 8th floor and above on the east side would have a good view. Terrace on 16th floor for everyone to view. Laundry room 16th floor has terrace where you can wait if you like, too. No significant noise when I was there.

Elevator was a minor downside, but it was tolerable. Have to have your room key ready to swipe for every ride - including the one AFTER you use the on-screen or by-phone checkout, so don't leave your key in your room as the express checkout instructions say. On the other hand, it is secure!

The booklet in room said there was a place to put recyclables, but I never found it. Ice machine on select floors.

Room very clean. Even an umbrella provided (this means it rains a lot here!). Plenty of outlets. Bedding very comfy.

Breakfast fairly standard Hampton fare. An adequate array of hot and cold choices. Fruit available in lobby and even the fitness room. Breakfast staff always working hard to keep items replenished. Hand sanitizer available (a nice touch, many places don't have).

Would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    378
    63
    7
    3
See reviews for
284
337
43
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kapolei, Hawaii
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Overall a great stay. Helpful staff and great service.

Pros:
-Free Breakfast
-Free Wifi
-Very helpful staff that came out to meet us as we drove up to help with bags.
-Great location (right next to the Stadium)
-New hotel restaurant , Bogart's, is excellent.

Cons:
-Lots of construction was going on with the roads nearby with the road next to the hotel (Robson St.) closed during the day. So at first it is a little confusing getting to the entrance which is actually off the street.
-The free breakfast is in a mezzanine area that is not accessible by elevator. My mom who has trouble walking up and downstairs had to walk up to get the free breakfast area. Not a major issue.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We just returned from our business trip to Downtown Vancouver. The hotel was amazing! The rooms we very clean and comfortable. The staff were fantastic. On the date of check out, I returned to the front desk to see if my phone charger had been turned in, and to my suprise I had also forgotten my Ipad and book in the room. All three items were waiting for me at safely at front desk! It was wonderful to have such honest staff! Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed at the Hampton Inn when I was in Vancouver for work. I travel with the Nanny and my 17 month old daughter so we wanted some where I could easily drive from for work and that they could find lots to do in walking distance. The hotel was very clean and we had a suite with a kitchen. The kitchen was well equipped with everything we needed including a dishwasher. This hotel is very close to restaurants (The one in the hotel was under renovation but we went to Frankie's next door and they were amazing.) The breakfast in the morning was ample and we found the staff very helpful. There was a mix up with the billing and they charged us twice. One quick phone call and that was all fixed. I would recommend this property and will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson Creek, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I liked the hotel staff were excellent. Rooms were clean and quiet. The breakfast was ok. It was convenient. I had to leave early and wanted a quick hot meal. The quality of the breakfast is not worth the extra you pay for breakfast. I don’t think there is a restaurant on site and that may be why the quality is not there. I wanted the hot food but ended up eating cold yogurt due to the poor tasting hot breakfast options.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Booked the hotel as part of a package arrangement thru British Airways. Picked the hotel because of the central location and seemed like an ideal place to start our short visit.

Greeted and booked in to a nice suite with all facilities. Reception staff very helpful and recommended a great restaurant (Frankies) next door after our long trip from London.

Slept in a comfortable bed and rose to a great help yourself breakfast which was included in the room price.

Staff were excellent throughout and when I mentioned we had been woken early by some contractors on the building next door on day three light was made of the situation by us all - to my surprise when I checked out the following morning the hotel had booked and paid for my taxi to the airport! That was both unexpected and very good of the reception team. Thanks for that.

Would certainly be happy in recommending as a great place for a vacation with all of Vancouver close by in terms of shopping, restaurants and museums all in easy reach.

Room Tip: We were on 4th floor at the rear - no issues apart from contractors building across the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed for 7 nights in Hampton Inn & Suites on Robson. Its straight opposite the BC Stadium so got the bonus of a football (sorry, soccer) match! Whitecaps v LA Galaxy. Location of hotel is great, just a walk from everything! Room was top class and the bed was divine. Wifi worked really well and it was free! Staff very friendly and always helpful. Breakfast varied between great and average depending on the day and the contents of the hot buffet trays (not really into turkey sausages or cheese omelettes, but when there was scrambled egg on the menu it was great). The fresh fruit salad in the morning was great. If you really insist on a negative then our only one was at check in which was a bit slow. Caused by a guest suddenly deciding to check out at 9.30pm and a day early! However, when our turn came to check in the apologies were profuse and we could understand the situation. So no big negative from us! We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver

Address: 111 Robson St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#16 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton is conveniently located on Robson Street near Yaletown, Rogers Arena and the newly renovated BC Place. Complimentary amenities include breakfast, wifi, bottled water, downtown shuttle service and loaner bicycles. Whether it's a hotel room with a microwave and refrigerator or a one bedroom suite with full kitchen, we offer a variety of comfortable beds for your stay in Vancouver. A member of the Hilton Family of Hotels, the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton offers both the corporate and the leisure traveler award-winning accommodation at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Downtown Vancouver
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Hampton Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.