We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing customer service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Robson St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2A8, Canada (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members up to 10% off
Ranked #19 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing customer service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

My family and I had a were overhelmed by the kindness, helpfulness and assistance offered by the staff....keep up the GR8 service!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    378
    63
    7
    3
See reviews for
284
337
43
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

Stayed for 2 weeks during house repairs, in a suite with king bed, with husband and toddler.

I loved: Clean! They wash all bedding for every guest, vacuum the sofas, clean *under* furniture. Most hotels don't do that. Good-quality furnishings, all fairly new. Very comfy bed. Pretty good hot & cold breakfast buffet (though I got a little tired of it after the first week). Kitchen is good enough to make eggs & toast or pasta & sauce etc, but not a full meal (hot plates and a microwave, but no oven). Location pretty good: 5 min walk from Yaletown, 15 min walk from the heart of Robson street shopping district, 15 mins from Gasstown, all are good for shopping and restaurants. (Also some decent restaurants close by) Right by BC place. Generally very quiet - has double-pane windows and thick curtains, rooms seem very soundproof. Rooms are very bright too.

To be aware of: they are not going for 'atmosphere' or 'character' here; it is in no way romantic! The staff is friendly rather than polished. Located at the boring end of Robson street (still a safe location in the city though). Right across from BC Place so if there is a concert you will hear it! Also not cheap: if you want romance and character, there are other hotels are in the same price range that would deliver better.

Overall, my favorite hotel for a family stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

stayed here couple of nights end of july, nice and clean. a bit crowded in the mornings, overall
good value for vancouver

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I chose this hotel based on reviews at TA and on location to Robson St and gaslight area.

We spent 2 nights, to relax after business before our trip home.

The location was great as we could walk everywhere, and even though there was a football game across the road in the stadium that we could see the roof of from our room, there was no noise in the room.

The rooms are spacious and well appointed, a cheaper "Hilton-like" room i.e. the fittings are cheap but functional. But you get what you pay for.

There is not much service - there is a bell man that is never at his post... you have to take luggage up to your room yourself.

There is a complimentary breakfast - its not great but the coffee is drinkable and you can make your own waffles!

You get what you pay for so all in all the hotel is great EXCEPT FOR ONE THING THAT WILL MAKE ME NEVER STAY AGAIN -

WHY oh why do you have to eat breakfast from plastic knives and forks and plates! This is a horrible experience , not to mention the rubbish it creates - made me and my colleague vow to never stay here again. I overheard others talking about that too.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliya B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Thank you for your recent review of the Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver. We constantly strive to improve our services and products, and your comment is appreciated as it is a valuable part of this process. I am extremely disheartened to learn that the reason you will not return to our hotel is due our cutlery. At the Hampton Inn Downtown Vancouver, we understand the importance of minimizing waste through recycling and reusing. This is the reason that the Hampton Inn brand chooses to use TaterWare (http://earth-to-go.com/faq/taterware), an environmentally conscious material made out of potatoes that is both biodegradable and compostable. I truly hope that with this information, you will consider staying with us again. If you would like to discuss your stay further with me, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 604-605-1455 or aliya@hamptoninnvancouver.com.

Best regards,

Aliya Bhatia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Definitely recommend this hotel as good value for money. Good restaurant out front (Zachary) and location great ( especially for sports fans with stadium next door)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

To be fair, I stayed for free using my Hilton points, but I checked pricing online and my room would have cost only $125per night! The hotel is directly across the street from BC Place Stadium - where the Lions and Whitecaps FC play. Our room was on the fourteenth floor and we watched the first half of the game on the big screen, from our window.
The room was spacious enough for two, with a wraparound picture window, and included a mini fridge and microwave for any leftovers from one of the hundreds of great restaurants within walking distance. The bathroom was on the small side, but had a huge whirlpool tub, that the wife loved! Parking was not cheap ($25ish), but it's underground and gated.
There is a restaurant attached to the building, with an interior entrance, but we had one drink there, no food. This Hampton Inn also has a small gift shop, which is different than the few H.I. I've stayed in the past. Service was impeccable and included chocolates, delivered upon arrival.
Also, the 16th floor has an exercise area, that connects to a huge outdoor balcony. One evening, my wife and I sat out with a bottle of wine and watched the sun go down and the fog roll in. Very romantic. There is a large hot tub attached to the exercise area, with a huge window looking out towards the Stadium/Inlet/Marina.
Other than check in, we had little contact with hotel staff, but they were very friendly and helpful on our two or three encounters.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel for business, or a romantic weekend. It is not as big or nice as the Fairmont or Pan Pacific, but it's a great value and nice stay.

Room Tip: Views are better, higher up. Ask for 12th floor or above. Know that facing the stadium will allow br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stay at many Hampton Inns throughout the year and come to expect a clean and comfortable place to stay that is moderate in price. However, the Hampton Inn in downtown Vancouver rises above the average. From smooth and friendly check-in to a sparking clean upgraded suite, our stay exceeded our expectations. (Great Italian restaurant next door in a competing hotel.) Easy and free hotel shuttle to the cruise port.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliya B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Thank you for sharing your recent experiences at the Hampton Inn by Hilton Downtown Vancouver. Nothing delights us more than to hear your stay at our hotel exceeded your expectations! We are also delighted that you enjoyed the restaurant next door at our sister property. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Best Regards,
Aliya Bhatia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver

Address: 111 Robson St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2A8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#16 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton is conveniently located on Robson Street near Yaletown, Rogers Arena and the newly renovated BC Place. Complimentary amenities include breakfast, wifi, bottled water, downtown shuttle service and loaner bicycles. Whether it's a hotel room with a microwave and refrigerator or a one bedroom suite with full kitchen, we offer a variety of comfortable beds for your stay in Vancouver. A member of the Hilton Family of Hotels, the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton offers both the corporate and the leisure traveler award-winning accommodation at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Downtown Vancouver
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Hampton Inn Vancouver
Vancouver Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.