We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy B&B in the heart of Vancouver” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nelson House B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vancouver
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nelson House B & B
Save
You added Nelson House B & B to your Saves list
977 Broughton St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2A4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 64 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
“Cozy B&B in the heart of Vancouver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Located in the heart of Vancouver's West End, Nelson House B&B is just a short walk to all the high-end shopping on Robson or the diverse pleasures of Davie. I enjoyed fine cooked breakfasts and good conversation with other guests in the cheerful breakfast room. The adjacent living room is amply supplied with travel guides and other reading. The decor, at least in my room, was simple but comfortable and there was a small balcony with table and chairs to enjoy a bit of air. If you desire fancy antiques, lots of chintz, and a split of champagne on arrival this B&B is not for you. But if you are looking for a warm welcome in a central location Nelson House B&B is a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you "cacadian". You are so right! We like to put the emphasis on fine food & conversation. And when it comes to décor, we definitely prefer comfort & a bit of fun over ye olde chintz. All the best, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    25
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
73
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We didn't have breakfast, so we can't comment on that. The breakfast table was set beautifully, however. We were underwhelmed by the Nelson House. It reminded me of a run-of-the-mill English B&B: It also reminded me of my grandmother's house in decor and upkeep: somewhat shabby; mostly clean but not overly so; OK beds but not hotel quality; worn-out bed linens; overused pillows needing replacement. The host was friendly enough but seemed somewhat disinterested. We can't recommend the place, especially at the price, which we thought was about $50 Canadian too high.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
The old adage holds true in this age of anonymous internet opinions: "You can't please ALL the people ALL the time". We keep trying though!! We have no idea who posted this review because no one uttered a word to us in person about beds, linens, pillows, décor, etc, Those are the kinds of things that can be so easily put right if given half a chance. Anyways, thanks for this. I am off to do pillow inspection!
Cheers, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed in the very spacious suite with lots of character. The room was lovely and comfy and the breakfasts were great. The location is pefect, short walk to some lovely restaraunts and the beach front one way and a short walk to the shops the other way.The hosts were very friendly and helpful, we really enjoyed our stay!
What more could you want!

Room Tip: The suite has a lovely large bathroom with jet tub, small kitchen, balcony and living space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you for your kind appreciation and positive comments. We will hope to see you again! Cheers, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

What a great place to stay. From the moment we arrived the hosts made our stay very welcome. The room was on the main floor and was very spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was more than we could have asked for. (Eggs and sausage one day, French toast the next). The weather was very rainy for a couple days and there are umbrellas to use at the front door.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thanks so much! We still believe in putting the emphasis on classic B & B virtues - genuine local hospitality and delicious home-cooking & baking. You and other Nelson House guests really do seem to appreciate it. All the best, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

My husband and I were there for a few days in March. The facilities were clean as a whistle, the ambiance was perfect, the breakfasts were outstanding, the hosts Michael and David couldn't have been nicer.

What more can I say? Oh, yes. I forget to mention, location, location, location! You don't need a car but if you have one, they offer free off street parking. Just about everything is walking distance.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you folks. We loved having you. Please come back for Vancouver's warm summer weather;)

Cheers, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here 6 nights. We were in the top floor suite. It was great! Michael took great care of us. His breakfasts were AMAZING! And you have to try the lemon poppyseed bread- it's the best I've ever had. He knew a lot about the area and things to do. He kept us updated on the weather. I also met Lisa briefly and she was also very lovely. We loved the family photos on the 2nd floor of the owners and their families. The next time I visit Vancouver I will definitely stay at the Nelson House B & B.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you so much! We look forward to seeing you both again.

Cheers, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Found the hosts to be helpful and accommodating. The B&B is on a quiet street, but very close to a number of main streets that have anything you might need. Enjoyed the cabin room, with a soft, cozy bed and Canadiana decor, although the door to the ensuite bathroom isn't as private as a full door might be. On the other hand, the room was so quiet I had no idea there were other guests until breakfast. And the breakfast was delicious - easily the highlight of the stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
"Breakfast" is one half of our name. We are so glad that you enjoyed!
All the best until the next time, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 96 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 stars 2,600 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 96 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 stars 1,837 reviews
Downtown
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#5 of 96 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#4 of 96 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 stars 1,568 reviews
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#3 of 96 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 stars 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nelson House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nelson House B & B

Address: 977 Broughton St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2A4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Character, comfort and convenience in Vancouver's downtown, West End. A three-story, century old home operating as a bed and breakfast since 1990. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nelson House Hotel Vancouver
Nelson House Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nelson House B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.