We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nelson House B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vancouver
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nelson House B & B
Save
You added Nelson House B & B to your Saves list
977 Broughton St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2A4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special Rate from $98 !
Ranked #11 of 62 Vancouver B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is my first time staying in a B&B and it was a wonderful experience. I don't think I could go back to staying in a hotel. David and the other staff are very friendly and helpful and the breakfasts are delicious and healthy. My room was very comfortable especially the memory bed. Location is superb, loads of restaurants and shops nearby all within walking distance. I would highly recommend Nelson House.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
It makes me so happy to see another conversion to the care and attention of a Bed and Breakfast. All the best, David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    25
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
65
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Comox, Canada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We decided to stay here because of the other great reviews we read. We were not disappointed. Another factor was the great location in the downtown Vancouver area. The area was very safe and we had no problem walking about. Free Parking is a bonus.
David and his partner (I forgot his name) are perfect hosts, making you feel very welcomed to their home, like having teddy bear cookies waiting for you in your room.
This old house has been lovingly furnished and nicely decorated, but at the same time keeping the original character of the old house. We stayed in the Cabin room which was rather fun with some interesting pictures and furnishings. We slept very well on the comfortable memory bed.
You should not miss the hot breakfast as it is not your ordinary breakfast. I think David and his partner took a culinary course as the breakfast was not only delicious but eye pleasing as well. And healthy, don’t make the mistake I made and ask David for Ketchup for the omelet, you will soon get a lecture on healthy eating. 10 out of 10 for their breakfasts. There is fresh coffee available for early risers.
We had a very pleasant stay and would gladly stay at Nelson House again. Thanks David.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you folks! Is that a cheetah in your photo?
Cheers, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

David is a gracious host, the B&B's proximity to downtown is prime, and the meals---vegan accommodation in our case---were outlandishly delicious. David also provided my fiancee and I with an excellent driving tour of posh West Vancouver and serene views from Cypress Mountain. An excellent value, especially in off or low season. We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: We loved the Hollywood room: it faces Broughton Street and is both sunny and well-ventilated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
We absolutely love vegan breakfasts! Thank you for the compliments.
All the best, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Uncertain about how long ago it was since we first stayed at Nelson House, we were delighted to return and find David as welcoming as ever, the accommodations perfect for our needs and the close proximity to the west end restaurants an added plus. There is also great,close,safe parking available to guests . Over the years we have recommended Nelson house to many friends and all are enthusiastic about their time there. Great breakfast too: we wouldn't consider staying anyplace else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
It was so nice visiting with you again. Thank you for the kind words and look forward to seeing you again soon!

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Spent 4 nights at this wonderful break and breakfast
Beautiful character home , tastefully decorated and a good choice of art throughout the house .
David is a wonderful host and I would highly recommend this place !

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you Bernie! Always glad to see you. Cheers, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have been staying at Nelson House since 1997 and never stay anywhere else in Vancouver. Located in the middle of the historic West End neighborhood it is a lovely Arts and Crafts style home. Each of its rooms is decorated in a different style (kitschy and fun). Although only blocks to either Davie, Denman, Stanley Park or Robson Streets, it is in a very quiet tree-filled neighborhood. Quiet and unassuming are the hoteliers. The rooms are always spotless as are both the ensuite and share baths. Because this is a small guest house, the breakfasts are always delicious, plentiful and the other guests convivial. I have never had a bad experience here. It is also a great bargain in a city where the cost of hotels can viw with San Francisco.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Alan - thank you so much! The Review Title had me worried for a sec but you must really love your family;)

We love having you here.

Cheers, until the next time, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at Nelson House last friday night March 8, 2013.
It was a Grand experience, the service, hospitality and information provided by the friendly owner David was truly impeccable!
The very clean 1907 Edwardian era house is within walking distance of English Bay beach, Stanley Park and downtown.
We had very quiet rest in the beautiful and palatial Vienna room and the next morning a hot home cooked breakfast fit for a king that kept us full the whole day!
We highly recommend this wonderful home away from home.
Pete and Don

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Glad you enjoyed. I know that you are truly a connoisseur of heritage homes.

All the best, David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nelson House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nelson House B & B

Address: 977 Broughton St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Character, comfort and convenience in Vancouver's downtown, West End. A three-story, century old home operating as a bed and breakfast since 1990. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nelson House Bed And Breakfast
Nelson House Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nelson House B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.