We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like visiting a relative” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nelson House B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vancouver
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nelson House B & B
Save
You added Nelson House B & B to your Saves list
977 Broughton St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2A4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
CAD108 (CAD)
Ranked #9 of 63 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Like visiting a relative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have been staying at Nelson House since 1997 and never stay anywhere else in Vancouver. Located in the middle of the historic West End neighborhood it is a lovely Arts and Crafts style home. Each of its rooms is decorated in a different style (kitschy and fun). Although only blocks to either Davie, Denman, Stanley Park or Robson Streets, it is in a very quiet tree-filled neighborhood. Quiet and unassuming are the hoteliers. The rooms are always spotless as are both the ensuite and share baths. Because this is a small guest house, the breakfasts are always delicious, plentiful and the other guests convivial. I have never had a bad experience here. It is also a great bargain in a city where the cost of hotels can viw with San Francisco.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Alan - thank you so much! The Review Title had me worried for a sec but you must really love your family;)

We love having you here.

Cheers, until the next time, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    25
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
65
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at Nelson House last friday night March 8, 2013.
It was a Grand experience, the service, hospitality and information provided by the friendly owner David was truly impeccable!
The very clean 1907 Edwardian era house is within walking distance of English Bay beach, Stanley Park and downtown.
We had very quiet rest in the beautiful and palatial Vienna room and the next morning a hot home cooked breakfast fit for a king that kept us full the whole day!
We highly recommend this wonderful home away from home.
Pete and Don

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Glad you enjoyed. I know that you are truly a connoisseur of heritage homes.

All the best, David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at Nelson B&B for three nights. The location is great - we walked or caught buses everywhere with ease. The breakfast were tasty! The rooms are comfortable and there are nice touches like cookies and dressing gowns. Rooms were a little dark and a bit small but we did go for the cheapest option.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was the third time we had used this B&B. This time we used the B&B at the end of our stay in Canada, we wanted somewhere to stay in Vancouver before catching our flight home. The B&B is in a great location, a short walk to English Bay with it's views out over the ocean and fantastic sunsets. Also close to Stanley Park and not too far from downtown.
The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfasts were very enjoyable and filling. There was a TV in the room or you could sit in the lounge area in the evening which was a more comfortable option. There was parking available for guests nearby which was included in the price. It is not possible to park in the street as it is permit parking only.
Based on accommodation, price and location this B&B comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VancouverCalling, Owner at Nelson House B & B, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your thoughtful reviews. In this busy world, we appreciate everyone who takes the time to recognize our efforts at providing the best in Canadian hospitality.

It is always good to see you again.

Hope that the new year treats you kindly! David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We are spending New Year's weekend in Vancouver and couldn't have picked a better place for comfort and location. Nelson House is within walking distance of great shopping, many excellent restaurants. Every room in this 1907 house is antiqued with a different theme. We stayed in the Bombay room. spacious, comfortable, detail embellished. I can tell that David really had some fun putting this place together. I've never had a better time in Vancouver.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed for two nights in early Dec. Handy location to city, however the location is very quite and no traffic which was great. Room was good/ breakfast and service were also very good. Would stay again thats for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I have stayed at Nelson House over the last 15 years and each trip has been just a treat. the house is very comfortable. The innkeepers have all been just wonderful to interact with. Centrally located in the West End, with a welcome parking spot, and a full tasty breakfast, Nelson House is the best place to stay when in Vancouver.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nelson House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nelson House B & B

Address: 977 Broughton St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Character, comfort and convenience in Vancouver's downtown, West End. A three-story, century old home operating as a bed and breakfast since 1990. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nelson House Bed And Breakfast
Nelson House Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nelson House B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.