We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dave and Brian are the best staff ever” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manor Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Manor Guest House to your Saves list
Manor Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   387 W 13th Ave, Vancouver, British Columbia V5Y 1W2, Canada (Mt. Pleasant)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 62 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Zofingen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dave and Brian are the best staff ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

When we arrived, we were welcomed by the owner, Brenda, who is a very straightforward person with a slightly black British humour, which might appear offensive to some - it didn't to me though. The room we stayed in was OK, nothing special, but the rate was more than OK for this area.

The next morning, what a surprise when we saw this huge breakfast table - absolutely amazing: A huge bowl with fresh fruits, several kinds of bred, frehsly (!) baked pie, on the spot made omelets and eggs, coffee and, and, and! And best of all, it was all included in the price. I felt like god in France, as a German saying goes.

Best of all were the staff, Brian and Dave. They are like two stand-up comedians, very entertaining. Brian knows everything about the city and helps the guests with really useful advice. Dave, a chef, is very funny and his pies are simply divine :-)) Dave, thx. for the good laugh we had!

Cyrille from Switzerland

  • Liked — The entertaining staff, Dave and Brian
  • Disliked — The fact that my room was located in the basement, rather dark
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    34
    14
    12
    20
See reviews for
30
54
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ft Myers, FL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2008

The Staff and Resident Manager of the manor Guest House were kind, service oriented and very accomodating. They were professional and knowledgeable. Brian knew the city of Vancouver and was willing to share. David, the Resident Manager, went over and beyond expectations to make our stay comfortable. Brenda, the owner, is not service oriented, and did not deal with the public, but with a staff like hers, she doesn't have to. The location was walking or bus distance to almost anywhere. We did our research prior to arrival so there were no surprises. There is no a/c in old bldgs in Vanvouver and we expected that. We would return to the Manor Guest House in a heart beat.

  • Liked — location and staff
  • Disliked — Stairs, hate climbing them
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2008

I do NOT recommend this 'B&B' (no breakfast included). The area was great, view amazing and house was big. However, the manager made the stay someway akward. She is RUDE and pushy in terms of getting her say. The suite had no cupboards only 3 drawers to put our clothes in, so we lived out of our suitcases for 5 wks. The heating was controlled centrally, and we were freezing the first 2 wks - sometimes the heat was off. The bed linens were old and dingy. Not pleasant at all! We were promised a good monthly rate when we said we may stay for 2 months, and suddenly she says that the monthly rate will be $200 more because we checked out after 5 weeks and not 8 - no warning at all. Apparently, we had to give 1 months notice as well, so we had to coordinate this in due time so we didnt loose our deposit. She did give us a small discount for us giving carpenters access to the suite for a whole week (even when we werent home!!), but it should have been more because all our stuff became dusty from the work being done.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2008

My husband and I do not recommend staying at this B&B. It all started out okay...I contacted the owner about availability and she got back to me very quickly. The rates seemed very reasonable considering the location, the write up on their website, the pictures we saw and the fact that the owner made a point of mentioning the marvelous breakfasts that they serve-"comparable to a 4 star hotel". WELL...when we arrived, I asked the manager what time breakfast was served, only to find out that they don't serve breakfast at all over the winter and spring months!! But there was a kitchen with cereal and what not that we could help ourselves to. We were very ticked off. We got up to our room, which was freezing and the size of a thimble. We couldn't control the heating in our room so we froze, the tv only had 3 channels, was only about 5 inches and was so low to the ground that you had to watch it throught the rails of the footboard! The bathroom was a nice size but had no heating...torture! The kitchen the manager mentioned was the size of a closet and who knows how long the food had been there for. The fridge we could put our wine in was filled with rotten food and absolutely stunk! We've stayed at many b&b's and this was the worst! Couldn't wait to leave!

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — too many things
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2008

This review is long overdue
We stayed at the Manor Guest House last summer and I hightly recommend it. The house is georgeous, tastefully decorated and clean. The location is great...close to everything and the breakfasts were scrumptious. The staff were very helpful and we were well looked after. Best of all however were the rates. What a bargain for downtown Vancouver.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gananoque
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

I am shocked at the reviews of the Manor Guest House. I visited Vancouver last summer for a long weekend and really enjoyed my stay.
I was walking distance to the Westend (for non-lazy people) and a short bus ride, the #15 if I recall correctly , if you wanted to get downtown quicker.
Part of the Manor's charm is the fact that the rooms aren't perfect. It's a B&B not the Ritz! And the place is tastefully decorated and well, it's an old house - expect noise.
As for the breakfasts - they were outstanding. We ate like kings!
I came in contact with Brenda a few times during my stay and she was nothing but courteous, even though she was obviously involved in her High Season and very busy.
The place is busy. Don't expect 100% attention, especially if all you want to do is complain.
I would highly recommend the Manor for a lot of reasons; location, value, and great staff.
I guess expectations of a "B&B" differ from person to person. I will definately be staying there again in the future.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2008

This was the most disappointing B&B I have been to yet - and I love B&B's. The house seemed musty, the linens dingy, and the beds were super uncomfortable. We were told it was within walking distance to downtown Vancouver -- however we needed 2 buses or a bike to get into town. The food was good - but again, when you're in a dirty house, the food doesn't seem as appetizing as it would seem otherwise. Not a fan and would not recommend. Ick!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Guest House

Address: 387 W 13th Ave, Vancouver, British Columbia V5Y 1W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Mt. Pleasant
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a guest house offering studio apartments with kitchenettes and private baths as well as two bedroom suites with full kitchens, living/dining space and 4 piece bathrooms with soaker tub/shower combos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Manor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manor Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.