We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barclay House Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Barclay House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barclay House Bed and Breakfast
1351 Barclay Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1H6, Canada (Formerly Barclay House In The West End) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 63 Vancouver B&B and Inns
buffalo grove, illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great vacation getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Our recent two night stay in Vancouver and at the Barclay House B&B was a wonderful experience thanks to the welcoming hospitality offered by Dennis, our host. Our room was clean and comfortable, the food was excellent and the staff was friendly and helpful. Whenever we have the opportunity, we will recommend Barclay House as the perfect getaway B&B.
N and J

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    477
    49
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
62
279
42
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Freeport, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I just returned from a trip to Alaska and stayed here the night before our cruise left. From the moment I pulled up to the house I was made to feel like the most important person in the world. The house is beautiful and spotless, the location is perfect (walking distance to everything), the breakfast was delicious and our host and hostess were born to run a bed and breakfast. I can't wait to return to Vancouver and be guests in their home again. Look no further, book this B&B right away, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We really enjoyed our mini-moon at the Barclay House. We stayed in the Peak room, which was exactly as shown in the photos. We appreciated the fresh cookies in the room and all the attention to detail. The location was amazing in a historic neighbourhood, but just a 15 minute walk from the sky train and Stanley Park! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown PEI
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

You enter this beautiful home and you are met by Dennis who is Mr Everything from a tremendous host and he is a wonderful chef and great singer. What more could you ask for. The breakfasts are so great and everyday is different or you may order off the menu. The rooms are spotless and a cookie is placed on your bed when you arrive home from sightseeing. I will be staying there again for sure.

Room Tip: The Garden Suite enters from the street and has its own private entrance. Very Quiet. Hard to find i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed there with a friend for three nights during the summer of 2012 and both of us loved it. We spent two nights in the Garden Room and one night in the Forest Room. Both were special and very nicely appointed, but the tucked away charm and interior colorfulness of the Forest Room, together with its more sedate Vctorian-Style bathroom with a unique character made it our favorite!

Innkeeper Dennis is a charmer, as well as a master cook, with impeccable attention to detail. There are always fresh flowers in the common area together with relaxing background music and plenty of good reads. Furnishings are impeccable and elegant throughout and every cabinet & shelf holds something interesting, be it a book, a snack or a movie to borrow and watch in your room.

On our last day, Barclay House had a lot of check-outs, leaving a lot of rooms vacant. Taking advantage of this, Dennis kindly offered to show me some of the other rooms, below is my impression of each:

Outside rooms (street level):

Garden-

One regal four poster double bed set in a small sleeping area attached to the entrance “foyer” which is also the incredibly cozy tv room with a plush L-shaped sofa/day bed. All in a lively combination of yellow, red and white colours (mainly yellow) to compensate for the small windows and resulting lack of natural light. Vintage spacious bathroom with “clawfoot” bathtub, stand alone sink and plenty of flat surfaces behind it. The bathroom is in two tones, with the upper in green and the bottom in white.

Hideaway-

Behind the Garden room. Its open Jacuzzi makes it the romance corner of choice. Colors are colder than the garden room though. Comes with one Japanese-style double bed tuked away in between two walls with the mattres directly on the ground, but elevated from the floor by two steps. Like Jacuzzi, and tucked away bed, but not the colors, lighting or general feel.

Top Floor Rooms:

Forest-

One plush queen size bed in the main bedroom, which is in the middle of the rectangle which makes up the three thirds of this room. To the left of the bed, the last third of the room is the cozy, earthy coloured and homely TV room, minibar, closet room. The middle third is almost entirely taken up by the bed and two minimalistic night tables. The right third is a nicely sized bathroom, with ordinary “best-western” style bathtub/shower, but a classy general feel overall nonetheless.

Mountain-

This is definitely the room with the most nooks and crannies, having the bedroom, TV room, bath area and separate toilet room all branching off from a central, straight corridor. The large queen/king bed takes up almost all of the bed area, the TV room is nice and leads to a small balcony. The bath area is very luminous with and fair sized, whilst the idea of a separate toilet room si great to maintain the romantic feel in spite of dining on curry ensamble. Interesting room because of the many partitions, & the balcony looking out towards Barclay street, but not my favorite at all.

Peak-

This is Dennis’s “crown jewel”; having the entire top floor/attic of Barclay House to itself, the Peak Suite is a distinguished room, not only because it is the most expensive one in the house, but because it sits atop the others and boasts a “single room” layout, meaning the queen bed, the lounge/daybed/ TV area, and the kitchenette are all within the same undivided rectangle. Skylight abounds, the bed is beautifully set on one side, with the bathroom next to the kitchenette occupying the other.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights in the Forest Room based on previous trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed. Dennis was a perfect host and the breakfasts were first class. Dennis was a knowledgeable host and gave us good ideas on places to visit, transport etc. The location was great for Stanley Park and Downtown with plenty of restaurants close by.
The only slight criticism is lack of drawer space in the Forest Room but maybe less of a problem for shorter stays than ours.

Room Tip: Forest room has king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed at the Barclay B&B for three nights and loved it! The location is great but it does require walking a few blocks before you can get to the Stanley Park. From the city centre stations, it was about a 30-35 min walk with luggage - I highly recommend NOT walking if you're lugging around luggage. It's up and down in some areas and honestly, bus or cab it. You'll be happy you did.

The house is super cute; it's clean and the service is wonderful. Each day our rooms were neatly made and two fresh cookies were placed on our beds. We stayed in the garden suite which was separate from the main house (basement). It had a living area with a pullout couch -- no tables to really eat though which was difficult if you were bringing food back to the room, but not a big deal.

The wifi was kinda shoddy if you weren't in the bedroom. The room had a fridge and a safe. It also has a lovely fireplace which is essentially what heat the room when we were cold. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was adorable and had all the amenities we needed - no need to drag your own hair dryer around, this place offers one.

The breakfast every morning was fresh and delicious. We had put in our special request when we booked and our breakfast was perfect each morning. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

If you're renting a car, let them know, they have 5 parking spots where you can park. Street parking will get you a ticket within minutes, so don't even risk it.

All in all, if I'm ever in Vancouver again, I will def stay here. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barclay House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1351 Barclay Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1H6, Canada (Formerly Barclay House In The West End)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban living at its finest! The 1904 Barclay House has entered the 21st century as a luxurious, modernized five-star Bed & Breakfast centrally located in the heart of downtown close to major Vancouver attractions including Stanley Park, Vancouver Aquarium, English Bay, Canada Place, Granville Island and Vancouver's finest, trendy restaurants and shopping on Robson Street and Yaletown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Barclay House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barclay House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.