We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mickey's Kits Beach Chalet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vancouver
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mickey's Kits Beach Chalet
Save
You added Mickey's Kits Beach Chalet to your Saves list
2142 West 1st Avenue, Vancouver, British Columbia V6K 1E8, Canada (Kitsilano)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 64 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Shottery, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have stayed here twice in the lovely Maple Room and this really is a home from home. The rooms are lovely and spacious and have everything you might want - and if you need anything else Cory is always there to help out - like when the padlock on our suitcase jammed. Best of all are the breakfasts which are help yourself to a range of goodies and the kitchen is there all day and night for you to use. You really feel welcome but also left in peace to suit yourselves, browse the books, borrow umbrellas for a walk, get advice on where to go. It's also close to the beach and lots of great bars, shops and restaurants - and yoga studios. Also very quiet and peaceful at night and extraordinarily good value for money.

Room Tip: Maple room is good with a sunny balcony and near kitchen for coffee/ tea etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaE52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We spent a while looking for affordable and promising accommodation in Vancouver, and it wasn't easy to find! Mickey's Beach Chalet turned out to be a perfect place to stay; we liked being away from the hub of the downtown and Kitsilano is a cool attractive area, easy to reach by bus. We were able to keep our car in the garage which was really helpful. We walked to Granville Island, took about 25 minutes not hurrying at all. The room was very comfortable, good bed and a pleasant deck area outside where we took breakfast in the sun (the homemade granola is really good!). It was great to be able to wander through to the kitchen as well. The owners are friendly and helpful, and the neighbourhood is safe and pleasant; we dined at some of the local bars/restaurants which have a good vibe. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reachargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mickeyinkits, Manager at Mickey's Kits Beach Chalet, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review. What a nice way to start off the new year. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and liked Vancouver and Kitsilano as much as we do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in the Maple room. Good size with sunny deck, comfortably if not stylishly furnished (think friezes and pelmets). Nice bathroom. We would have liked a wardrobe, a set of hooks and hangers on the wall is a bit basic. As has been said, kitchen is crowded with more than 4 people. Would be a good idea to sort the electrics so that toaster and kettle could be used at same time without blowing fuse. Breakfast is very adequate, nice range of fresh berry fruits. Disappointed though, to have supermarket sliced as only bread option for toast given the range of artisan bakers in Vancouver. A range of good restaurants close by. Cory and Jerry are very pleasant hosts.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AmblingRambler61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I stayed at Mickey's for two weeks during a course, and I felt like I was at home. My room was quiet and very comfortable. The only problem was that the homemade croissants, muffins and breads were so good that I couldn't stop eating them!! I left there with a few extra pounds. It was worth it, and I'll go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BNAKAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

So well located! We spent much of our time exploring Kitsilano on foot, or were picked up by friends, so the limited street parking wasn't an issue. Jerry and Cory were very helpful and available; a plus that they too are parents and especially accommodating of my 6 yr old daughter. They recommended the Yew room for us which, although it didn't have it's own bathroom like some other rooms, had a sofa and coffee table where she could sit & draw. Room cool during warm weather; upstairs (and south facing) seemed warmer but I noticed those rooms have fans. Overall decor not my taste -- apparently that of the original owner -- but all neat and clean. The weather was gorgeous for most of our stay; we ended up almost daily returning to the Kits Beach playground and AWESOME public pool just blocks away -- apparently the largest in North America -- with it's incredible view of the bay. If you like taking a dip, don't miss it!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rkib7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

My husband and I stayed here in July for approximately 6 nights, and we loved it. The Kits area is the perfect place to stay outside of downtown. The beach is beautiful and lots of great restaurants & shops all in walking distance. It's a very easy bus ride to downtown as well. We felt right at home at Mickey's Kits. Cory and her family were so nice to us! The homemade breakfast pastries were especially delicious. Thank you for a memorable stay!

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bostonian178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

we spent 3 nights in this Kitsilano area loft room with vaulted ceilings. Room and Windows were nice and big; too bad the window coverings obstruct the beautiful mountain view and room decor is outdated. Expensive for the value. My husband (a frequent business traveller) commented that for the price, the beds should be made every morning. the nice part of the stay was the availability of fresh berries every morning. Breakfast was self serve and self clean. Kitchen was much too small for the amount of guests. We had to take turns eating breakfast. If you can't climb stairs, this B&B is not for you...Parking is tricky but because we stayed longest we were lucky to have had one of the 2 spots in the garage. Street noise kept waking me up at odd hours of the night, not for the light sleeper. Overall an OK place, considering we booked last minute

Room Tip: get the room with the patio (facing the back)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bells66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Granville Island & Fairview
Granville Island Hotel
Granville Island Hotel
#18 of 96 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 1,432 reviews
Kitsilano
Maple Beach Bed and Breakfast
Maple Beach Bed and Breakfast
#37 of 64 in Vancouver
3.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Kitsilano
Suite Dreams Vancouver Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kitsilano
A Suite @ Kitsilano Cottage
A Suite @ Kitsilano Cottage
#23 of 64 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 stars 14 reviews
Kitsilano
Camilla House B&B
Camilla House B&B
#34 of 64 in Vancouver
3.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Kitsilano
Kitsilano Garden Suites
Kitsilano Garden Suites
#13 of 39 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mickey's Kits Beach Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mickey's Kits Beach Chalet

Address: 2142 West 1st Avenue, Vancouver, British Columbia V6K 1E8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Kitsilano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mickey's Kits Beach Chalet is located in the historic neighbourhood of Kitsilano. Just two blocks to Kitsilano Beach and many great restaurants. Walking distance to Granville Island and shopping along 4th Avenue. A nearby bus will take you downtown, Stanley Park, Robson Street or UBC. Gourmet continental breakfast is available each morning to help get your day started. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing