We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Granville Island Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Granville Island Hotel to your Saves list
Granville Island Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1253 Johnston Street | Granville Island, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 3R9, Canada (Fairview)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Orillia, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is a well kept hotel in a terrific location. Staff are always very friendly and helpful and the market is a great asset being so close by. We have stayed at this hotel on many occasions and it is our go to place when we visit our children in Vancouver.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    323
    81
    30
    16
See reviews for
252
436
76
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

A fabulous location with lots to see ( and buy) Parking available if needed 12 dollars per day. Service friendly and efficient.
Restaurant was so pleasant, again with a wonderful view. Good menu.
If there was 1 thing I didn't like , it was the red wine in the minibar, maybe just bad luck!!!!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 333 and it was lovely with a full view of False Creek. Quiet. Everything worked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Booked the Granville Island Hotel as part of a conference package. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was great with a really nice view! An empty bar fridge would have been handy for treats from the market. Location was fabulous! Loved walking the island and I never needed a car! As one other wrote, the bar music one night was incredibly loud and disruptive, however, I realize that it would be popular for wedding or special event. I will recommend this hotel to friends and family!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Lovely small hotel, and one of the few on that side of town. We walked everywhere, but there is access to the bus which takes you to the SkyTrain, the boat/taxi and of course regular taxis. It's about $30 to the airport, though also possible to take the bus & sky train.
Our room was small and no view, likely the cheapest room and the price was good, though it was a quiet time of year, and the room was ready for our early arrival. I'd rather have small but nice, and we were only in the room to sleep as were out all day. I noticed the comment about no public rooms and can see that would be an issue if you were to spend much time in the hotel. The reply was something like, pay for a larger room where you can hang out. Certainly our room had nowhere to sit other than the bed, and that made the lighting a bit of a problem. Although there was a tiny reading light, there wasn't good enough lighting to lie on the bed and read the paper.
The bathroom, although no bath, was lovely and nice soap etc. We found things were not replaced, like body cream which was used a lot, and milk for the coffee. Luckily one evening I noticed the cleaning staff were on the floor with their trolley, so asked for milk for our coffee the next morning. One evening I was woken up to people chatting loudly outside. After phoning the front desk, the noise stopped immediately. While Granville Island has all sorts of places to eat, there's not much open for an early breakfast.
Other than those minor points, it is a lovely hotel and we'd stay there again as we don't need to be downtown but rather on that side of the water.

Room Tip: Basic rooms are fine, but no view. We were out all day so didn't need to pay for the view.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlegar, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were in Vancouver for a hospital appointment. The Granville island Hotel gave us a terrific rate. 10 minutes to hospital. The Front Desk service was friendly and efficient. Room was very clean and a small view of False Creek. Highly recommend this hotel.
Doug H

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I've lost count of the number of times we've stayed at the beautiful Granville Island Hotel and it never disappoints! Bright, clean and super comfortable. Amazing views over to the lights of Yaletown. The staff members at GIH are so attentive, and Blessie (front desk) is pure gold. With the market just a few steps away, this has to be one of the most appealing year-round venues in Vancouver.

Lynne E

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at the Granville Island Hotel Both times we had the Executive Suite on the main floor. It is wonderful and the staff were totally incredible. The view was wonderful overlooking False Creek and the lights. We were early and the staff looked after our luggage and put it in our room when it was ready. A definite place to go back to. The restaurant serves fantastic meals and the staff there are always so knowledgeable and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Granville Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Island Hotel

Address: 1253 Johnston Street | Granville Island, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 3R9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Fairview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#22 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Granville Island Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Island Hotel, a boutique hotel, offers a one-of-a kind experience. With welcoming staff to greet, a restaurant and lounge to entice, and a luxurious room to make you feel at home, the Granville Island Hotel is Vancouver’s best kept secret. With endless opportunities to dabble in local art & cuisine at the famous Public Market or to explore Vancouver by bike or kayak, the Granville Island Hotel offers something for everyone. Located just minutes from the village, the Granville Island hotel is the perfect get-a-way spot for couples looking for a quiet alternative to staying downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your Granville Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Granville Island
Granville Island Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granville Island Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.