We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome room & stay... wish it could have been longer!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Granville Island Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Granville Island Hotel to your Saves list
Granville Island Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1253 Johnston Street | Granville Island, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 3R9, Canada (Fairview)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome room & stay... wish it could have been longer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed in the Penthouse (#402) on our wedding night. It was an amazing room and the perfect place to get dressed and ready before the wedding. Since we were getting married at Bridges Restaurant on Granville Island the location couldn't have been better! The room had numerous balconies each stunning water and city views. Everything about the room was really great. The bed was very comfortable and we had a delicious room service breakfast in the morning. The only downside was that we were leaving town the following day and couldn't stay longer! The hotel staff (Jason in particular) was great, friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    323
    81
    30
    16
See reviews for
251
435
76
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I recently spend two nights at the Granville Island Hotel. We had a terrific experience. The location is ideal for those who want to spend their time visiting the unique shops, market and restaurants on Granville Island. We also spent a morning ocean kayaking around False Creek and greatly enjoyed the musical play, The Buddy Holly Story, at the Stanley Theater. The hotel were helpful and made us feel very welcome. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room didn't have an ocean view - it would be worth the extra money to have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at the Granville Island Hotel for three nights. For us it was perfectly located as we wanted to be as close as possible to the water.
Problem with the room: the first room we had had a balcony. But: a) it was really tiny and the guests in the room one level higher could perfectly watch not only this balcony but the whole room and b) the seaview from this balcony was rather 'limited' as you had to look through two other parts of the building. As we did not want to spend our day with moving and they also said that they had no more rooms left we accepted the second room which was on the first floor. No balcony or terrace but a big window onto the harbour - fabulous. Except for the fact that there was a boardwalk right in front of it...
Positive: they offer bicycles to get around. Negative: they did not mention that/how much we have to pay for them.
Staff: mostly friendly and helpful at the reception, rather snobby in the restaurant area

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here for a relaxing weekend in June. The rooms were nicely decorated and the bed and pillows were very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful making sure our bikes were safely locked away inside the hotel for the evening. Most of the rooms have water views, but not all, so make sure you ask for a water view. The Granville Island Market is just a short walk away and a great spot for breakfast. We ate at the Sandbar restaurant for lunch. The food was delicious and they had a great outdoor deck (with heat lamps and blankets).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The Granville Island Hotel is an older quaint hotel on False Creek near downtown Vancouver. The rooms are small but comfortable and very nicely appointed and the staff is always great. It has its own on site brewery and an outside restaurant/lounge patio that has been rated the best in Vancouver.

I frequently stay there while on business and we recently took friends visiting from Australia to stay there while we showed them Vancouver. They loved it and the island itself which is very walkable and full of quaint shops and places to eat and reasonably priced evening live theatre.

Room Tip: Rooms facing False Creek willl have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My sister and I stayed here in preparation for my wedding at the Dockside Lounge. The room was amazing, even the sofa bed was comfortable to sleep on. The service was fantastic and professional. GIH has the perfect combination of everything - location, food, amazing customer service. Would definitely recommend this hotel as the place to stay in Vancouver.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Pleasant boutique hotel ideally located with good facilities, if small rooms and tiny balconies. Noise from dockside restaurant disturbs a quiet visit.

But we arrived to find they had cancelled our reservations without trying to contact us, having had our credit card declined due to an incorrect expiry date citation. They then lied that they had no rooms available, finally finding two after a lot of public fuss in which we rejected one room offered. They seriously insulted us by suggesting, in front of other guests that we had inadequate credit!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Granville Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Island Hotel

Address: 1253 Johnston Street | Granville Island, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 3R9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Fairview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#21 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Granville Island Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Island Hotel, a boutique hotel, offers a one-of-a kind experience. With welcoming staff to greet, a restaurant and lounge to entice, and a luxurious room to make you feel at home, the Granville Island Hotel is Vancouver’s best kept secret. With endless opportunities to dabble in local art & cuisine at the famous Public Market or to explore Vancouver by bike or kayak, the Granville Island Hotel offers something for everyone. Located just minutes from the village, the Granville Island hotel is the perfect get-a-way spot for couples looking for a quiet alternative to staying downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your Granville Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Granville Island
Granville Island Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granville Island Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.