We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Granville Island Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Granville Island Hotel to your Saves list
Granville Island Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1253 Johnston Street | Granville Island, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 3R9, Canada (Fairview)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed at this hotel on the way to our cruise boat to Alaska. We liked it so we book a room for the day we got back from Alaska also. There was a great market on the island and walking paths. The Marina was great to take a short ride around False Creek.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    323
    81
    30
    16
See reviews for
252
435
76
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We stayed at the Granville Island Hotel for 2 nights in early June 2011 and really enjoyed it. It is a small-medium sized hotel in the perfect location. Granville island is on the Vancouver waterfront and is idlyic. The hotel is clean, comfortable and friendly and I would recommend it to anyone. I would 'though suggest you book early and if possible get in on any of their deals. We booked late and although enjoyed our time felt it was a little pricey, and considering they don't do breakfast for the price either. That said the Granville Island food market is amazing and is more than you could want for breakfast or lunch, and the little ferry boats shoot you across the harbour. I would also recommend to everyone to walk around Stanley park as it is gorgeous and gives you a very different feel to the city.

Room Tip: Obviously the water view rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

We had a business meeting at the Granville Island Hotel. THe room and food were great, but the part I liked most was sitting on the patio for lunch. The food, the view and ambiance were all spectacular!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gihotel, Director of Sales at Granville Island Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
The hotel and restaurant are very pleased with our new patio!

The patio was launched officially two weeks ago!
We look forward to guests enjoying the heated cabana on the patio or lounging beside the fire pit. With our patio also comes the addition of a Jazz Brunch on Sundays throughout the summer.
We look forward to seeing everyone soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantes, France
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I have been at the Granville Island Hotel for business for 3 separate weeks, in 2007, 2008 and earlier this month. Over all these years, I have found the staff to be friendly and efficient, the restaurant and room service to be great, and the location on Granville Island ever so enjoyable (particularly if you have time to kill on a weekend). My only complaint is that this year the old TVs were replaced by nice flatscreens (good) but that in the process the pay-per-view movies disappeared, meaning that one is left with regular North American TV (ie. 8 minutes of commercials for 22 minutes of TV). Do avoid getting a room overlooking the restaurant patio as there will often be a lot of noisy diners there until very late.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms looking out over the restaurant patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Vancouver is one of the most beautiful cities in the world. The Granville Island Hotel allows you to view it from one of the best locations in Vancouver ... Granville Island. This really is a fabulous hotel. It's in a perfect location, it's been recently updated, it's very clean, it has a lovely patio to enjoy the views from, it's located on Granville Island with it's many charming spots to shop, dine and enjoy the fabulous farmers market, it really couldn't be better. My wife and i keep coming back, and every time we stay we think how lucky we are to have found this hotel. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

Wonderful location, quiet, but convieninent, great views, awesome deck and outdoor restaurant. Nice clean room, comfortable bed.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

Love Vancouver. Love Granville Island. Love Granville Island Hotel. Clean and beautiful. Breakfast is excellent at the Dockside Restaurant inside the Hotel. Spectacular view! Walking distance to other restaurants on the island. The Market place on the island is awesome. Room service everyday. Hair dryer and toiletries included. Complimentary water bottle. Coffee or tea available in your room. Enjoyed the sauna and large Jacuzzi in the Gym. Only issue I had was the key cards. It took me minutes and several attempts to enter my room or use the elevator because my key card did not read properly. Finding parking during the day is a bit hard but at night it is available. Parking is not free. Other than that, highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Granville Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Island Hotel

Address: 1253 Johnston Street | Granville Island, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 3R9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Fairview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#22 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Granville Island Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Island Hotel, a boutique hotel, offers a one-of-a kind experience. With welcoming staff to greet, a restaurant and lounge to entice, and a luxurious room to make you feel at home, the Granville Island Hotel is Vancouver’s best kept secret. With endless opportunities to dabble in local art & cuisine at the famous Public Market or to explore Vancouver by bike or kayak, the Granville Island Hotel offers something for everyone. Located just minutes from the village, the Granville Island hotel is the perfect get-a-way spot for couples looking for a quiet alternative to staying downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your Granville Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Granville Island
Granville Island Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granville Island Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.