We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A Find!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Helen's Place

Helen's Place
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vancouver
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Helen's Place
Save Saved
You added Helen's Place to your Saves list
1049 W 32nd Ave, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 62 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Driggs, Idaho
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What A Find!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Helen's Place is a rare gem in a beautiful city. I can't wait to come back, as much to stay with Helen, as to do any of the other things this place has to offer. Helen is a most gracious host, providing you with lovely accommodations, she is warm and welcoming. Sitting in her beautiful garden and eating the delicious highest quality foods she provides in her well stocked refrigerator plus her yummy homemade sticky buns, was a pure delight. If you are lucky she will play the harp for you. Her place is in a beautiful neighborhood a few blocks from Van Duesen Gardens, a huge botanical gardens with varieties of plants I had never seen before and a terrific restaurant. Public transportation is convenient and accessible. Stay here, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
4
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Helen is the best possible host and a great cook! The rates are very reasonable and include a stocked refrigerator and some of Helen's cinnamon rolls...very yummy. Great location. We parked our car at her house and either walked or rode public transportation everywhere. And the rooms are huge! Free wifi and use of her washer/dryer. We will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I lived in Helen's garden suite for nearly three years as I moved from the United States to Canada to take a new job as Jewish clergy at a nearby congregation. I could not have asked for a more beautiful introduction to life in Vancouver. Helen's accommodations are the best I've seen - good enough to keep me there for so long. I've recommended this location to family and friends countless times over the years and will continue to do so. You will not find a better value for your dollar, nor a more welcoming, convenient base to explore this unique city. Whether it's a weekend holiday, month-long stay or seasonal getaway, you can expect professionalism, warmth and quality care at Helen's Place. - Mike

Room Tip: Call Helen. She has diversified options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

I stayed at Helen's while working at the VGH hospital. My suite was a comfortable bachelor that overlooked the garden.

The location is excellent for physicians who are looking for a place to stay while working at either the VGH or the Children's/Women's hospital. It is about a 20 minute walk to VGH through a very nice neighbourhood. Alternately, one can take a frequent bus that will get you to VGH in less than 5 minutes.

Helen is very friendly and often stops to chat with her tenants. She is an accomplished harpist and often she can be heard practicing. (Also, try to get one of her cinnamon buns if you stay...)

Highly recommended. Please note that "Helen's Place" is distinct from the similiarly named Helen's B and B.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Helen's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helen's Place

Address: 1049 W 32nd Ave, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helen's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.