We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning, simply stunning...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West End Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added West End Guest House to your Saves list
West End Guest House
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1362 Haro St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1G2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 63 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Stunning, simply stunning...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

House is exactly what a B&B should be...old, furnished and decorated accordingly, yet modern where necessary, and very clean.

Great atmosphere, wonderful front room to sit and chat with Evan and other guests.

Breakfasts that are elegant, tasty and filling, without being too much.

Bed was very comfortable...we slept soundly.

One of the very best B&B's we've ever stayed at.

My only requests would be:
- Make the entire property non-smoking. One guest was smoking on the balcony/porch, and the second hand smoke would find its way inside.
- Put a wireless internet repeater up on the second or third floor. Third floor internet access was very difficult.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    20
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
47
293
74
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We had a perfect stay at this charming guest house... Beautiful rooms & yummy breakfasts... But what set this place apart is how relaxing it is to stay here... It is truly a place to unwind and relax... Sherry hour is fun mingling with other guests and the host Evan.. We will be back for sure- the best B&B we have stayed in ever! Thanks Evan for making us feel like family!!! X

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

If you are looking for a clean, comfortable, inviting place to stay in Vancouver, West End Guest House is the place to stay. The beds are very comfortable and the breakfast is to die for. I have stayed several times and my stay has always been amazing. Another great feature is the location. Close to the downtown, yet feels somewhat secluded, must be the large trees and quiet neighbourhood. Also, the staff is very knowledgeable and very accomodating. This is much more than just another hotel / motel experience. Once you have tried this you will definately stay here again. I know that I will be back whenever I am in Vancouver.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front give you a great view of the large trees and street activities
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We needed somewhere to stay in Vancouver either side of a trip to Salt Spring Island, British Columbia, and we could not have chosen better. Evan, the proprietor, was helpful from the very start with his advice about car rental in the city. On arrival, we found a warm friendly atmosphere and very comfortable rooms. For breakfast, Evan sits his guests at one large table which gives the opportunity to open up and share experiences with fellow guests. The breakfasts are an experience in themselves - unique, delicious creations each morning.
The guest house is well located in leafy Horo Street with the West End, Downtown and Stanley Park within reasonable walking distance. Alternatively, the buses and trams are just one block away. Both Evan and Ron have a wry sense of humour which might show itself at breakfast time or as you share a sherry with them later in the day.
We therfore heartily recommend West End Guest House. As seasoned travellers, we have not found any B&B to match it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This beautiful property in the heart of Vancouver is a B&B that not only exudes the expected warmth of a home that hotels are void of, but Evan & Ron have elevated the expected experience further. Tucked a stone's throw away from the center of Vancouver's business district, its location was more pleasant than any of the 5-star city hotels of Vancouver. I could easily access Robson Street (1 block away), and both English Bay, Stanley Park, and the business district are less than 1km away.

Since I was there alone, I took a small bedroom but it was more than adequate. Nice hot showers at any time, and a bed that was so comfortable to sleep in. The neighbourhood is also peaceful and I saw many children playing in the nearby playgrounds. The delicious (American) breakfast option each morning was also very satisfying.

Complimentary parking also made it a simple decision to have a car so that I had the option of visiting all the surrounding sights of Vancouver. Definitely will return here next time I visit Vancouver!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The neighborhood is fun to walk in, feels very safe, leafy green in April, and reasonably close walking distance to many places to explore. The room was beautiful and quiet. Great shower - hot and good pressure. Comfortable bed. The breakfasts were beautiful, healthy, and delicious. Coffee excellent. Evan and Ron were very accomodating and helpful with directions and suggestions of what to see. I hope I do come back to Vancouver, and if so, I will definitely stay at the West End Guest House.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

First of all, I have never stayed at a B&B this nice.
My husband and I were on our honeymoon and since we were traveling to other places so we wanted something that is budget friendly and a nice place to stay.
Luckily for us, when we were looking couple weeks before we were to set to take off, the only room that was left was the cozy double. Now this was a house built in 1906 so I did not have a high expectation at first because I thought it would be like an European small hotel room with no much space and maybe cold and drafty like an old house. Boy was I wrong! Not only it was comfortable it had plenty of space to put all of our travel items.
So not only our room was comfortable, we also get breakfast every morning. I have never had full breakfast (only continental breakfasts) at a B&B. It was AMAZINGLY delicious and I enjoyed meeting different people every morning. Evan, the owner, put a lot of thought into breakfast every morning and we definitely appreciate it. It was quiet an experience.
Also, the location is very close to Stanley park and Robson St so it was convenient to go places.

We would definitely come back and stay here again when we visit Vancouver again.

Room Tip: If you are traveling as a couple and do not mind sleeping in a full size bed together and cuddle at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West End Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West End Guest House

Address: 1362 Haro St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1G2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West End Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian themed B&B in a convenient downtown residential location for tourists, visitors to the city and convention or business people. We emphasize service for our guests hoping that what we can offer will make their stay enjoyable, relaxing with no loose ends. All guest rooms have private bath, tv/dvd player - we have a dvd library, wi-fi and a guest computer and printer is provided. We have off street parking for every guest room- quite an accomplishment for the centre of the city! And we serve a full hot breakfast in a social atmosphere. And we offer bikes for touring the city, particularly the SeaWall and Stanley Park which are nearby. Everything we provide is included in the room rate except for the Packages we offer.We have 7 guest rooms and can accommodate couples, friends or family traveling together and needing two beds and single travelers. We do our utmost to make our guests feel welcome and we have done so for over 25 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your West End Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West End Guest House Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West End Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.