We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   757 Richards St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3A6, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Just spent 3 nights here and found the place to be excellent, it's only a 10 minute walk to Gastown and 15 minutes to Canada Place. Yes, the rooms are a little small but we were not there to hang out in the room. The next time I would request a room towards the rear of the hotel because there was a bit of road noise. The breakfast was adequate and the whole hotel is exceptionally clean. Overall I would stay here again and would recommend it to others


  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    87
    38
    14
    17
See reviews for
10
90
62
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011 via mobile

Small rooms with funky smell, bad beds, poor sound proofing, 1 shower for 15 rooms, cheap breakfast (your choice of bagel or toast)... Not worth 96$ a night. Good location thought.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

We were intending to stay at this hotel on the night of Game 7 in Vancouver. While it is true that we traveled to Vancouver to watch the game, I don't think anyone could have really predicted what happened after. We returned to the hotel immediately after the game to escape the escalation in the crowds. We had originally booked the room for two of us, and my boyfriend was intending to stay with a friend in West Van. However, following the game, we went to the hotel. Upon our arrival, the front desk person barely let my boyfriend into the door, saying that we could not have guests (even though the policy on the key says guests until 11pm). We continued to our room anyway, where we were harrassed with phone calls from the front desk. We then left, to ensure that my boyfriend could make it to where he needed to go without getting caught up in the crowd. When we tried to return, we were shoved away by riot police, tear gassed and then told my the police to get out of downtown and that we would not be able to reach the hotel. We slept on someones floor that night, instead of at the hotel that we had paid for.

The next morning when we arrived at the hotel, the front desk clerk and the manager called us liars, saying that we could have made it to the hotel and that others had. I am not sure how this is possible, because I am honest when I say that we tried everything to get back, we tried for two hours. To rub salt in the wound, I received an email today from the manager, further indicating that we were lying and refusing the waive the room fee, for the room that we could not access.

The employees at this hotel are unprofessional and rude. I would not recommend staying here simply based on this factor.

The rooms are also small, smell terrible and the carpets are badly stained. There are better places to stay in Vancouver for about the same price. Don't waste your money.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean80, Manager at The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
This reservation consisted of two women, who checked into the hotel and were in the room for several hours before leaving to watch game seven of the Stanley Cup Finals hockey game. The front doors were locked between 8:30 and 9:00pm that evening, due to the deteriorating situation in the streets around the hotel following the game, now known as the 2011 Stanley Cup riots. The door was locked for the security of the building and our guests. Only registered guests were allowed entry. One of the women came back to the hotel with three men and the front door closure was explained to them. One of the men entered the hotel, saying in a loud demanding voice “I’m coming in anyway, I’m her boyfriend”. A phone call was made to the room, requesting the unregistered guest leave the building. They left the hotel together about 15 minutes later.

The Vancouver Police Department had the streets under control by 11:00pm. Many of our guests were able to return to the hotel prior to and after that time. The two guests came back at 7:00am the next day, claiming they could not access the hotel throughout the night due to the riots and thought they should not have to pay for the room. The front desk staff advised their request was highly unlikely to be granted, but that they would forward it to the manager and let them know as soon as possible. A subsequent email was sent to let the guests know that their request to have all room charges waived would not be honoured, due to the room being used and the fact that it was accessible throughout the night. The hotel staff handled everything professionally, with guest safety being top priority.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We stayed here for two nights on a trip to a friend's wedding. Initially I was concerned about the shared bathroom element but these were very clean and well maintained. The room was very comfortable and quiet and the staff were very chirpy and helpful. The room was very clean overall but could have done with a quick wipe over and the eviction of the shared slippers that looked like they had been there since the year 0. Breakfast is included and whilst not massive is more than enough for most. All the staff we met seemed very jolly.....worth a look.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Stayed one night in a single room, with shared bathroom down the hall. (The room did have a sink.) Clean, tidy, quiet, nicely furnished, a great location and at $75 a bargain. Shared bathroom was clean and there was no wait for shower. Robes and slippers were in the room if you wanted to use them.
Free Internet, and a computer available in a sitting area.
Staff were friendly, lobby was nice and free breakfast — toast, bagels, coffee, tea, range juice — was good and served in a pleasant room with windows on the street.
No TV; a little flat screen would be nice.
But overall, best value I've found in Vancouver.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

My wife & I stayed 3 nights in this well located, downtown hotel. We chose a room with ensuite facilities. We rate it highly, being perfectly located to many tourist localities. We found the room relatively small but clean and regularly serviced. The reception staff were friendly and well informed. We also liked the continental breakfast included in the tarriff. A great stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

Great central city location, within walking distance of many activities and things to do, clean and tidy but we stayed in August when it was quite hot and there was no air-con in rour oom - which didn't make for good sleep. There was also a lot of noise from the building next door from about 5-6am. Apart from that, a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast

Address: 757 Richards St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 3A6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast 1.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingston Hotel is a heritage building, built in 1910 and family owned and operated. Centrally located in the heart of Downtown Vancouver, only half a block from the Robson Street shopping district. Vancouver City Centre Skytrain Station is 2 blocks from The Kingston. Other nearby areas include Gastown, Chinatown and Yaletown. BC Place Stadium and Rogers Arena, the Vancouver Convention Centre and Cruise ship terminal are also only a 10-15 minute walk.A 52 room, European style Bed and Breakfast hotel, The Kingston offer rooms with either a shared or private bathroom. All rooms include a continental breakfast, served every morning between 6:30 and 11:00am. Some of the amenities The Kingston offers include free WiFi, a public computer terminal with available printer, a sauna, day and overnight storage and coin-operated laundry machines.The Kingston Taphouse and Grille restaurant is located right next door. One of the most popular spots in the city, offering a large menu fit for a variety of different taste buds. Try one of the 60 available beers, or choose a wine from the extensive wine list. Four different areas are perfect for any setting. Choose from Bar, Dining Room, Wrec Room (complete with dart boards and pool table), or Garden Patio. A great place to unwind after a long day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingston Hotel Vancouver
The Kingston Hotel Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.