We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanside Hotel Vancouver

Save Saved
You added Oceanside Hotel Vancouver to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Oceanside Hotel Vancouver
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1847 Pendrell Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1T3, Canada (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 96 hotels in Vancouver
Ontario
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night only. Thank goodness. The location was good and the guy on reception was friendly.Secure parking is very small and its not easy to park a truck there.There was no complimentary tea or coffee in the room or reception area even.The hotel looks dated outside and in. I can handle that, if its just older. What I can't handle is a dirty bathroom with long back hairs on the towels, on the floor behind the door and in the shower itself.I asked for it to be cleaned when we went out for supper ( we didn't get an apology ) and returned to find it pretty much the same- the hairs had been swept up but it seemed that was all.Yuck.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceansidehotel, General Manager at Oceanside Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear guest,
We truly regret your negative experience. As you will see from our other Tripadvisor reviews, we pride ourselves on customer service and are very fortunate to have tremendous staff.
To address your specific concerns, we have indoor and larger outdoor parking stalls. It is unfortunate that you did not mention your challenge with our indoor stalls as we could have directed you to our larger spots. All guests are guaranteed a free parking stall for the duration of their stay, we have enough for all rooms. Regarding the cleanliness of your bathroom, as a guest at our hotel, you certainly need to be able to take cleanliness for granted. Your experience is most unusual for our housekeeping team and we sincerely apologize. The person on the desk when you visited was just starting with us but is quickly becoming a valued member of our team. We have spoken to him about your concerns. Thank you for sharing your comments with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    43
    17
    10
    6
See reviews for
30
31
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I had a friend recommend this hotel for my visit to Vancouver and have to thank them. This is a self-contained one bedroom suite that is furnished. I felt like I was in an apartment rather than in a hotel room. With available parking and proximity to the the beach (one block away) and fantastic eating places on Denman having a kitchen to cook is a convenience, but not a requirement. The living room with a desk as well as a sofa makes a comfortable place to relax and if you have a need to cook the dining room table is a great place to set up a dinner.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I have stayed at this small hotel two years, and hope to be returning. It is very clean, and the staff, especially Sam, Josie and her husband, are particularly welcoming and helpful. The other staff members were also great; I just did not know them as well. The location is perfect, very near the Beach, shops, Starbucks, and the large park. I highly recommend the Oceanside for a calm and laid-back vacation time here.

Room Tip: Just ask for the best room. It is not a "fancy" hotel - but it is quite lovely and comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I actually live in Vancouver and needed a 3 day getaway to work on some papers for grad school. My mother has stayed here several times when visiting and loves it. I stayed there at the end of February. I almost am afraid to let people know about it because the prices are so great! The staff is friendly, the apartments are an excellent size (larger than most Vancouver apartments) and you cannot beat the location. 1 block to the beach, 1 block to the shops on Davie and Denman streets. Yes, it is not fancy, very simple accommodations but it is the perfect home away from home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have been to Oceanside Hotel several times usually, in August or September. We get a one bedroom flat which is very clean and pleased to say serviced daily. The management at the front desk is exceptionally helpful. As the kitchen is well equipped we tend to eat in sometimes. The location is amazing just a few hundred yards to the beach. There are many restaurants around the corner. After our usual jet lag it is nice to know that there are clean and comfortable beds which help our sleep. We are looking forward to going again next year!

Room Tip: Try and get a corner suite - well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights recently on a trip from Alberta and thought it was wonderful. The large one bedrom suite was very clean and comfortable. Staff was very friendly. The location is superb near beach and surrounded by dozens of different type restaurants.. The hotel is within walking distance to Stanley park and city centre.
We did not have to pay for parking which was a plus..

Will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Only a 2 minute walk from English Bay and Stanley park and lots of restaurants and shopping on Denman, Davie and Robson streets.

The 3-storey building seems to be converted from normal 2-room apartments, meaning it has a normal kitchen, not just a kitchenette and having a kitchen was really practical. The hotel is also a bit worn, but our room was large (especially compared to a similar hotel in the neighbourhood).

Free wi-fi and free parking were very nice to have.
No elevator, so not good if you're in a wheel chair or have lots of heavy luggage.

The staff was extremely helpful and friendly and I would definitely stay there again - preferably every year ;-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oceanside Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanside Hotel Vancouver

Address: 1847 Pendrell Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1T3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 96 hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Oceanside Hotel Vancouver 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Oceanside Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanside Hotel Vancouver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.