We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Landis Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Landis Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Landis Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 Hornby Street | Vancouver British Columbia, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z1W2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
1 review
“Best stay in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed at Landis for the night during the Bon Jovi concert. There were four of us. I normally do not do comments right after a night stay at a hotel but it was just interesting to read one bad review about the hotel that prompted me to write my own review. First of all the furnitures are quiet comfortable and all in good working order and to my estimate about 3 years older. The colour scheme may not be as to everyone's taste but everything in the room is clean and most importantly the beds are comfy for a good night sleep. I can tell when we were at the front desk that the hotel was busy and yet staff are friendly and very accommodating. Next time we are in town...we will definitely stay with Landis.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landis Hotel S, Manager at Landis Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Vancouver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    129
    35
    6
    12
See reviews for
181
26
1
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hemel
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Had a ver pleasant stay at the Landis Suites - 2 large bedrooms and 2 bathrooms on the 11th floor. Suite was well equipped with fridge, microwave, kettle, toaster etc and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was included - we took a trayful to the room - great coffee and pastries. One slight problem was that both lifts broke down for an hour or so just as we came in so we had to walk up 11 floors - they were quickly fixed.
The suites are in an excellent location - a 20 minute walk to Canada Place, and a short walk to the harbour in the other direction.
The staff were very helpful and cheerful and we really enjoyed our stay here

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed overnight (family of two adults, three children), and could not wait to leave. The rooms are scruffy and poorly furnished. Furniture is in poor condition and very dated. We had to change rooms because the first 'non-smoking' room reeked of smoke. The second suite was very dirty. Cutley was missing, and the forks and limited glassware and plates that were there were filthy, covered in dried food and could not be used. We waited 30 minutes for clean dinnerware to be brought up, while our dinner went cold. Door keys were from other hotels and didn't work reliably. Parking spaces are limited and too small for our car. This place needs to be gutted and a new housekeeping staff taken on. Not recommended, much cleaner and nicer places available for the same money.

Room Tip: Find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Landis is not a typical hotel in many respects and has more of the feel of a suites facility, which is what it is, I guess. There is a reception, but it's just a small area you walk into off of the street.

The rooms, however, were sizable and comfortable. We had two bedrooms, with a king sized bed in one and a queen in the other, as well as a double sofabed in the lounge area. There was one bathroom and a kitchenette with a large fridge, kettle, stove and microwave. All in all, this was great for a family of four, including two teenagers.

Breakfast was included and it had the usual buffet range that you might find at a mid-priced chain. There was free wifi and I believe one can use the pool shared with the hotel next door.

There was also a coin op laundry, which was apparently very hard to find, but does exist!

Location was great for either the subway/Skytrain, or for walking around downtown. They also offer a free shuttle bus to anywhere in the downtown area, so we used it to take us to the Skytrain station when we left with our luggage.

It's not plush, but it's clean and offers an inexpensive option for family room style accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landis Hotel S, Manager at Landis Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback. . We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Excellent suites, breakfast a bit hectic , fitness center good , the rooms are really spacious the pillows are like marshmallows.kitchen well equipped, great views , never known s bathroom to have so many light switches. Maid cleaned our suite every day .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Landis Hotel S, Manager at Landis Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your first visit to Vancouver! We greatly appreciate your recent review your recognition of our staff. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My daughter and i stayed here second week in september. we had a 2 bedroom/one bath suite on the 5th floor. The interior colors arent pretty but the place is very clean, good condition, wonderful beds, totally comfortable and equipped. 3 tvs, no dvd player. Really liked the glassed-in dining area. Very helpful staff.

The kitchen had glasses, cups, plates, flatware, cooking utensils, cookware, collander, dishtowels, small coffeemaker, stove, full size refrigerator, microwave. Electric stove. Maid service daily, they gave us new towels and also coffee 'pods' every day. I brought my own coffee and bought paper filters across the street at the 7-11. No condiments or food supplies are provided in the kitchen. The hotel continental breakfast had packets of jelly, cream cheese, butter as well as different pastries, bagels, bread, fruit. Good coffee.

The hotel has a shuttle guests can book to get to places in the downtown area, be sure to tip the driver. The location is super convienient to everything. Davie Street is at one corner and a few blocks down is Robson. On Hornby Street couple of blocks from the hotel is a small but excellent sushi place. Closest liquor store was 2 blocks down Hornby at the Sheraton Wall center. Liquor is only sold at liscenced stores. 7-11 was good for snacks and staples and some really nice pastries. All around this area are both upscale and chain restaurants, shops, London Drugs, Chapters Book Store (both on Robson), pizza delivery places. Down the hill on Hornby is the aqua bus stop for the water taxi to Granville Island.

We received delivery from a florist shop and later a pizza shop with no hassles.

We didnt use the fitness area and pool/spa which is shared with the Marriott but it looked clean and decent sized and popular. We ate in every neighborhood we visited--Granville Island, Cin Cin on Robson, Davie St, Gastown, Chinatown, Yaletown, Kitsilano, Stanley Park Fish House, and even the sports bar-grill at the airport (great house burger!).

Loved Vancouver --so clean and green and well-mannered -- and really liked the Landis.

Room Tip: 5th floor suite 524 had an urban view -- 7-11 across the street -- but no noise to speak of. the cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Landis is a hotel suite on Hornby street close to shopping on Robson and great restaurants. The room we were in was 2 bedroom one bathroom with full kitchen and living room...way more room then we needed but the price was great. The staff are friendly and very helpful and the hotel has a pool and a breakfast room that is included in the price. We stayed in 522 if this is helpful, City view. Great for Families travelling together.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Landis Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landis Hotel & Suites

Address: 1200 Hornby Street | Vancouver British Columbia, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z1W2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Landis Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Landis Hotel & Suites offer all the needs of both business and leisure travellers. Our objective at The Landis Hotel & Suites is to meet the needs of our guests coming from around the world, who are seeking hotel accommodations for short or extended stays, for personal or professional reasons. The Landis Hotel & Suites offers 53 spacious two bedroom suites that were designed to suit all type of stays. Looking for the extra space, our two bedroom suites are available in either our 800 sq ft, Executive Suites or our 1,000 sq ft, Deluxe Suites. If you are looking for that little bit extra, our Penthouse Suites offer a full 1,450 sq ft of spacious luxury combined with some truly spectacular views of Vancouver.Full size kitchens & appliances in all the suites can help to reduce food costs. The Landis Hotel & Suites contains vital communications amenities including multiple in-suite telephones,wireless Internet & front desk fax service. The hotel is located in downtown Vancouver, British Columbia. The Landis Hotel & Suites is only minutes from the Vancouver Convention & Exhibition Center, Cruise Ship Terminals and Vancouver shopping and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your Landis Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landis Hotel And Suites
Landis Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Landis Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.