We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O Canada House

Save Saved
You added O Canada House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
O Canada House
1114 Barclay Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1H1, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 63 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Queensland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Home away from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We arrived in Vancouver early as we had been on a cruise and disembarked by 9am. We took a taxi to O Canada House, a delightful and beautiful historical house. Check in time was not officially until the afternoon, however we were greeted so warmly by a fellow Aussie we knew we had chosen well.

Our room was not ready , so we were offered breakfast whilst the room was prepared. Our room was in an annex at the back of the house, a lovely room with a very cosy feeling and a fireplace. The Queen bed was extremely comfortable, the ensuite had a bath/shower, basin and toilet.

The location of O Canada House was excellent , we didn't, but you could walk to Canada Place in probably 20 minutes. Instead we caught the trolley bus which Danny organised for us, to see the sights of the city and the beautiful Stanley Park, do not miss it.

We only stayed one night, fortunate to have stayed in such a lovely B and B.

Thanks Danny.

Room Tip: We did not see the rooms in the house, but the annex was very private and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    263
    32
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
41
173
18
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Cannot express how pleased my husband and I were with the service we received at this B&B. The location, room and hospitality shown to my husband and I during our six day stay was exceptional. As the staff likes to say, "consider it your home away from home." A special thank you to Dan for his wonderful breakfasts. For all around value when we visit Vancouver again we would not consider staying anywhere else. Thank you, the staff of "O Canada House" for making our visit so memorable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I have stayed O Canada House at least 5 times. It is a very nice place to stay in Vancouver. The breakfasts are fantastic. And the rooms are confortable, each with their own bathroom.

And you are only a few blocks from a lot of the action in Vancouver, so it is really easy to get around.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We booked 2 rooms at O Canada House because we wanted to stay somewhere small and friendly that would give us a real feel of Vancouver rather than in a hotel that could be anywhere. Our boys were really disappointed when we arrived because the penthouse, that we had booked 3 months earlier for them, had been given to someone else arriving the night before. But Flor and Danny were really helpful and in the end we were given 3 lovely rooms all next to each other on the first floor. Susanne was very apologetic the next day.
This lovely historic house is perfectly placed for walking to all the main touristy areas and Susanne gave us lots of really good advice about where to go and how to get there using buses, ferries etc and she helped with taxis when needed. Lynn Canyon was absolutely beautiful in the sunshine and we were really glad to come back to warm by the fire after a day in the rain at the Anthropology museum, before heading off to the airport later in the day.
The breakfasts were delicious - I wont tell you what we had as it was different each day and I don't want to spoil the surprise! The fridge full of drinks and the cookie jars and chocolate treats are a lovely touch. So if you are a looking for somewhere a bit special, that is warm and friendly in every respect, I would certainly recommend O Canada House.

Room Tip: The North Suite is the largest and brightest with a large bathroom. I really liked the East Suite to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the O Canada House for 5 days, part business part pleasure during the end of March early April 2013. We stayed in the smallest room which was quite large by American standards. Another advantage of the room was an attached narrow space with a chair, desk and refrigerator. What we didn't store in this alcove we stored in the closet so there was no clutter in the room. This room looked out on a lovely blooming cherry blossom and park.
Danny and Steve, the two chefs, were amazing. Our diets are vegan and gluten free but that was not daunting at all for them. They came up with beautifully presented breakfasts which would cost $20 each but was included with the room. This place is HIGH VALUE. Everyone was so helpful. It was like visiting family who you really like!!! Sherry and loads of chocolate available throughout the day in addition to homemade muffins and non-alcoholic drinks.
The location is fabulous. A beautiful residential area with lovely Victorian homes and only 3 blocks from the best seafood restaurant in VC (with lovely outdoor heated seating year round).
I have stayed at B&Bs for 40 years and this was the best experience I have ever had. You guys rock!!! Thanks so much, Wendy & Tom from San Diego

Room Tip: Penthouse. It's the top 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Whilst visiting my family in Canada we stayed at O Canada house. What a fabulous place to stay. We were lucky enough to stay in the Penthouse Suite and thoroughly enjoyed our time. The suite was just perfect and my husband and I could not rate the room highly enough, the room was so spacious. Everything was perfect for our stay and the staff were just so friendly and so happy to help. The breakfast was the best we had from our whole 3 week holiday in canada and America. Eggs benedict is a must if you stay here.
Highly recommend!!!!

Room Tip: The penthouse suite is so spacious and the beds huge!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed in the penthouse at O Canada house on our last trip to Vancouver and can't rate it highly enough. The rooms were spacious and graciously furnished, with divine beds and lovely old world charm throughout. The breakfast was a highlight of the stay. Location was perfect,
within walking distance to everything and our host Dan was knowledgebale, courteous and very friendly. Beats hotels and apartments which are so impersonable. 5 star all the way. Thank you !!

Room Tip: The penthouse was awesome!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to O Canada House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O Canada House

Address: 1114 Barclay Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1H1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning B&B and home of the Buchan version of the Canadian National Athem in 1909. Perfectly situated on a quiet West End residential street yet only minutes walking to Robson St shops and restaurants, Stanley Park, the cruise ships, English Bay Beach, Granville Island and the downtown centre. Perfect for sightseeing, romantic getaways or the business traveller. Full hot delicous breakfasts are included as well as parking and a guest panry. Vancouver's foremost B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your O Canada House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Canada House Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O Canada House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.