We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short walk away from everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O Canada House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added O Canada House to your Saves list
O Canada House
1114 Barclay Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1H1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 63 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Milano, Italy
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“A short walk away from everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

O Canada House is a wonderful Victorian home on the Historic Registry, located in a quiet and very safe residential neighborhood. The location is perfect, centrally located, it is perfectly situated close to all the tourist attractions and within walking distance for everything in Downtown Vancouver. It is 10 minutes walk from Canada Place and Gastown, from Stanley Park or Yaletown, 5 minutes from the beach and the taxi to Granville Island. Restaurants and shops are around the corner. The B&B offers parking spots included in your rate. The house is beautifully furnished and tastefully decorated, the rooms are beautiful and comfortable. The wireless Internet access in the rooms work very well; as well as free wi-fi there is a computer for residents use. The breakfasts are delicious and during the day fresh fruits, coffee, tea, juices and delicious scones and cookies are provided in the kitchen and sherry in the sitting area.
The staff are very helpful, friendly and accommodating. I highly recommend staying at O'Canada House to anyone who plans to visit Vancouver.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    40
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
44
188
19
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

O Canada House was just perfect. A refuge in the big city. Located lose to everything. Barely used the car. The staff is wonderful and attentive. Even let us use the kitchen at night to prepare our own dinner. The breakfasts are fabulous and plentiful. We have stayed in a lot of B&Bs and we both really enjoyed this one.

Room Tip: There is a main level suite if you don't want to climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We loved this little B&B with a great location to explore Vancouver...8-10 blocks from station to catch SkyTrain to the airport, 6 blocks from Victoria bus shuttle stop, 3-4 blocks from Robson Street. Breakfast was phenomenal....my husband is still raving about the pancakes. I was hoping for eggs benedict one morning...will have to return to try that! They had a kitchen stocked with goodies (coffee, tea, hot chocolate, baked goods) for a late snack if we needed. :-)

We stayed in the Cottage Suite which was nice. We weren't aware until later that there was a fan hidden in a cabinet that could have brought in more outside air. We are used to cold A/C at night! There was also a mini fridge that we weren't aware of. The caretaker gave a good tour of the house and suite but forgot these things. The shower door was missing the bottom bracket and it would move a bit.

They have movies available to use and DVD player on the TV. It wasn't working the first night but they had it working by our second night. Very attentive to our requests!

Overall, we had a great experience and will return if we are ever in Vancouver again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

The Bed and Breakfast keeps its promises. We arrived after a long flight and had the feeling to have got at home. Very nice rooms, with large beds and a feeling of old Europe. The breakfast was a bit disappointing on the first day, good stuff but we couldn't choose out of an alternative to the omelette. We wrote an email and we got on the 2nd day our pancakes as we wished. Although we would have loved to get a reply to the email, we thought the B&B is definitely a place to come back.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at this lovely B&B Aug 21-24th. Centrally located it was the perfect homebase to explore Vancouver as it is walking distance to most of the central downtown area. We stayed in the Penthouse Suite as we had our 17 year old son with us and the large room and 3 comfy kingsize beds made were perfect. Breakfasts were outstanding as were the midnight snacks! A great time had by all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

What a nice, hospitable place to stay. O Canada House is a wonderful Victorian home on the Historic Registry that sits right between two high rise apartment buildings. This quiet residential neighborhood is just two blocks off of a main street. We walked everywhere. The staff is friendly and very accomodating. And the breakfasts were delicious! We stayed in a little cottage in the back which was very comfortable. We didn't see any of e bedrooms inside but assume they were just as nice.

Room Tip: The cottage was nice because it was outside and it was unusually warm this trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We have stayed here many times. All good...meeets expectations.

Close to Robson Street and walking distance to an aray of resyurants.

We will most likely stay again and I am sure the experience will be the same.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to O Canada House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O Canada House

Address: 1114 Barclay Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1H1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning B&B and home of the Buchan version of the Canadian National Athem in 1909. Perfectly situated on a quiet West End residential street yet only minutes walking to Robson St shops and restaurants, Stanley Park, the cruise ships, English Bay Beach, Granville Island and the downtown centre. Perfect for sightseeing, romantic getaways or the business traveller. Full hot delicous breakfasts are included as well as parking and a guest panry. Vancouver's foremost B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your O Canada House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o Canada House Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O Canada House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.