We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soooo Good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostelling International Vancouver Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hostelling International Vancouver Downtown to your Saves list
Hostelling International Vancouver Downtown
1114 Burnaby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1P1, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Soooo Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Hello! Definitely recommend this place! I stayed at the hostel for 9 days and was extremely impressed by the cleanliness of the facilities and by the hosts kindness and knowledge.

I imagine the four bed dorm rooms could be quite cramp during busy season. Fortunately it was pretty quiet during my stay so I was able to have my own room for a couple nights. I kept most of my baggage in the luggage room (if there were more than two of us, there would be no way any of us would be getting in or out of the room!). There are lockers in the rooms and if you're flexible the size isn't that big of an issue if you have the right attitude. Only downside of the hostel was wifi. It was TERRIBLE (I regularly opted for coffee shops). It didn't reach most of the floors so you have to stay in communal areas and even then it disconnects often and/or is really slow when other people are using it. It's not bad if you opt for non-busy times of the day to use the internet, there was one night where the wifi worked in my room (4th floor) and a happy dance may have happened!

Location was great, no concerns wandering around at night at all. It's located on a side street so it was relatively quiet at night but also pretty close to bars and what not. There's also lots of great restaurants and coffee shops within walking distance and you're not too far from English Bay and Stanely Park!

Safe travels!

Room Tip: ask for the 4th floor if you want to be in a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    90
    33
    8
    5
See reviews for
6
35
78
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Joensuu, Finland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is my second place to stay in Vancouver. Hostel was rather occupied by guests all over the world, Desk can handle rather large scale of languages which was nice to hear. Guests have very good facilities to enjoy, kitchen, dining area tv- and game room are well equipped and situated.
Closeness to city activities is good and public transit system is a block away.
I stayed in a room with 4 beds and even my room mates keep on changing almost every day the life continued smoothly from day to day.
Overall this was pretty nice hostel to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Spent 2 nights in a 4 person room. As said previously, it was tiny. Everyone had to keep their bags packed up so that there was enough floor space to get to the bed. Wifi worked well in my room, which was on the third floor.
The kitchen was massive and really well equipped. It was basically a commercial kitchen. There was heaps of cutlery and the tea towels were changed regularly, which was nice.
The free breakfast is toast, bagels, muffins and fruit slices. I made a packed lunch there too, so definitely great value. Not having to buy breakfast and lunch probably saved me about $15/day, so half the hostel price right there.
The bathrooms were nice and clean.
The location was great. I would definitely go here over HI Central. I have some friends who stayed at Central at the same time and it was dirty, full of smokers and VERY loud 24/7.

Room Tip: Bring a lock - there are lockers in the room and locks can be purchased for $4 from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarens, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Great stay!
Rooms and bathroom excellent.
Lots of information on what to do in Vancouver on notice board.
The best free breakfast ever!
Reception helpful and always friendly, even when they are tired!
Ten minutes walk to beach and shopping area!
Twenty minutes walk to Stanley park!
Love it.......love it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I liked this hostel because they are relaxed with drinking and kitchen is open 24/7. They can clean the room a bit room. But do a very good job cleaning the kitchen every morning at the same time. Location is good and they have a nice mix of different staff from all overall the world.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

First time in a HI hostel, stayed a couple nights and it was just what I needed and expected. The location couldn't be any better, great restaurants and bars close by, walking distance to Stanley Park and other cool attractions. Room with 4 beds was pretty small and awkward climbing ladder to top bunk. Couldn't get good wifi from 3rd floor but fine in the lobby. It was a decent place to crash, clean and quiet, just fine for the price. I didn't like sharing a room with 3 others, but for the cheap backpacker it would be great. Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

I came here expecting the same friendly and relaxed atmosphere of other hi hostels I have stayed in and was very dissapointed. The staff weren't very helpful. I asked for a phone number for a taxi and was directed to a tattered phone book and pay phone on the second floor. The hostel however is in a good location and was decently clean and comfortable. There are many other hostels in the area though which I would try before coming here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostelling International Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International Vancouver Downtown

Address: 1114 Burnaby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1P1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostelling International Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International Vancouver Downtown Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostelling International Vancouver Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.