We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel, but pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostelling International Vancouver Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hostelling International Vancouver Downtown to your Saves list
Hostelling International Vancouver Downtown
1114 Burnaby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1P1, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice hostel, but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This hostel was pretty standard. The location was solid, it was clean and the staff was very helpful. The rooms are small but the bunks are more private than some other hostels that I have stayed in. My friend and I had a great stay there, but our only issue was how pricey it was. But I guess that's just Vancouver.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    88
    32
    8
    5
See reviews for
6
34
76
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

The hostel was easy to find and was maintained well from the outside. Inside the hostel was clean but I arrived just after they had some flooding. Some areas where out of bounds due to the water damage which they were obviously very fast to clean up.

The breakfast was the standard North America selection of bagels and spreads served to 9:15am, an odd time I thought. The rooms where cleaned daily and generally well kept. The only issue I would have regarding them is that our room was always very warm and the heating couldn't be adjusted. Other than that the hostel was fine. The wifi was sometimes hit and miss but I found it worked best in the laundry.

The staff were great especially as I left my hard drive (all my pictures) there by accident. I called from another HI in San Francisco and they kept it safe for me until I managed to get someone to collect it.

Overall a nice hostel in a decent areas that is close to Yale Town which had nice bars.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Good hostel; fairly quiet & laid back. Not as social as other hostels in the area. The sinks in both rooms I stayed in had a lot of scum around the taps & the first room had hairs in the sink. The common bathrooms were in a slightly better condition although still not great. The floors creek something chronic so it was hard to sleep at times. I stayed in the Samesun on my way back through Vancouver & while noisier & far dirtier, it was very social & I had a great time.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stay at this hostel for three days at the end of August this year. It is easy to book and the staff is really helpful. At first a thought it is almost a hotel, but it's not.
The rooms are very small. It felt to me I had more room in a 40 bed dorm in Victoria, BC than in this hostel. If you're passing out, you can't fall :-). Besides the size my two rooms weren't really clean. It was still ok, but not good. The beds itself and the linen were clean!
I used two different washrooms on two different floors. One was ok, the other was a bit crappy (water all over the floor, mould in the shower stalls).
I don't know why everyone writes about good breakfast. I was used to a way better breakfast at a camp. And almost everyday a lot of things run out if you came after 8:30am. The breakfast room was sometimes overcrowded.
Theire patio on the roof is awesome. A good place just to chill and relax. I you want to do go party the hostel has lots of opportunities close by in Davie St.
Overall it was ok, but for almost 40 CAD/night I expect a little bit more. You can have the same in Berlin for less than 20 CAD.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

hi i stayed at a 4 bed femal dorm and the rooms are small basically they have two bunk beds alligned against the wall and then a metre width of pace for lockers desk etc..but it was confortable people are friendly and sociable definitely go on the tours . the lockers are big and easily fit my suitcase so security is good. its expensive almost 26 quid a night so they are raking it in and the breakfast although plentiful is repetitive and carb laden...saying that there is always some free food out for you to use and staff are helpful.
its also quite central close enough to party district to walk but far enough for quiet sleeps also the beach is pretty close too
overall enjoyed it here

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The HI Hostel Vancouver downtown is one of a large size. But still it is very nice and comes with free wifi and a breakfast. You just have to keep in mind that it is still a hostel.
The staff was always very helpful and nice. You can rent bikes at the hostel and the location is just great for anyone who wants to explore the city by foot or bike.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This hostel was in a good location and an easy walk to public transport. The breakfast is great with heaps of choice. I stayed in the 4 share room and they were a little small. The price and location make up for the size of the rooms as if like me you are going to be out most of the time it's not a huge concern. The staff are great and super helpful - they go out of there way to help and to organise tours from the hostel and fun stuff at the hostel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostelling International Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International Vancouver Downtown

Address: 1114 Burnaby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1P1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown , West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hostelling International Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International Vancouver Downtown Hotel Vancouver

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostelling International Vancouver Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.